OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wifi Woes, need advice/help
bunkford
post Jan 9 2007, 11:05 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 28-August 06
Member No.: 11,024



I have the Planex cf wifi card. It came with my 3200 that I ordered from japan. I can't seem to get it to work with rc121 release. It works fine in openzaurus with the 2.6 kernel, but I can't figure it out in pdaxrom. Does anyone else have this card? How did you get it working?

Is there any better cf wifi cards I can buy that doesn't need the firmware loaded onto the flash? One that would just be plug and play with this release?

I've been searching the internet for hours, and can't find an answer, thanks for any help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Jan 10 2007, 12:23 AM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



On insert does it light up at all? what is the dmesg output on insert?

Let us know

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bunkford
post Jan 10 2007, 05:02 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 28-August 06
Member No.: 11,024



QUOTE(InSearchOf @ Jan 10 2007, 04:23 AM)
On insert does it light up at all? what is the dmesg output on insert?

Let us know

Late
*


No lights come on at all.

This is the output of dmesg upon input:
CODE
pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 1
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia1.0
ieee80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
hostap_cs: 0.4.4-kernel (Jouni Malinen <jkmaline@cc.hut.fi>)
hostap_cs: setting Vcc=33 (constant)
hostap_cs: setting Vcc=33 (from config)
Checking CFTABLE_ENTRY 0x01 (default 0x01)
IO window settings: cfg->io.nwin=1 dflt.io.nwin=1
io->flags = 0x0047, io.base=0x0000, len=128
prism2: wifi0: operating mode changed 3 -> 2
hostap_cs: Registered netdevice wifi0
hostap_cs: index 0x01: Vcc 3.3, irq 137, io 0xc4840000-0xc484007f
wifi0: hfa384x_setup_bap - timeout after
wifi0: hfa384x_set_rid (rid=fc0e, len=34) - failed - res=-110
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue: cmd reg was busy for 5000 usec
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue - timeout - reg=0xd3be
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: entry still in list? (entry=c0f6dee0, type=0, res=-1)
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: interrupted; err=-110
wifi0: hfa384x_get_rid: CMDCODE_ACCESS failed (res=-110, rid=fc28, len=2)
Could not read current WEP flags.
wifi0: encryption setup failed
wifi0: set_encryption failed
wifi0: hfa384x_setup_bap - timeout before
wifi0: hfa384x_set_rid (rid=fc02, len=34) - failed - res=-110
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue: cmd reg was busy for 5000 usec
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue - timeout - reg=0xd3be
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: entry still in list? (entry=c0f6df60, type=0, res=-1)
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: interrupted; err=-110
wifi0: MAC port 0 enabling failed
wifi0: could not enable MAC port
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue: cmd reg was busy for 5000 usec
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue - timeout - reg=0xd3be
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: entry still in list? (entry=c0f6df60, type=0, res=-1)
wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: interrupted; err=-110
hostap_cs: Shutdown failed
hostap_cs: assuming no Primary image in flash - card initialization not completed
wifi0: test Genesis mode with HCR 0x1f
prism2_pccard_cor_sreset: original COR 41
prism2_pccard_genesis_sreset: original COR 41
Readback test failed, HCR 0x1f write 00 e1 a1 ff read 00 ce a1 ce
wifi0: test Genesis mode with HCR 0x0f
prism2_pccard_cor_sreset: original COR 41
prism2_pccard_genesis_sreset: original COR 41
Readback test succeeded, HCR 0x0f
prism2_pccard_genesis_sreset: original COR 41
wifi0: registered netdevice wlan0
wlan0: cannot set RID fc0e (len=34) - no PRI f/w
wifi0: cannot get RID fc28 (len=2) - no PRI f/w
Could not read current WEP flags.
wifi0: encryption setup failed
wlan0: set_encryption failed
wlan0: cannot set RID fc02 (len=34) - no PRI f/w
wlan0: could not set interface UP - no PRI f/w
wlan0: could not set interface UP - no PRI f/w
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zi99y
post Jan 10 2007, 06:25 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 282
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 10,709



Sorry I can't help but I can say that I tried r121 on my C3200 with Planex wifi and had the same problem, at the time I did some research and found others with this wifi card having the same problem so I gave up and went back to beta3 with my tail between my legs!!

If you get anywhere I'd love to hear and I'll give r121 another shot, until then I can tell you that the card works just fine with beta3 (after a little fix that you can easily find on the forums)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
louigi600
post Jan 10 2007, 10:32 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 9,928



If the card needs firmware to be uploaded to the card there should be trace of this somewhere (dmesg,messages or syslog).
Your dmesg output does not sowh (or I missed it).
Look in /var/log and see if you can find evidence of the firmware upload.
If you cannot chances are that the card is not responding correctly because the firware upload has not been done.
I've forgotten where you must put the firmware so that the firmware hotplug loading can take place ... but let's see first if there is an attempt to do the loading.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bunkford
post Jan 11 2007, 04:19 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 28-August 06
Member No.: 11,024



The card did need the firmware uploaded. I did it with the two files I found elsewhere on the forum. I used this script:

CODE
#!/bin/sh
echo 'flashing card'
prism2_srec -gs wlan0 pm010102.hex
prism2_srec -gp wlan0 pm010102.hex
iwpriv wlan0 reset 1
prism2_srec -rp wlan0 rf010804.hex
iwconfig wlan0 mode 2



I'm not sure if that is the best way to do it, or if all the commands are needed, but it works, and doesn't give me errors. Now I just need to set it up to do this every time it reboots or suspends. unless there is an easier way.

