OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> VoIP On the 6000
cvmiller
post Dec 26 2004, 01:14 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(offroadgeek @ Dec 25 2004, 08:54 AM)
QUOTE(xjqian @ Dec 25 2004, 01:42 AM)
Have anybody tried FWD Peering? I'm mosted interested in Vonage and Packet8. How's the quality?

VoIP on 6K is great. Isn't that one of the major reasons 6K designed for?  tongue.gif

I tried the peering number for an 800 call on my calling card (to see if I can reach a regular land line), but the DTMF doesn't show the full 10 key num pad, so I couldn't dial a zero. I couldn't figure out a way to resize the window. (I submitted a bug report for this)


On DTMF, You can access all the numbers (and symbols) if you rotate your screen. I run my screen rotated all the time, so I didn't even notice there was a problem until you guys mentioned it.

Thanks to all, I signed up to FWD, and have made the test calls. I even signed up my wife, and made a call from my Z to her Mac (using JSphone). The audio was a bit choppy, but that could be because we were on the same wireless network.

Thanks to all for turning me onto a cool Z app!

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Dec 30 2004, 06:58 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



Has anyone gotten Voice Mail to work?

I have it setup, but I can't log in. Apparently, according to the FAQ, it doesn't recognize DTMF. So how does one log into voice mail on the Z?

TIA,

Craig...


sip:539718@fwd.pulver.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
selfabuse
post Dec 30 2004, 07:23 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 7-December 04
Member No.: 5,824



I'm fairly certian I had voicemail working back to the asterisk machine at my office - but I don't know how FWD has all their stuff set up. I uninstalled my sip software a little while ago for some reason or another, but I'll reinstall it to double check that I really can get in. Another fun thing I just did was install the full asterisk PBX under pocketworkstation. It's not really too useful other then to impress other geeks with, but hey, sometimes that's enough wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
offroadgeek
post Dec 30 2004, 08:34 PM
Post #19





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,418
Joined: 18-May 03
From: St. Paul, MN
Member No.: 4



QUOTE(cvmiller @ Dec 30 2004, 07:58 PM)
Has anyone gotten Voice Mail to work?

I have it setup, but I can't log in. Apparently, according to the FAQ, it doesn't recognize DTMF. So how does one log into voice mail on the Z?

TIA,

Craig...


sip:539718@fwd.pulver.com

I saw this on the FWD site, this is probably the same thing you mentioned you saw in the FAQ:

QUOTE
The voicemail system isn't able to understand the DTMF tones sent when you enter your password. Voicemail only understands DTMF when its sent using the rfc2833 standard. Check your phone configuration to make sure its senting DTMF using rfc2833.


Though I don't know if kphone/pi supports DTMF using the rfc2833 standard. I was able to check my FWD voicemail from my laptop (using x-lite) so I know it's working on the FWD side...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thaak
post Dec 31 2004, 09:16 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 29-December 04
Member No.: 6,063



Hi

I've just managed to dial my cellphone via FWD and Iconect peering. **334 and then using the DTMF my id number and password and then could dial out. Pretty cool. Just need to find a way to send the Iconnect id and password without having to type it in. Oh yes using KPhone/PI. Tried tkcphone (bought the full version) but have had not luck iwth it. Anyone got tips on setups or how to send numbers from the address book to dtmf would be very helpfull biggrin.gif .

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Dec 31 2004, 10:24 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(offroadgeek @ Dec 30 2004, 08:34 PM)
Though I don't know if kphone/pi supports DTMF using the rfc2833 standard. I was able to check my FWD voicemail from my laptop (using x-lite) so I know it's working on the FWD side...

Apparently Kphone does _not_ support RFC2833 (which is a DTMF signalling like protocol when real DTMF gets too torn up (distorted) by the audio codec).

LinPhone is supposed to support RFC2833, but alas, it doesn't support STUN (which is used when behind a NAT firewall).

I tried configureing another profile on my wifes laptop (with SJ phone) but that didn't work (it kept sending her phone number, not mine).

Being a Linux only (ok, there are also MacOS X machines in the house as well) shop, x-lite doesn't seem to be an option. Although it does look to be a nice client.

I guess my voice mail will be greetingless for now.

Thanks,

Craig...
sip:539718@fwd.pulver.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
offroadgeek
post Dec 31 2004, 12:02 PM
Post #22





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,418
Joined: 18-May 03
From: St. Paul, MN
Member No.: 4



QUOTE(cvmiller @ Dec 31 2004, 11:24 AM)
Being a Linux only (ok, there are also MacOS X machines in the house as well) shop, x-lite doesn't seem to be an option. Although it does look to be a nice client.

I guess my voice mail will be greetingless for now.

I also have all linux boxes and one powerbook with osx/debian dual boot. Theres and x-lite client for osx which works nicely.

Another cool thing about FWD voicemail is that you can have it forward your voicemails as .wav files to your email.. works really well.

On another note, I finally got the voicepulse service setup and ordered the 'open access' add on so that I can use kphone/pi on my 6000 with the service. Its a pretty cool setup... they give you a DID (in the area code of your choice) and now I can send and receive PSTN calls on my 6000. My calls so far have been really good. I ended up leaving my cell at home and went to a coffee shop to hang out and have breakfast with my dog. Of course this coffee shop has free wifi so I made a few calls (while sitting outside on a semi busy street in SF). The calls were very clear, seemed just like I was on my cell. The person on the other end of the call said tht it was also very clear, except for a little bit of an echo when he spoke.

