OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SL5500 and OZ 3.35
post Dec 28 2003, 01:41 AM
Post #1





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



SL-5500 on OZ
Well I've broken it :-)
I moved to OZ, discovered that I couldn't get the Sharp 3.13 apps back working correctly (although there are some really nice OPIE apps available). I really want Opera 6 (having seen what the other options are)

So I want to move back. Big problem I *cannot* get OZ USB working at all on XP. My USB connection was all fine under Sharp 3.13, but stopped working under OZ. Having mangled my previously working home XP setup by trying fixes from here there & everywhere I feel USB is terminally broken. I'm not touching my work laptop setup (which also doesn't work - and previously synced fine)

OK - there must be a CF way of moving back to Sharp ROMs..... Nope - 3.13 doesn't come on a CF image of ANY size (Just a Windows upgrade whihc requires USB to work)

So I'm stuffed! ... or am I?
Graham
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VeeDubb
post Dec 28 2003, 02:20 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 30-October 03
Member No.: 698



I don't know about 3.1.3, but 3.10 is certainly available in a CF image, I don't knwo why they wouldn't be know, of course, I don't know hwy the lazy bastards wouldn't take the whopping 10 minutes to compile their modified qtopia to work with linux, there's allready a linux version and it a damn linux pda, but what do I know.

In any case, you could go back to 3.10 and then once you have sync working again, you can update to 3.13 with the windows installer if there realy isn't a CF image for it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Dec 28 2003, 03:22 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
So I want to move back. Big problem I *cannot* get OZ USB working at all on XP. My USB connection was all fine under Sharp 3.13, but stopped working under OZ. Having mangled my previously working home XP setup by trying fixes from here there & everywhere I feel USB is terminally broken. I'm not touching my work laptop setup (which also doesn't work - and previously synced fine)  


You need to install the old USB drivers (Sharp ROM 2.xx ones)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Dec 28 2003, 11:18 AM
Post #4





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



QUOTE
QUOTE

So I want to move back. Big problem I *cannot* get OZ USB working at all on XP. My USB connection was all fine under Sharp 3.13, but stopped working under OZ. Having mangled my previously working home XP setup by trying fixes from here there & everywhere I feel USB is terminally broken. I'm not touching my work laptop setup (which also doesn't work - and previously synced fine)  


You need to install the old USB drivers (Sharp ROM 2.xx ones)
These would be those from the original CD?
i got a large CF, and managed to get Sharp roms back on. I now feel happy about swaqpping between ROM versions. If I could get the Sharp apps e.g.Opera on OZ AND sync Id stay with OZ
Cheers
Graham
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Dec 28 2003, 01:34 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
These would be those from the original CD?


Yes.

QUOTE
If I could get the Sharp apps e.g.Opera on OZ AND sync Id stay with OZ  


I have Opera working, plus the (old Sharp ROM 2.38) Hancom apps and syncing all working fine(though check what you want from syncing before you believe me, I basically just use it to backup to my PC).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
g1gsw
post Dec 28 2003, 02:07 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 3-August 03
Member No.: 323



There are cf images for the 3.13 rom just look at the sharp dev site failing that they are here:-

http://www.g1gsw.org/ftp/Zaurus/sharp/

Only a slow ADSL link tho'

Regards

Colin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
g1gsw
post Dec 28 2003, 02:10 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 3-August 03
Member No.: 323



In fact they are on this site here:-

http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php...q=getit&lid=120

Regards

Colin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th July 2014 - 08:15 PM