OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Quake.. Again, Softfloat !
cmisip
post Dec 1 2004, 09:37 PM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,191



Well, I am still in a gcc mess with qtopia.

It seems that gcc-3.4.1 can compile without libfloat but earlier versions needed an external libfloat library. Found the libfloat source and was able to create the static library that makes qtopia happy. However, it complains of libgcc being compiled with hard FP support.

Now I am trying to figure out how to compile libgcc so that it is software FP.

Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sashz
post Dec 1 2004, 10:33 PM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 388
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,058



QUOTE(iamasmith @ Nov 28 2004, 01:20 PM)
It runs upside down on an 860... hey that's easily fixable and runs about 12.5fps with no overclocking but I can't believe that. It seems SO much faster than the PDAXROM version.... I really don't know what's going on here.

hello,
pdaXrom quake give about 15 fps without overclock and about 20 with overclock.. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cmisip
post Dec 2 2004, 08:08 PM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,191



The 18.8 fps I reported was using Zynergy ROM and an unoverclocked kernel. It must be the fast libsdl.



wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Dec 3 2004, 12:24 PM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



OK, softfloat (with 2.95 +libfloat) was not a goer, there were too many calls to libm.so and although I could have proxied the floating point ABI through a stub it wouldn't achieve anything... libm.so would just throttle the speed.

Switched to a softfloat GCC 3.4.2 toolchain, statically linked with libSDL and qpe as cmisip tried. I can reliably get 14 FPS on an SL-C860 running standard SA1100 code, however, quake is about 4Mb in size and there are some differences in qte/qpe as built and as available in the shared libraries.. that is the rotation stuff that the zports team put into SDL doesn't work correctly and initialises the screen as 240x320 on a 320x240 screen.

So... spending some time getting to know libSDL now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cmisip
post Dec 3 2004, 04:07 PM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,191



Were you able to compile qpe with gcc 3.4.2?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Dec 7 2004, 05:08 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



Well the conclusion was reached by cmisip, it works well.

The zports libsdl (which I was trying) doesn't work for this but he used a patched 1.2.5 libSDL which is statically linked in so you don't need to install that specifically.

Note that the link at the time I tried to pull it down was actually linked to the non Qtopia version. Hopefully he will fix that soon but in the meantime if you pull the quake IPK from the site by using the url http://home.comcast.net/~cmisip/quakeqt-z5600-1.ipk then that works.

For the curious I'm using an SL-C860 and it works well, it takes some time to initialise (and I have to hit cancel a couple of times) but when it's going it runs at 16.5fps without overclocking which is much better than the 3.5fps that you get using the standard FPE based math and gcc 2.95.

In fact it is marginally faster than the pdaXrom version but this is an optimised libSDL.

Well done cmisip
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cmisip
post Dec 7 2004, 01:56 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 256
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,191



I fixed the link. It was working at it late last night. It has been a fun project. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tovarish
post Dec 26 2004, 04:51 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 299
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,233



QUOTE(sashz @ Dec 2 2004, 07:33 AM)
QUOTE(iamasmith @ Nov 28 2004, 01:20 PM)
It runs upside down on an 860... hey that's easily fixable and runs about 12.5fps with no overclocking but I can't believe that. It seems SO much faster than the PDAXROM version.... I really don't know what's going on here.

hello,
pdaXrom quake give about 15 fps without overclock and about 20 with overclock.. wink.gif

with cmisip's binary in his website i get 15 fps without overclock and 17.8 fps with overclock (timedemo demo1). Its running at 320x240 on my c860 with piro's sdl

I can only run in 320x200 (quakeqt -win 320 200) mode if I rotate the screen b4 running it. This has the ill effect of the arrow keys rotated too. I do get 16.6 fps without overclock and 19.8 fps overclocked though. Any idea why the rotation is needed to run it in 320x200 mode.

tovarish
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 08:24 PM