All in all, very cool. And the guy selling coffee in the coffee shop gave me a free beer, because it's new years eve. (It is 12:02 PM after all)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dfisher
post Jan 2 2005, 06:44 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 30-May 03
From: Toronto,Ontario
Member No.: 66



What are people using for a mic and headset?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
unblowupable
post Jan 2 2005, 07:44 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 13-December 04
Member No.: 5,908



QUOTE(dfisher @ Jan 2 2005, 09:44 PM)
What are people using for a mic and headset?

For now I am using a Jabra Earwrap - the generic 2.5 mm adapter version. I didn't buy it from this site, but here's a link so you can see them. The quality of the speaker and mic are very good, although I find it awkward to wear (but maybe its just me.) I got it for $17 at a local Staples. A satisfactory solution for now, but I'd like to find something more comfortable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jan 2 2005, 10:58 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(dfisher @ Jan 2 2005, 09:44 PM)
What are people using for a mic and headset?

I use a generic 2.5mm headset. Consider upgrading to a CF BT + BT headset in the future.

Thanks Craig for the tip of using DTMF in the landscape mode.

I randomly tried some 1800*** numbers. Mixed results. For example, UPS tracking's voice is crystal clear and it understands the DTMF sent by the 6K. Although it did miss the part of prompting me to enter the tracking number, I managed to DTMF in the digits after the voice "I don't understand ....". And the results are good. However, for the TripRewards, neither was the sound clear nor did it accept my DTMF. So it is a YMMV.

For internet calling, I was comparing the sound quality of the FWD with Skype. The other party was out of the states. We tested pulver.Communicator on our PCs first, (Cat5 LAN). Unfortunately, the sound quality is inferior to Skype (Cat5 LAN). I have to say Skype is crystal clear, while FWD with pulver.Communicator is muffled. Then I used my 6K (WiFi) talking to the other party. The result is choppy, acceptable at best. Of course, there is a possibility of the wireless signal quality issue in my home. Even worse, however, the KPhone crashes after about every 10-15mins (does anybody else has this kind of expereience?). All in all, a little disappointed. I will keep an eye on the possiblity of the Xqt+Debian with Skype.

Voicemail worked with pulver.Communicator on my PC. Sending the voice message to my email box is a big plus.

update: it works better for me today, at least I managed 1hr talking time before KPhone crashed. Sound quality is better than yesterday, but still sounds like a walkie talkie, i.e. when i spoke, i heard only silence. If neither of the party speaks, just absolute silence. No background sound at all. In some cases, I thought the connection was dropped, but actually not. With Skype, I could even hear the breathing of the other party when I was speaking. Plan to buy a CF LAN card to check out if it's my WLAN problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thaak
post Jan 3 2005, 04:57 PM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 29-December 04
Member No.: 6,063



Have managed to connect directly to Iconnect via KPhone. Could then dial PSTN numbers directly(with Iconnect account). Worked fairly well dial a couple of my friends in South Africa from the UK and worked fine.

Does any one know of a way to setup multilple accounts on KPhone. Would like to be connected to FWD for internet calls and Iconnect when I want to phone a PSTN phone as I find it a mission to go from FWD to Iconnect and have to type in the numbers all the tim.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Jan 3 2005, 06:46 PM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(thaak @ Jan 3 2005, 04:57 PM)
Does any one know of a way to setup multilple accounts on KPhone. Would like to be connected to FWD for internet calls and Iconnect when I want to phone a PSTN phone as I find it a mission to go from FWD to Iconnect and have to type in the numbers all the tim.

Thaak,

It isn't pretty, but Kphone stores all its config info in: /home/zaurus/kdepims/config/kphonerc

You could create a simple script that would rename 2 different kphonerc files one for each kphonerc personality.

I hope this helps,

Craig...
sip:539718@fwd.pulver.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Jan 4 2005, 01:50 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(thaak @ Jan 3 2005, 07:57 PM)
Does any one know of a way to setup multilple accounts on KPhone. Would like to be connected to FWD for internet calls and Iconnect when I want to phone a PSTN phone as I find it a mission to go from FWD to Iconnect and have to type in the numbers all the tim.

Help ---> start hints
"if you want to use multiple identities, start KPhone with the '-u' option...'
'kphone -u jsmith'

It's worth to read through the Help: audio setup, howto use, start hints. Pretty informatiive. The storing pwd in /home/zaurus/kdepims/config/kphonerc mentioned in the howto use is a great hint.

one question, anybody know if i should increase the two values in the SIP Preferences->Settings
Expire Time of Registration (sec)
Expire Time of Presence Subscription (sec)
Are these values like elapse time before giving up registration/presence subscription?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zautrix
post Jan 4 2005, 07:06 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 437
Joined: 3-February 04
From: N54°22.5' E10°08.2'
Member No.: 1,678



Interesting thread ... ;-)
I agree, there is a setting missing for more than one SIP account.

The DTMF portrait mode problem should be fixed in KPhone/Pi 0.9.9.

I also merged some changes from KPhone 4.1.0.

Please try version KPhone/Pi 0.9.9 and let me know, if everything is still working... ( because I did not test the merged changes from KPhone 4.1.0 very much).


Thx,

z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Jan 4 2005, 07:04 PM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(zautrix @ Jan 4 2005, 07:06 AM)
Interesting thread ... ;-)

The DTMF portrait mode problem should be fixed in KPhone/Pi 0.9.9.

Great App! Thank you for making it happen,

Do you see any support for DTMF (RFC2833) in the future? FWD voice mail only accepts RFC2833 signaling, (not DTMF), which makes it a little hard to configure the voice mail using kphone/pi.

Thanks again for the great App!

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2014 - 12:28 PM