OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Netgear MA701 Dead ?, Netgear MA701 seems just stoped working
genxweb
post Oct 5 2004, 07:49 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 13-January 04
Member No.: 1,345



I have the sl5500 I was running open zaurus the 3.5 vs and it worked great for al ogn time. Then one day it stoped doing dhcp and then a few days later it started to detect only as anon memory. I was wondering if the card may be dead.

Shortly after that my zaurus briked when I tried to flash back to the sharp rom. I needed soemthing more reliable and stable then the oz rom. I had that fixed for 10 bucks from sharp but now my card only is deted as anon mem.

Is there any drivers i need? Or any suggestions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
V-Man
post Oct 5 2004, 06:23 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 30-May 03
From: Edmond, OK
Member No.: 21



I have the same card and have not had any problems; but

Several people on this board have reported problems where the card doesn't make a good connection (as if the pins were bent or some such). They reported that "wiggling" or LIGHTLY "pushing" the card forwards or backwards allowed it to make a good connection with the Z. Sorry I can't be of much help here, but you can try searching these forums and locating the people I mentioned above.

Good Luck
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Guest_Steve_*
post Oct 8 2004, 03:20 PM
Post #3





Guests






I reported the same problem in an earlier post. I checked the Netgear card in a Windows CE device and it works OK. The pins in the Z CF slot are not bent. My microdrive and GPS work just fine. So far I haven't found a fix.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Guest_*
post Oct 9 2004, 06:05 PM
Post #4





Guests






My MA701 is dead too. I just updated my OS with 3.1.3 and it cannot recognise my WF card. When I first got my WF card about a year ago, I used to plug it in my laptop's PCMCIA port using my CF card to PCMCIA adapter and XP can be recognise as a Netgear device. Now, if I tried pluging it in to my laptop, it is not recognised. I presume MA701 got a firmware and it could have been lost. Any one there got more technical info if MA701 uses firmware?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
V-Man
post Oct 9 2004, 06:47 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 30-May 03
From: Edmond, OK
Member No.: 21



I had one problem with my Netgear card where I was playing around with an earlier release of Kismet. The software put the card into promiscuous mode and would not allow a reset of the card. The only way I found to fix it was to flash back to an earlier Sharp ROM, reset the card, flash back to the current Sharp ROM, and then stop playing with Kismet. When this happened the green LED would continually flash. The card was scanning continuously and would not allow any connections to be made. This doesn't sound like the problem you are experiencing, but it is a possibility.

Let us know if something did kill the card so I can avoid killing mine.

Good Luck
V-Man
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davisfactor
post Oct 12 2004, 05:00 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 8-December 03
Member No.: 1,087



Genxweb, what's up, homie?

I have the same card, I broke it last year at work in RI following a howto on soldering an external antenna to it. smile.gif

I tried it in my Axim and get the same results.

Luckily, the Dell TrueMobile 1180 that work gave me to go with my Axim works with OZ 3.5.1 so I don't have to buy a new one.

In case you can't tell, I'm not posting to help, just to say hi.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
agittins
post Oct 12 2004, 07:07 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 14-December 03
From: Brisbane
Member No.: 785



My MA701 died after a year, at the same time I upgraded to the latest OZ. I got it replaced under warranty. I suspect there is a manufacturing fault with them as the failure seems consistent with an intermittent board fault. I guess it could be firmware related, but the way mine failed was intermittent, both in the PDA and in a CF adaptor in my laptop.
If you have any chance of getting it replaced under warranty I'd go for it - NetGear have 3yrs or something on those I believe.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Guest_genxweb_*
post Oct 25 2004, 06:20 AM
Post #8





Guests






QUOTE(V-Man @ Oct 10 2004, 02:47 AM)
I had one problem with my Netgear card where I was playing around with an earlier release of Kismet. The software put the card into promiscuous mode and would not allow a reset of the card. The only way I found to fix it was to flash back to an earlier Sharp ROM, reset the card, flash back to the current Sharp ROM, and then stop playing with Kismet. When this happened the green LED would continually flash. The card was scanning continuously and would not allow any connections to be made. This doesn't sound like the problem you are experiencing, but it is a possibility.

Let us know if something did kill the card so I can avoid killing mine.

Good Luck
V-Man

Hum this sounds real possible as the issue. But after recoverign from a brick I am to scared to reflash it any more.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nyar
post Oct 25 2004, 06:49 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Australia
Member No.: 4,861



I tend to avoid Netgear cards like the plague; so many of them fail randomly like this, and it's not just CF cards.

I ordered a Buffalo AirStation card; seems to be the better choice (This is correct, I hope?)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Martin
post Oct 25 2004, 07:01 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 5-October 04
From: konstanz, germany
Member No.: 4,874



Hi guys,

I have bought a used Netgear WA701 ... it works in my Z c860 for one time ... but after restart or suspend it gut "busy" all the time I insert it in my Z ... nothing could be done to get it recognized by my Z ... using pdaxrom Kathrin rc5 ...

Is it possible to test it ... maybe in Laptop ? What about a reset, described some post before in this thread ?

Thanks a lot
Martin

p.s.: it very boring because I want to test wlan connectivity for my Z :-(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Martin
post Oct 25 2004, 07:01 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 138
Joined: 5-October 04
From: konstanz, germany
Member No.: 4,874



Hi guys,

I have bought a used Netgear WA701 ... it works in my Z c860 for one time ... but after restart or suspend it gut "busy" all the time I insert it in my Z ... nothing could be done to get it recognized by my Z ... using pdaxrom Kathrin rc5 ...

Is it possible to test it ... maybe in Laptop ? What about a reset, described some post before in this thread ?

Thanks a lot
Martin

p.s.: it very boring because I want to test wlan connectivity for my Z :-(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kents
post Mar 8 2005, 06:30 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 27-March 04
Member No.: 2,529



I see this an older thread, but I it sounds exactly like what happened to me. I hadn't used the card for a while, I upgraded my 5600 to the latest open zaurus, and the card didn't work. There didn't seem to be any correlation to the firmware upgrade, but one and possibly two people had problems with these cards right after upgrading.

My card shows as anonymous memory. a cardctl ident say no card info available in slot 0 or 1. cardctl status says there is a 3.3 v 16 bit pc card in slot 0 function 0: [busy]

the LED on my card stays on solid. I don't really think it was the firmware upgrade, but maybe I did a format while this card was inserted or someother stupid manuver. any thoughts?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kents
post Mar 8 2005, 06:43 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 27-March 04
Member No.: 2,529



ok I kept reading and found this this thread , and I pressed on the back of my card and it was recognised (once).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 08:58 AM