OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rss Aggregator/reader, Would like a nice RSS reader on the Z
ensign
post Apr 14 2005, 09:22 AM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 31-August 04
Member No.: 4,432



eji

Thanks for the files. I am have still not be able to succesfull update a single feed. Might be something to do with the way I am using the software.

This is what I am doing.

Step (a) Menu->C->N

Url = http://www.sky.com/skynews/rss/article/0,,31500-1-100,00.xml
Category = General

Step (cool.gif Click OK

Step © CTRL-G

[%Bar at bottom-right moves 25%....]

Step(d)
CLick on http://www.sky.com/sky.... in left side window. "Last Update:" has no value. Right window is blank


Is there something I am missing?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Apr 14 2005, 09:35 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



QUOTE(ensign @ Apr 14 2005, 05:22 PM)
eji

Thanks for the files. I am have still not be able to succesfull update a single feed. Might be something to do with the way I am using the software.

This is what I am doing [...]
*
I'm having the same problem as you are when I try that link. Looks like that particular URL is screwy because Sky's world news headlines (http://www.sky.com/skynews/rss/article/0,,30200-1-100,00.xml) work perfectly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ensign
post Apr 14 2005, 09:46 AM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 31-August 04
Member No.: 4,432



eji

Thanks again. That particular link does not seem to work. My other rss links work fine.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ensign
post Apr 15 2005, 11:39 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 31-August 04
Member No.: 4,432



Does anyone know how to stop DmBlogger from killing itself after launching a web browser (opera in my case)? Maybe a variation on

system("qcop QPE/System \"execute(QString,QString)\" opera #{@rssItem.getLink()}")

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post May 12 2005, 02:08 AM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



QUOTE(Mongoosefred @ Apr 14 2005, 12:00 AM)
Also if there any killer features that stop you, or anyone else,  from wanting to use QuackNews I'd love to hear about them, I'm adding a page download feature at the

*


I just tried QuackNews 0.4.1, and have a few thoughts ...

1-it requires that you install it in the main memory. It'd be nicer if I could install it on my SD or CF card.
2-I'm not sure how others feel about this, but launching it should automatically grab and sync feeds. In fact, it'd be nice if it then displayed the respective pages in some kind of order (the less steps in viewing the feeds, the better).
3-I noticed that the browser must be launched. ok, I can deal with that. It then lists the feeds. Rather than that, I'd prefer to simply have all the feed information shown right away. I then have to click on the feed, and it then retrieves the feed. It should already have done that for me, so I don't have to spend too much time. For me, I'd like to pop in and pop out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post May 12 2005, 02:38 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



Ken, I don't know if you've given it a shot yet, but I'd highly recommend DMblogger, which has been discussed on this thread quite a bit. The new version 1.3.2 (plus my slipshod English translation) has all the features you're requesting for QuackNews.

I also don't want anyone to get the impression that I'm pooh-poohing QN. Ideally, I'd like both to keep upping the ante. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post May 12 2005, 04:00 AM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



QUOTE(eji @ May 12 2005, 12:38 AM)
I also don't want anyone to get the impression that I'm pooh-poohing QN. Ideally, I'd like both to keep upping the ante. smile.gif
*


Yes, I just installed DM and I find it has all the things I talked about, including installing on the SD thing. I'm commenting on QN so he can improve his product. He might want to look at DM, as it's not bad. The good thing about QN is it's one product, as opposed to the many things that need to be installed (thanks).

Oh, and I did install your gui files. Glad you did it. I only spotted the new version because you posted a message about it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mongoosefred
post May 13 2005, 04:33 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 18-September 04
From: London
Member No.: 4,639



QUOTE(ken @ May 12 2005, 10:08 AM)
I just tried QuackNews 0.4.1, and have a few thoughts ...

1-it requires that you install it in the main memory.  It'd be nicer if I could install it on my SD or CF card.
2-I'm not sure how others feel about this, but launching it should automatically grab and sync feeds.  In fact, it'd be nice if it then displayed the respective pages in some kind of order (the less steps in viewing the feeds, the better).
3-I noticed that the browser must be launched.  ok, I can deal with that.  It then lists the feeds.  Rather than that, I'd prefer to simply have all the feed information shown right away.  I then have to click on the feed, and it then retrieves the feed.  It should already have done that for me, so I don't have to spend too much time.  For me, I'd like to pop in and pop out.
*

Thanks for the idea's Ken, I'll see what I can do.
1. Not that sure what it is that makes an app able to be installed on a card and not just the main memory, if anyone does, please PM me.
2. Think this will need to be a user configurable option, I'm thinking either a command line option, therefore you could have two links, one to auto sync and one to manual sync, or a application property, any preferances?
3. If I list all the feed items in one page, this will make one large HTML page. I was thining, would you prefer a global setting, all items in a single page or a per feed setting? I thinking global, but I don't think I'd use it, so don't really mind.

I really think that QN and DM have a place.
The aim of QN is to create something that can be used on as many different platforms as possible, and in the long run I hope to port it to J2ME MIDP/CLDC so it'll work on phones/palmos devices/etc...
If QN and DM can push each other, learning and improving, then everyone gains.
At the end of the day, OS projects are there for the users, if no one luses it, what's the point?

Please keep posting your impressions and idea's, oh and PLEASE tell me when you find a bug, I know there are some, but if no one tells me about them, I can't fix them...
-MF
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jochen-02
post Aug 16 2005, 12:40 PM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 29-July 05
Member No.: 7,733



QUOTE(Mongoosefred @ May 13 2005, 02:33 PM)
I really think that QN and DM have a place. 
The aim of QN is to create something that can be used on as many different platforms as possible, and in the long run I hope to port it to J2ME MIDP/CLDC so it'll work on phones/palmos devices/etc...

You shout at least make the application adaptive to the screen resolution. I am shure there is a way to find out, that for example a SL C1000 has 640x480 pixels. If you don't know how to do that -- what about making it a configurable item?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post Aug 16 2005, 06:47 PM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



Could try this one.
http://qtopia.net/packages/ARCHOS/AV500/Qrss_2.1.2_arm.ipk

Will work on sharp roms, qtopia 2.1 roms and of course, the Archos device.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2014 - 05:39 PM