OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sl-c3200, File System Changes from hdluc My Zaurus
MrStaypuft
post Jul 17 2006, 06:00 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 17-July 06
Member No.: 10,437



Hi,

I am very interested in applying the file system changes that are discussed on the excellent MyZaurus page under customisation. I am interested in the steps which make /hdd1 a swap partition, /hdd2 a linux filesystem and /hdd3 smaller fat partition (although not smaller in this case as I'll use the extra 2 gig on the 3200)

http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/custom.html#custom

however obviously details for the 3200 are not there.

I have attached my rc.rofilesys (had to change the extension!) - if someone could advise me of the correct settings to achieve what was being discussed with the extra 2gig in the HDD3 FAT partition I'd really appreciate it.

Also if someone could clarify the exact steps required to achieve the result I'd appreciate that too as it's mixed in with resizing things with parted and doing steps which are more related to creating HDD4 than the file system changes.

I know I have to remount / as RW and replace the rc.rofilesys - I would imagine I also have to unmount /HDD1 and /HDD2 and make some changes but I'm not 100% sure on the correct steps

I'm sorry if this seems like a big ask and by all means tell me to go away and read other pages and experiment!!!

Thanks
Attached File(s)
Attached File  rc.rofilesys.txt ( 6.45K ) Number of downloads: 29
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Jul 18 2006, 06:26 PM
Post #2





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



that's interesting. From what I understand, any attempt to change how your disk behaves besides the factory default will brick your zaurus totally. Same goes for cacko. Not only that, if you modify your zaurus in that fashion, flashing another cacko or reflashing your zaurus will give you a hdd error since the rom itself is not modified. This could lead to a big headache...i mean big. I dont recommend it.

why dont you try memory applet you can add a swap on sd or cf card and activate it. A copy is in my snes zip file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MrStaypuft
post Jul 19 2006, 02:52 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 17-July 06
Member No.: 10,437



Thanks for the advice!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Jul 19 2006, 08:43 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



the better solution is to shrink hdd3 and create a hdd4 and format that as swap, that way it will work metween flashes and anything else you can throw at it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Jul 19 2006, 09:05 PM
Post #5





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



Now that is a better idea.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Jul 20 2006, 02:11 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



did that and it works perfect. I just added the swapon stuff to my rc.rofilesys

side note any attempt at makeing hdd1 do anything but what is there for will result in a forced unmount of /dev/ram1 failed. I tried to comment out all the references to hdd1 being mounted in rc.rofilesys and it gave that error every time

oh and if you do hose your rc.rofilesys and it wont boot use d+b powerup then "mount -t jffs2 -o rw,noatime /dev/mtdblock2 /" and you will find rc.rofilesys in /root/etc/rc.d, so you can fix it, I just keep a good backup in /hdd3
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MrStaypuft
post Jul 31 2006, 03:34 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 17-July 06
Member No.: 10,437



OK - thanks everyone for the help.

I have decided to go with the HDD4 option (although I might make it bigger and put a swap file on it - I'd really like a LINUX partition on my internal HDD)

I have managed to figure out how to shrink HDD3 with Parted.

But how do I create a new partition with FDISK, maybe I'm just stupid but I can't get it to work and my last couple of attempts lead to a hard reset!!

Could anyone please put step by step instructions in on how to do this from start to finish (maybe I did something wrong in parted)

Thanks to anyone willing to help a linux newbie who's doing his best...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Jul 31 2006, 08:45 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Cresho @ Jul 19 2006, 03:26 AM)
that's interesting.  From what I understand, any attempt to change how your disk behaves besides the factory default will brick your zaurus totally.  Same goes for cacko.  Not only that, if you modify your zaurus in that fashion, flashing another cacko or reflashing your zaurus will give you a hdd error since the rom itself is not modified.  This could lead to a big headache...i mean big.  I dont recommend it.

why dont you try memory applet  you can add a swap on sd or cf card and activate it.  A copy is in my snes zip file.
*

No, this is completely false, of course it'll not brick your Z.

You only need to remount the root rw, change the rc.rofilesys, mount it ro again, and modify /etc/fstab

I have repartitioned my HD, reformatted it to use ext2 etc. no prob, and obviously the Z isn't bricked totally, not even partly smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MrStaypuft
post Jul 31 2006, 08:52 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 17-July 06
Member No.: 10,437



Any Chance you could help me with the steps (see my question at the start of the post)?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd August 2014 - 11:52 AM