OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cacko Network Ppp Dialup Feature Request, PIN entry for gsm modem module
speculatrix
post Mar 1 2006, 04:29 AM
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I have an audiovox RTM 8000 and have had great success using it for GPRS with vodafone.

CODE
Use the network setup application to create a dial-up PPP connection . Simply launch the network setup, select Dial-up PPP.

In the Account tab, enter any name, and in the user name and password fields, enter the username and password provided by your GPRS provider.

In the phone number field, enter
   *99#

In the Modem tab screen enter the following modem init string:
   AT+CGDCONT=1,\"IP\",\"internet\"


However, to make this work, I had to disable the PIN on my sim card... the AT code for entering a PIN is
AT+CPIN="1234"

is there any way this could be added to the dialup plugin? I've tried putting it into the modem initialisation string but it's not successful... it might be finger trouble, or it might be a timeout issue, so any ideas would be welcome!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 1 2006, 04:59 AM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



BTW, this thread contains all the info you need to make GPRS work:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=1382
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Mar 1 2006, 09:29 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Mar 1 2006, 10:59 PM)
BTW, this thread contains all the info you need to make GPRS work:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=1382
*


I use the DialUp applet that comes with Cacko 1.23 which is called Bluetooth Connection if I remember correctly. There are two bluetooth related applets, one for PAN and one for DUN. I use the DUN for GPRS and it asks me for a PIN each time I connect.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 20 2006, 07:27 AM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



erm, I mean the pin to unlock the SIM, not the password for the GPRS dialup.

hm, I guess all I'd need to do is manually hack the /etc/ppp/peers file to add a chat entry for AT+CPIN=blah

snag is that until the sim is unlocked the card doesn't sign on to network, so it's much slower.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2014 - 04:30 PM