OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Usb Device Not Recognised, USB connection problems - oz 3.5.3 & XP
Marty
post Sep 5 2005, 09:40 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 3,200



I have installed the latest hentges oz 3.5.3 rom on my collie (SL5500) and had it working (after a fashion for several weeks now).

Even having read all the posts and dilegently uninstalled and installed the original sharp drivers from the 2.37 ROM CD I cant get the Z to be consistantly recognised with XP or win 2000. I've tried 2 XP machines and 1 win 2000 machine but keep getting the error message "USB - Device not recognised" .

I've deleted usb registry entries and device manager entries and had them recreated - but no luck. When I get the USB connection up on the Z I cant sync with Qtopia 1.7
Help please is their something else I can try??

On the wireless front I have been able to ad hoc sync between the z and Qtopia with some degree of success (to do is ok) When I try and sync the calendar it gets to 73% complete then hangs.
The only thing I have got consistantly working is a wireless sync between notessync and the Z ! Again what can I do to improve this?

Last question! I want to connected to my network at home using infrastructure mode and connect to my laptop at work using ad hoc mode.
Ad hoc mode requiries I set the Z IP to 192.168.129.201.

If I change the eth0 settings back to "infrastructure" for home use I have to reset everyhing to "ad hoc " mode when I get into work.

How do I set things up so I can flip between the two modes?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 5 2005, 09:46 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



What does lsmod show?

Try running 'modprobe net_fd'. You'll probably also need to set a static IP address for usbd0 (is that the right one..?) unles you're running a dhcp server on your Windows machine(s).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marty
post Sep 5 2005, 11:33 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 3,200



Lsmod shows the following

Module size used by

sharp_mmcsd_m 25792 2
sa1100_bi 22924 0 unused
net_fd 16636 0 unused
usbdcore 22504 0 [sa1100_bi net_fd]
rfcomm 33512 0 [unused]
12cap 17316 1 [rfcomm]
bluez 32632 0 [rfcomm 12cap]
ipw6 152344 -1
ipsec 280008 0 [unused]

tried doing modprobe net_fd
couldnt see much difference I'am afraid...
usbdo has a static ip address 192.168.129.201
both "auto bring up" and "DHCP" are unchecked in interface setup
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Sep 5 2005, 11:41 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



Reboot your zaurus. Same thing happens to me if I put my Zaurus into sleep and then wake it up again. After that the usbd0 or whatever device is "stuck".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marty
post Sep 5 2005, 03:50 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 3,200



The only way I can get the z to sync with the cradle is to plug it into the cradle just when it is completing the boot up sequence , opie then loads, usbd0 comes up and the sync connection on the laptop turns green. I can then sync ok(Well my calendar sync still hangs but i'll look at that later.
However as soon as I suspend the z and switch it on again in the cradle it just hangs and I have to reboot again to bring it back to life.

I remembered that I had uncommented the apm_bios line in device table this morning so I tried commenting out the line in device_table again and re-booted. Now everytime the Z comes up I am back to the error message "Usb - device not recognised".

This is starting to look as though its a suspend problem rather than a mistake in the configuration/setup between the z and my winxp laptop.

Suggestions anyone??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 6 2005, 01:27 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Iirc, there was a problem with the net_fd driver being loaded by getting hung-up, I always used to rmmod the driver then re-insmod it which sorted the problem out.

Do a search for start_net.sh and run that script and it should work then.

Seethis post: http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=9765&hl= In fact there's an easier way too: run 'usbnet start' (it is somewhere under /etc, I can't remember exactly where off the top of my head)


Si

This post has been edited by lardman: Sep 6 2005, 01:31 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marty
post Sep 6 2005, 01:16 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 3,200



I created your script under /etc

#!/bin/sh
/sbin/rmmod pxa_bi
/sbin/rmmod net_fd
/sbin/rmmod usbdcore
/sbin/insmod /lib/modules/2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix/kernel/drivers/usb/device/usbdcore.o
/sbin/insmod /lib/modules/2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix/kernel/drivers/usb/device/net_fd/net_fd.o
/sbin/insmod /lib/modules/2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix/kernel/drivers/usb/device/bi/pxa_bi.o

I ran it but I got errors

rmmod: pxa_bi : no such file
rmmod: usbdcore : device or resource busy
insmod A module called usbdcore already exists
insmod : init_module : net_fd : invalid
insmod: pxa_bi.o no module by that name found

I checked system info - my collie definately has PXA processor

Tried usbnet start also - couldnt see any difference

Suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 6 2005, 02:28 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
I checked system info - my collie definately has PXA processor


If it's a collie (sl5500) it definitely doesn't have a PXA processor.

QUOTE
rmmod: pxa_bi : no such file


This would indicate that you don't have a PXA processor. Use the version for the StrongArm processor (change pxa_bi to sa1100_bi iirc).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marty
post Sep 6 2005, 03:35 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 3,200



Doh! I assumed from what I read in system info about the linux kernel version being 2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix- so i assumed it was a pxa3 processor.

I've changed to sa1100 and the script ran fine.

If I put the z in the cradle , turn it on, run the script and plug the usb connector into the laptop the sync connector turns green for about 5 to 10 seconds then goes back to red.
If I suspend the z in the cradle and then turn it back on I see the usb device and the sl5500 ndis network adaptor appear in device manager but the z hangs and the sync icon stays red. (Sometime a yellow exclamation mark appears in the network adaptor.)
Now I have to reboot the z again to get it back to normal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marty
post Sep 8 2005, 12:32 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 3,200



I feel I am now close to resolving this problem. When I put the z in the cradle and press cancel to resume the Z screen stays blank for about 5 to 10 secs then opie lights up on the screen which is frozen. About the same time I get the "usb device not recognised" message on the laptop.
The z screen unfreezes allowing me to run the script start_net.sh.

This time the sync connection turned green. However about 40 secs later it went back to red for about 20 secs then back to green. I couldnt figure out initially what was going on until I noticed that the sync coming and going was perfectly synchronised to the opie mail error message "Error initialising folder" !!
I uninstalled opie mail and tried again.
Again a bit of delay coming out of resume but when I run the start_net.sh script I now have a rock solid usb connection with the Z in the cradle!!

I'll re - install opie mail later.

Now how do I get start_net.sh to run as part of the resume?? I really dont want to have to run a script from the desktop..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Sep 8 2005, 12:51 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



'/etc/apm.d/scripts.d/usbnet start' should do pretty much the same as my script - this should run at resume, but iirc the apm scripts were broken. I can't remember whether there was a post-3.5.3 fix for them. Anyone?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 03:27 PM