OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pdaxii3 5.4.9 On A 3100 - Fixed/solved, not asked to copy files after HDD image extract and reboot?
km2783
post Nov 1 2007, 11:24 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 9-January 06
Member No.: 8,886



to start, i'm really liking pdaxii3. I just have a few questions about some things that didn't happen for me according to the install guide at tyranozaurus.

first, I installed the akita version to my NAND (changed from 64MB to 121MB), and everything is great. when booting it does say 'module dependency [failed]' but everything seems to be working.

so i turned it all off, went back to the menu and partitioned and formatted the microdrive (using the generic pdaxii3 one, option 1 I believe, no custom partitioning), extracted the full image to it, and rebooted.

i was asked to use the second partition as swap and the third as data as I expected. I was not asked to copy anything like the guide says. do I need to just do this part manually? i'm not entirely sure about using bind on the /usr directory either. partition one (hdc1) automounts as /mnt/ide using about 141MBand three (hdc3) automounts as /data, like I expected.

That's about all the issues I have. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
km2783
post Nov 1 2007, 02:43 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 9-January 06
Member No.: 8,886



didn't see a way to delete this, but i found the answer after-all. I guess I didn't quite use the right search terms smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
km2783
post Nov 1 2007, 04:03 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 9-January 06
Member No.: 8,886



ok here is how i got it to work, based on the following post:

QUOTE(Meanie @ Jan 13 2007, 08:09 AM) *
To upgrade pdaXii13 base to full on C3100/C3200, make sure your microdrive is mounted.
if /media/fakeroot does not exist, create it manually. after you reboot, it should prompt you to format hdd2 and hdd3 followed by asking you to copy /etc and /home before X is started.

if it doesn't happen, exit X and run mkfs.init

if nothing happens, remove /etc/.hdd and run mkfs.init again.

if still nothing happens, check what cat /proc/deviceinfo/product says and if it is not reporting the right model, then modify mkfs.init and remove the device check line


still didn't work for me. yeah, i realize it was a year ago. smile.gif it would ask to format the partitions but not migrate anything to NAND


cat /proc/deviceinfo/product reported 3100. hmm.

i unmounted /dev/hda1 and then mounted it to /media/fakeroot, removed /etc/.hdd and ran mkfs.init again, and after it formatted the partitions, success smile.gif it asked to migrate the directories to NAND, one after the other.

It was mostly a hunch I had after reading some more posts, and that worked smile.gif i guess meanie probably meant for it to be read as 'make sure /media/fakeroot exists and this is what it's mounted to'. that's how i read it at least. laugh.gif

anyway, problem fixed and hopefully this can help anyone else who experiences this problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Nov 15 2007, 07:00 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(km2783 @ Nov 2 2007, 10:03 AM) *
It was mostly a hunch I had after reading some more posts, and that worked smile.gif i guess meanie probably meant for it to be read as 'make sure /media/fakeroot exists and this is what it's mounted to'. that's how i read it at least. laugh.gif


yeah, this is what I meant smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th September 2014 - 06:00 AM