Does anyone know if aircrack-ng is ported for rc121?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
louigi600
post Jan 12 2007, 01:52 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 9,928



QUOTE(bunkford @ Jan 12 2007, 02:19 AM)
I'm not sure if that is the best way to do it, or if all the commands are needed, but it works, and doesn't give me errors. Now I just need to set it up to do this every time it reboots or suspends. unless there is an easier way.


Well it's been a long time since I last set up firmware uploading (appart ACX that has it all in the driver ... you just haveto put the firmware where the driver can pick it up) from kernel (actually 2.4 had hotplug firmware uploading .... but in 2.6 it works a little different).
So I'm not sure which would be the best way !!!

Let's then try to use what's working for you so far.
You could try to use apm for this pourpouse ... kapmd will attempt to notify apmd of certain events (including suspend and resume).
On my c760 installation I do not have apmd installed but I see some stuff in /etc/apm (that's where apmd looks for what to execute) and apmd in not amongst the feed ;-(

I found this intresting: <linux_source_tree>/Documentation/firmware_class/
It might help but I'm not sure if it will reload the firmware after resume.

I'll see if there is another easier way ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daufoo
post Jan 14 2007, 08:57 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-April 06
Member No.: 9,648



I have the same problem. I just flashed my C3200 with r121 today. However, when I plug in my PLANEX Wifi Card nothing seems to happen.

No light or whatsever.
Nothing comes up in /var/log/dmesg as well.
(in beta3, it will actually mention the missing .hex file in dmesg, but in r121 it seems that nothing is detected or executed when the card is inserted)

any command available to detect the card? (like cardctl which is not in r121)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
louigi600
post Jan 14 2007, 09:38 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 9,928



daufoo ...
/var/log/dmesg is not dinamic, it's just a copy of the kernel ring buffer content just after boot. if you want to inspect what's going on currently type:
dmesg | more
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daufoo
post Jan 14 2007, 09:48 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-April 06
Member No.: 9,648



icic, learn something new today. :-)

so can you tell me where can I find the prism2_srec application for loading the firmware?

anyway, this is the log file I get when I plug in the card

CODE
pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 1
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia1.0
hostap_cs: setting Vcc=33 (constant)
hostap_cs: setting Vcc=33 (from config)
Checking CFTABLE_ENTRY 0x01 (default 0x01)
IO window settings: cfg->io.nwin=1 dflt.io.nwin=1
io->flags = 0x0047, io.base=0x0000, len=128
hostap_cs: Registered netdevice wifi0
hostap_cs: index 0x01: Vcc 3.3, irq 137, io 0xc4840000-0xc484007f
wifi0: __hfa384x_cmd_no_wait(6) - timeout - reg=0xd068
hostap_cs: first command failed - assuming card does not have primary firmware
hostap_cs: assuming no Primary image in flash - card initialization not completed
wifi0: test Genesis mode with HCR 0x1f
prism2_pccard_cor_sreset: original COR 41
prism2_pccard_genesis_sreset: original COR 41
Readback test failed, HCR 0x1f write 00 e1 a1 ff read 00 ce a1 ce
wifi0: test Genesis mode with HCR 0x0f
prism2_pccard_cor_sreset: original COR 41
prism2_pccard_genesis_sreset: original COR 41
Readback test succeeded, HCR 0x0f
prism2_pccard_genesis_sreset: original COR 41
wifi0: registered netdevice wlan0




QUOTE(louigi600 @ Jan 15 2007, 04:38 PM)
daufoo ...
/var/log/dmesg is not dinamic, it's just a copy of the kernel ring buffer content just after boot. if you want to inspect what's going on currently type:
dmesg | more
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
louigi600
post Jan 14 2007, 09:56 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 474
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 9,928



daufoo ...
try googling or ask bunkford ... I forgotten where I got the tools.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daufoo
post Jan 15 2007, 08:17 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-April 06
Member No.: 9,648



problem solved. :-D

prism2_srec is contained in the hostap-utils package.

the way for my WPA settings to work in r121 is to first install wpa_supplicant package, modify /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf on the network settings, then

1. Load the firmware (pm010102.hex, rf010804.hex in this case)
2. ifconfig wlan0 up
3. wpa_supplicant -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -D hostap -i wlan0 -B
4. dhcpcd wlan0



QUOTE(louigi600 @ Jan 15 2007, 04:56 PM)
daufoo ...
try googling or ask bunkford ... I forgotten where I got the tools.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ldrolez
post Jan 18 2007, 11:55 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 16-May 06
From: France, Metz
Member No.: 9,882



QUOTE(bunkford @ Jan 12 2007, 02:19 AM)
Does anyone know if aircrack-ng is ported for rc121?
*

Try my ipk, it should work on any distrib : http://www.drolez.com/software/zaurus/#witools .
Cheers,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bunkford
post Jan 19 2007, 11:27 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 28-August 06
Member No.: 11,024



QUOTE(ldrolez @ Jan 18 2007, 03:55 PM)
QUOTE(bunkford @ Jan 12 2007, 02:19 AM)
Does anyone know if aircrack-ng is ported for rc121?
*

Try my ipk, it should work on any distrib : http://www.drolez.com/software/zaurus/#witools .
Cheers,
*



That ipk worked for aircrack-ng, but does it have all the other tools? like airodump etc..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2014 - 03:03 PM