OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Nmap Not Working.
Capn_Fish
post Oct 14 2007, 09:17 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



When I try to run nmap on my Zaurus (pdaX r198, Ambicom WL1100C wireless, custom-built pcap), it says

CODE
Starting Nmap 4.20 ( http://insecure.org ) at 2007-10-14 12:14 UTC
pcap_open_live(wlan0, 104, 0, 200) FAILED. Reported error: live packet capture not supported on this system.  Will wait 5 seconds then retry.
caught SIGINT signal, cleaning up


What causes this? Kismet works fine. Do I need to put the card into monitor mode or something (it's just connected to my wireless now).

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Oct 16 2007, 02:18 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Nobody? Or is this just that obvious?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Oct 22 2007, 08:15 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



You could try running strace and study the output to see where the process hangs.

If there were some kind of logs, you could also check those.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Oct 22 2007, 10:24 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



It's not hanging just giving an error (as seen above). It kind of looks like a config thing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Oct 22 2007, 11:49 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Uh, well did you try strace if it helped you figure out the error better?

If it's in the CF slot, did you try "cardctl reset" or "pccardctl reset"? Yeah, maybe some kind of timing out to play with cfg files to fix. Where are the Nmap experts?

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Oct 23 2007, 12:00 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Look at this:

http://www.oesf.org/forum/lofiversion/index.php/t9529.html

also check out what else google turns up for:

nmap "live packet capture" "not supported"

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Oct 23 2007, 03:51 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



OK, that error was because I forgot to install pcap. Now it says:

CODE
dnet: failed to open device wlan0


Any ideas?

Thanks for helping, by the way!

EDIT: I'm now getting the live packet capture error again...Weird.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Oct 24 2007, 06:35 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Is it the identical "live packet capture" error or slightly different? I would still run strace to see exactly what it's doing up until it fails. Have you used it before?

I also would go back and see if there are any more useful hints in those google results for other Linux systems.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Oct 24 2007, 05:05 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



I think it's the same error, and I'll try strace.

One thing that came up was recompiling the kernel with something or other enabled, but I'll hold off on that for at least a bit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Nov 1 2007, 05:04 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



Strace could take the guesswork out of what's going wrong because you can see the calls and all from just before it messes up.

Have you used it before? I tend to increase the output string when I run it to make sure it doesn't cut off anything important. My strace for this would look something like:

strace -f -v -s 200 -o /mnt/card/nmap.strace nmap &

You could have it put the results wherever you wanted and call the output file after -o whatever you want, I put mine on SD card. The number after -s is the length of each diagnostic string. If a line is longer than that, it gets truncated and I think the default is something like 30 characters IIRC.

Just try it...you could post the last 50-100 lines of output to get help interpreting?

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th September 2014 - 02:01 AM