OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Xfce4 With Eabi?
ArchiMark
post Mar 31 2008, 01:53 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



For fun would like to get XFCE4 working properly now that I've Debian EABI working OK...

IceWM is OK, but I do like XFCE....

I apt-get install xfce4 and it seems to have installed OK.

However, when I do 'startxfce4' it opens but it's rotated 90 degrees.

Also, screen calibration is way off...

So, I logged out and did 'ts_calibrate' which worked OK and I could use XFCE4 but with rotated display...

So, then tried doing what I read in other posts to get screen rotated properly, but so far hasn't worked for me and now screen calibration is way off again, so I can't open anything by tapping on it's icon....

So.....any advice as to the right way to get this working properly???

Thanks!

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
born2wonder
post Apr 1 2008, 02:45 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 24-June 07
Member No.: 17,442



comment out icewm-session in ur .xinitrc file and add under it startxfce4

for rotation add xrandr -o right before startxfce4 in the same file

then use startx to start xfce4
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 1 2008, 06:41 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(born2wonder @ Apr 1 2008, 03:45 AM) *
comment out icewm-session in ur .xinitrc file and add under it startxfce4

for rotation add xrandr -o right before startxfce4 in the same file

then use startx to start xfce4


THANKS, born2wonder!

XFCE4 starts up now in correct orientation....

Only issue now is that my stylus calibration is way off, so, can't access anything in XFCE using stylus....

Tried exiting XFCE and using 'ts_calibrate' from login shell, calibrated screen and then started up XFCE again, but stylus is still way off!!

Any suggestions to fix this problem????

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Apr 1 2008, 08:30 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Try:
rmmod mousedev

If it says it can't be removed because it's in use, then reboot and do it again.
Also add this command to /etc/rc.local
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 1 2008, 09:11 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Apr 1 2008, 09:30 AM) *
Try:
rmmod mousedev

If it says it can't be removed because it's in use, then reboot and do it again.
Also add this command to /etc/rc.local


Thanks for your help, ZDevil...

Did ' rmmod mousedev' and added this to /etc/rc.local...then did startx....

XFCE opened but now stylus taps have no effect on cursor location at all....ie, Z does not respond at all to screen taps....

Didn't reboot though, maybe try that???

huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 1 2008, 10:05 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Oops, forgot to mention earlier that I edited the '/etc/ts.conf' file per post #36 in this thread:

Debian Post Install per Cortez

However, now I'm not sure which item(s) should be commented out or not....

So, wondering if this caused the problem????

blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
born2wonder
post Apr 1 2008, 10:19 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 24-June 07
Member No.: 17,442



From what ive seen

rmmod mousedev has to be done outside x . It doesn't need a reboot AFAIK

It can be also be blacklisted by being added to /etc/modrpobe.d/blacklist so it doesn't load automatically by adding this to the end of the file .

blacklist mousedev

a restart is required for blacklisting .

after mousedev isn't loaded (u can check by typing lsmod|grep mouse) do

ts_calibrate and then startx.



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 1 2008, 10:53 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(born2wonder @ Apr 1 2008, 11:19 AM) *
From what ive seen

rmmod mousedev has to be done outside x . It doesn't need a reboot AFAIK

It can be also be blacklisted by being added to /etc/modrpobe.d/blacklist so it doesn't load automatically by adding this to the end of the file .

blacklist mousedev

a restart is required for blacklisting .

after mousedev isn't loaded (u can check by typing lsmod|grep mouse) do

ts_calibrate and then startx.


OK, works great now, born2wonder!!

THANKS to you and ZDevil!

PS. I also went back into 'ts.conf' and commented out the first item and uncommented the corgi line.....

PPS. Also, FWIW, I did look at OESF Debian Wiki page, section on post-Debian install....some very good info there...

Debian - Post-Install Info

wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 11 2008, 03:32 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



UPDATE

Not sure what happened other than maybe when I did 'apt-get upgrade' something got installed to change things....

But now when I start XFCE4, the cursor does not respond like what happened before in my earlier post....No response if I tap on screen with stylus....

Also, now when I try to do 'ts_calibrate' nothing happens, get message:

CODE
#ts_calibrate
ts_open: No such file or directory


Any ideas as to how to get cursor in XFCE4 working again???

Thanks for any help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 17 2008, 01:14 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



UPDATE

Have read and re-read all the posts (and Debian wiki...) that I can find on touchscreen/XFCE/IceWM, etc and have checked all the related files that I'm aware of on my 3200, but still can't get touchscreen working again!

As mentioned before, touchscreen was working fine before, then something happenened and now it does not work.

Also, now when I try to do 'ts_calibrate', I get the following:

CODE
#ts_calibrate
ts_calibrate: error while loading shared libraries: libts-1.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


blink.gif

Any suggestions????

Thanks for any and all help!

Mark
Frustrated Debian EABI user..... sad.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Apr 18 2008, 12:04 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Easy:
First check what you have:
ls -l /usr/lib/ts

In fact most knowledge required is for Debian in general. So in the end you will become a skilled Debian user.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matthis
post Apr 18 2008, 02:43 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 12-February 06
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 9,124



After installing your packages, I have similar issues:
1. taps on the screen correspond to the "rotated" coordinates.
2. ts_calibrate looks for tslib-0.0-0 and the one installed by the package is tslib 1.0-0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Apr 18 2008, 02:44 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(matthis @ Apr 18 2008, 12:43 PM) *
After installing your packages, I have similar issues:
1. taps on the screen correspond to the "rotated" coordinates.
2. ts_calibrate looks for tslib-0.0-0 and the one installed by the package is tslib 1.0-0

So did you install these? http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25701


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 18 2008, 09:21 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Apr 18 2008, 01:04 AM) *
Easy:
First check what you have:
ls -l /usr/lib/ts


CODE
#ls -l /usr/lib/ts
arctic2.so
collie.so
corgi.so
dejitter.so
h3600.so
input.so
linear.so
linear_h2200.so
mk712.so
pthres.so
ucb1x00.so
variance.so



How's that look????


QUOTE
In fact most knowledge required is for Debian in general. So in the end you will become a skilled Debian user.


As usual, you're right, ZDevil!.....it would be very nice to become a 'skilled Debian user'.....

wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Apr 18 2008, 10:01 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Apr 17 2008, 11:14 PM) *
Also, now when I try to do 'ts_calibrate', I get the following:
CODE
#ts_calibrate
ts_calibrate: error while loading shared libraries: libts-1.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Hmm... That's strange, because ts_calibrate is in the "libts-bin" package, which looks for /usr/lib/libts-0.0.so.0 and not /usr/lib/ibts-1.0.so.0.
See if it works for you when you "apt-get install libts-bin" and run "ts_calibrate" again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 03:56 AM