OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Building Visual Boy Advance, Out of memory issues
frobnoid_
post Aug 31 2005, 04:14 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,985



I can download VisualBoyAdvance 1.4 from elsix and run it on my 5600 without any issues (aside from the fact that its too slow to be much fun).
I built VisualBoyAdvance 1.4 without an issue (it executes and displays the help info) but when I try to run a ROM, I get an out of memory error ("ran out of memory while loading ROM")

Has anyone else had (and hopefully resolved?) this problem, I presume I've got some compile option misconfigured...If not, I guess I'll dig into the code...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 1 2005, 02:07 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Have you tried using a swap-file as you only have 32Mb of memory?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frobnoid_
post Sep 1 2005, 03:34 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,985



QUOTE(lardman @ Sep 1 2005, 05:07 AM)
Have you tried using a swap-file as you only have 32Mb of memory?


I don't need a swapfile for the elsix binary, so I should be able to compile it myself in such a way that I don't need a swapfile either...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 2 2005, 06:13 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Ah sorry, I missed that. I had a look at the page linked from elsix but it's in Japanese - I was wondering whether there were any additional patches which had been applied, etc.

Sorry I can't help you,


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
phunkhy
post Sep 9 2005, 12:00 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 20-June 04
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 3,761



I tried VisualBoyAdvance under pdaXrom and it's amazing to see it running but it's WAY TOO SLOW. It works but you can't play. Sometimes it's something like 5 fps I would estimate.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th November 2014 - 12:25 PM