OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Vncviewer, ..for the 6000L
TimW
post Mar 10 2006, 04:12 AM
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(xjqian @ Feb 15 2006, 07:43 AM)
QUOTE(lek @ Mar 24 2005, 12:40 PM)
Hey xjqian,
did you try connecting the Zaurus to the XP box using the wireless in Add-Hoc mode.  This way you are connecting  them directly together, rather then going through a router of some sort.  You may be suffering from some type of signal issue.

Cheers,
lek
*


Thanks for the patience. I find the problem by issuing "keypebble" in the command line, I got

Connected, logging in...
Waiting for server version ... [and hangs]

Seems the vnc server (RealVNC 4.1.1) in my XP box having problem.

I installed TightVNC instead. And it works like charm. smile.gif rolleyes.gif
*


Sounds like the problem I may have just fixed (see this thread). If you have a Sharp style ROM you could try this ipk.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 10 2006, 04:26 AM
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(dsavard @ Jan 27 2005, 10:30 PM)
OK, I managed to make VNC working thru a ssh tunnel. However, I need to use 8-bits depth, seems higher values don't work properly. I can start my VNC server with any depth, but the client must be set to request 8-bits depth to work properly.

Anyone is having this problem as well and managed to solve it?
*

This sounds like the same problem, too. Please feel free to try my ipk and, if you do, I'd like to know how you get on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Mar 16 2006, 11:34 AM
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



This is an appeal to 6000 users to try out TimW's VNC(teakettle).

I've tried it, and am getting an error when trying to connect.

The details and ipk are in the Software section.

Thanks in advance!

Russell
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 17 2006, 02:49 AM
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(undrwater @ Mar 16 2006, 07:34 PM)
This is an appeal to 6000 users to try out TimW's VNC(teakettle). 

I've tried it, and am getting an error when trying to connect.

The details and ipk are in the Software section.

Thanks in advance!

Russell
*

I said I'd attach the plain exe in case it was an installation error but the forum software won't let me. I gzipped it and then it let me attach the gzipped version.

So if you can get it onto you zaurus and unzip it, then it mught be worth a try.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  teakettle.gz ( 48.5K ) Number of downloads: 47
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Mar 17 2006, 08:09 AM
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



Still getting the same error. I was planning on setting up a compiling environment on my system anyway, could you put up the source somewhere (or email me?) and I can try compiling it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 19 2006, 03:03 AM
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



Here is the source.

It is a little different to the 0.5 ipk as I've added the option to rotate to 0,90,180,270 degrees since that release.

I'm experimenting with drawing the tiles the correct size to start with so that there is no resizing of bitmaps to do. I haven't finished that but I think I've taken all of it back out and got it to a reaonably stable state.

I use the .pro file to build for qvfb on my laptop, .zpro for Sharp ROMs and .opro for opie builds. They each produce a Makefile, ZMakefile and OMakefile resp. The opie stuff is a bit ad hoc since I've broken my opie build environment (actually it got out of date and I'm on dial-up so I haven't been able to get it properly up to date).

Let me know if you need any help to get it to build (timwentford AT hotmail DOT com).

One thing has occured to me which could be part of the trouble. I cheat with zlib and just use the version embedded in liibqte rather than an external one (you need to copy (IIRC) zconf.h and zutil.h to the zaurus includes directory). This doesn't work on opie because zlib isn't embedded into qte for opie builds - maybe something like that happens on the 6000? If opie-reader works on the SL6000 it is unlikely though, since I do the same trick there.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  keypebble.tar.gz ( 49.05K ) Number of downloads: 46
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 21 2006, 04:05 PM
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



I think I've found the problem. You *must* give the server a bookmark name. This is the bottom-most box on the "Server" tab.

I'll put a fix in that allows "anonymous" connections in the next release but in the meantime, just give the bookmark a name.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 22 2006, 03:26 AM
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



I've posted a new ipk on the other thread. I'm assuming that this isn't an SL6000 specific problem any more so I'll concentrate on the other thread again unless you tell me otherwise 8^).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Mar 25 2006, 12:15 PM
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



You are correct... biggrin.gif

But now I have no burning issue for which to set up the compiliing environment.

Thanks bunches for your work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th October 2014 - 12:34 AM