OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mapping Zaurus as a Windows disk drive
mikew
post Aug 11 2004, 05:24 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Not sure that I have seen this in the Forum, so I thought I would post, just in case anyone finds it useful.

It is possible to map the Zaurus (Internal flash,, SD & CF Cards, so they can be used from within My Computer/Windows Explorer as well as any Windows application.

Ensure you have enabled TCP/IP (Advanced) networking on the PC & Zaurus.

Connect the Zaurus to your PC via USB cable & wait 30 seconds.

Load My Computer

Click Tools then Map Network Drive

Select the drive you want to be used to identify the Zaurus, e.g. Z drive.

Enter the following '\\192.168.129.201\home' in the Folder box. (Use the IP address of your Zaurus)

Click Finnish

The Zaurus should now appear alongside all the other disk drives, double click on it & you should be presented with a list of all the Zaurus drives.

You should be able map individual Zaurus drives or directories if you want, you can even create shortcuts.

Word of warning: Please remember to close any My Computer or Windows Explorer Windows that are pointing at the Zaurus, before you close the link.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dino
post Aug 11 2004, 05:48 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 5-January 04
Member No.: 1,362



mikew,
Did you have to install Samba? I could not do this with OZ until I installed Samba and started it. You may want to create a password for your username. At work my Zaurus appeared under the default workgroup of "Workgroup" on the network. If it were not for my password the Zaurus would be wide open. ohmy.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post Aug 11 2004, 06:01 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



It's very simple to do, no extra sofware required, just standard Windows, I have it working on 98 & 2000, should also work on XP & 95.

I have this working on my work PC, where I can't add software such as Samba, I also use the Zaurus to transfer files between my home & work PCs.

It is a great way of solving the Zaurus printing problem, as you can load the Zaurus file from from within MS Word, Excel etc., & click the print icon, you can even make changes & save it back to the Zaurus.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post Aug 11 2004, 06:04 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Should have made it clear in my original post, the connection uses the standard Sharp USB cable.

It should be possible to do this over WiFi & Ethernet, I just find it more convenient to use the standard cable.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Aug 11 2004, 06:07 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(dino @ Aug 11 2004, 01:48 PM)
Did you have to install Samba? I could not do this with OZ until I installed Samba and started it.

The standard ROMs come with samba pre-installed but oz doesn't. So for oz, you do have to install samba (on the Zaurus).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Aug 11 2004, 06:20 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



Yeah, I've mapped my CF and SD drives on the Zaurus in Windows this way.

The only problem is, Windows for some reason takes the amount of free Flash memory as the amount that's free on all the drives.

I.e. though I have 200 meg free on the CF I can't copy a 100 meg file to it, because there's only 20 meg free flash and Windows tells me that that's the amount of free space on the CF as well?

Anyone know if this can be fixed?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mandjab
post Aug 11 2004, 06:23 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 22-February 04
Member No.: 1,977



Hello,

thank's for this tip. but he ask me login and password.
do you know what is it?
I use the elena 1.21b

greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post Aug 11 2004, 06:42 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



rehorrericha

Double click on the Zaurus drive & you should then see all the individual Zaurus drives, double click on the drive you want to copy to.

I copied 500 meg this way, wish I had that much space on my flash drive.

Mandjab

Not sure why you require login & password, assume you have set this up on your Zaurus, the security settings tab says you must remove passcode before connecting to a Windows PC.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Aug 11 2004, 07:14 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



rehorrericha, even though it only displays the free space on the internal flash that will not affect you when you try to copy a file onto your CF / SD once the space is available there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dino
post Aug 11 2004, 07:30 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 5-January 04
Member No.: 1,362



Mapping drives is a great feature.

I rip CD's at home and load my favorite songs on the Zaurus. When I'm at work I can map the drive and play my music from the windows machine using winamp. That way there is no mp3/ogg files on my windows box. tongue.gif

Another convenience is being able to save files directly to the Zaurus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bbb
post Jun 14 2005, 07:14 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 11-June 05
Member No.: 7,326



I am having trouble implementing this "really simple thing to do"

I am not running Linux at all and wish to connect a Win98 machine directly to the Zaurus via a USB connection.

My connection seems to be OK as I can sync easily enough. I would like to use USB networking to access the CF card as a disk drive.

Can this be done?

If so, could I have some Linuxless instructions?

Cheers

bbb
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
djacco
post Aug 19 2005, 10:31 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 17-August 05
Member No.: 7,888



mikew

got it running easy :-)

c860 (got it just a few days try to find my way :-)
cacko 1.22
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Aug 19 2005, 12:28 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



QUOTE(mandjab @ Aug 11 2004, 02:23 PM)
Hello,

thank's for this tip. but he ask me login and password.
do you know what is it?
I use the elena 1.21b

greg
*


For login:
You could try root and no password or root and root. Maybe zaurus and root.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
why2jjj
post Jan 10 2006, 04:40 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 4-January 06
Member No.: 8,853



Hi,

When I plug my c3100 zaurus into my IBM WinXP professional laptop, Windoze first correctly recognizes I have a c3100. I get the option of installing software automatically or install from a list or specific location. I select 'automatically' and hit 'continue'. I then get an error that says the hardware was not installed because the wizard cannot find the necessary hardware. It then looks on the internet for the driver (via Microsloth) but cannot find anything. Thus, my zaurus does not show up as a USB storage device on my computer.

Anyone know what is going on? Maybe I need some driver installed on my machine? Anyone know what it is and where I can get it?

Thanks,

Jay

(I don't have this problem on my Linux machine at home...the Zaurus just shows up as a storage device)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jan 11 2006, 12:36 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(why2jjj @ Jan 11 2006, 10:40 AM)
Hi,

When I plug my c3100 zaurus into my IBM WinXP professional laptop, Windoze first correctly recognizes I have a c3100.  I get the option of installing software automatically or install from a list or specific location.  I select 'automatically' and hit 'continue'.  I then get an error that says the hardware was not installed because the wizard cannot find the necessary hardware.  It then looks on the internet for the driver (via Microsloth) but cannot find anything.  Thus, my zaurus does not show up as a USB storage device on my computer.

Anyone know what is going on?  Maybe I need some driver installed on my machine?  Anyone know what it is and where I can get it?

Thanks,

Jay

(I don't have this problem on my Linux machine at home...the Zaurus just shows up as a storage device)
*



Try putting the Zaurus driver CD into your CD-ROM drive next time you try to detect it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 11:35 PM