OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Does My 6000 Have Too Much Ram?
jebaker
post May 4 2005, 10:05 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 20-August 03
Member No.: 373



I recently aquired a 6000 from work to replace my 5600. All of the specs I have seen online say I should have 64 MB of ram and 64 MB of flash. When I go into System Info, it reports 62048 KB of ram and 95232 KB of flash. If i run 'df -h' in a terminal, I see:

/dev/root 28.0M
/dev/mtdblock3 93.0M

This is a pre-release 6000 that has a big "This device has not been apporved by the FCC" sticker on the back.

So do I have a 6000 with some extra flash?

Jeff
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post May 6 2005, 10:49 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

Please do the following :
- a nandbackup
- then reboot and do dmesg > file

Please put both files somewhere. I'd be curious to look at both files.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jebaker
post May 7 2005, 07:33 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 20-August 03
Member No.: 373



Ok, here they are:
NAND backup
dmesg

The NAND backup is about 70 meg bzipped...

Jeff
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post May 7 2005, 07:15 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Quite interesting. You've got in fact a 128 Mb one. Try df and mount to see how much space you've left, and cat /proc/mtd to get some more details on the memory configuration.

BTW - If you don't need that Zaurus I'd be interested in it :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post May 8 2005, 01:47 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



That would be the mythical SL-6000D:
http://www.zaurususergroup.org/Article100.phtml
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post May 8 2005, 07:13 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



according to that table, the D shouldn't have any wifi or bluetooth built in. Is this true?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post May 8 2005, 08:43 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



To answer your original question, Yes you do have too much ram. Send yours to me, and I will send you a 6000 with the right amount of ram.. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gondola
post May 9 2005, 07:36 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 11-January 05
Member No.: 6,189



QUOTE(lpotter @ May 9 2005, 04:43 AM)
To answer your original question, Yes you do have too much ram. Send yours to me, and I will send you a 6000 with the right amount of ram.. smile.gif
*


LOL! rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jebaker
post May 9 2005, 11:42 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 20-August 03
Member No.: 373



QUOTE(lpotter @ May 8 2005, 11:43 PM)
To answer your original question, Yes you do have too much ram. Send yours to me, and I will send you a 6000 with the right amount of ram.. smile.gif
*


Cool, I knew someone here could help me "fix" it. smile.gif

It does have wireless, so maybe it is a 6000D with the wireless module installed.
Does this mean I can't install different ROMS on it, or should they be ok with the way the flash is partitioned?

Jeff
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post May 10 2005, 12:16 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

Don't install any rom. You'll certainly have big problems. I'll try to work on a guylhem rom for a 128 Mb flash 6000 if I can get my such a beast. I couldn't find the samsung chip anwhere to purcase however :-(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th December 2014 - 07:57 PM