OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

15 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Install Debian On Your Zaurus (obsolete), ** pls refer to the pinned threads instead **
ZDevil
post Oct 28 2007, 04:46 AM
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(RX Shorty @ Oct 28 2007, 01:18 AM) *
Very nice...

To bad I aint own a C serie... maybe soon hmmm wink.gif


I guess the same trick may do for SL-6000, as long as there is a suitable kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Oct 28 2007, 07:20 AM
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



booted fine, installed the debs, ran the script - rebooted.

udev working.
Called "zaurus" now.

What should I check ?

Problems :
- need to change sources.list cause it can't find packages
- the debs I downloaded are not fully compatible (need a newer libc6)

Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Oct 28 2007, 07:38 AM
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Hmm. Then I guess if you can apt-get update after installation, then simply apt-get install those packages.
For the sources.list, you can only set to unstable, because armel is now available only in Sid.
The main reason why we need the consoletool after the first boot is to get the loadkeys command, which is executed in the "afterinstall.sh".
EABI is cool, sound just works without the Angstrom stuff (perhaps except the zaurusd thing), and no more jumping stylus pointer (at least true of 2or0's yonggun 2.6.30.1 kernel). Of course it is speeeeedy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Oct 28 2007, 08:05 AM
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Oct 28 2007, 04:38 PM) *
Hmm. Then I guess if you can apt-get update after installation, then simply apt-get install those packages.
For the sources.list, you can only set to unstable, because armel is now available only in Sid.
The main reason why we need the consoletool after the first boot is to get the loadkeys command, which is executed in the "afterinstall.sh".
EABI is cool, sound just works without the Angstrom stuff (perhaps except the zaurusd thing), and no more jumping stylus pointer (at least true of 2or0's yonggun 2.6.30.1 kernel). Of course it is speeeeedy.


What sources should I add in sources.list ?
The default seems to be down and kfreebsd-gnu has lots of unsolved deps .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Oct 28 2007, 08:13 AM
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



QUOTE(Chero @ Oct 28 2007, 05:05 PM) *
QUOTE(ZDevil @ Oct 28 2007, 04:38 PM) *
Hmm. Then I guess if you can apt-get update after installation, then simply apt-get install those packages.
For the sources.list, you can only set to unstable, because armel is now available only in Sid.
The main reason why we need the consoletool after the first boot is to get the loadkeys command, which is executed in the "afterinstall.sh".
EABI is cool, sound just works without the Angstrom stuff (perhaps except the zaurusd thing), and no more jumping stylus pointer (at least true of 2or0's yonggun 2.6.30.1 kernel). Of course it is speeeeedy.


What sources should I add in sources.list ?
The default seems to be down and kfreebsd-gnu has lots of unsolved deps .

just ignore this question - the answer is in the mega-manual ...
Tip : maybe a working sources.list could be added in the addons-tar.gz ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Oct 28 2007, 08:19 AM
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Hmm. Me too. apt-get update also gets stuck... site down?
How about: deb ftp.easynet.be/ftp/gnuab/debian sid main
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Oct 28 2007, 08:19 AM
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Hmm. Me too. apt-get update also gets stuck... site down?
How about: deb ftp.easynet.be/ftp/gnuab/debian sid main
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Oct 28 2007, 08:22 AM
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(Chero @ Oct 28 2007, 05:13 PM) *
just ignore this question - the answer is in the mega-manual ...
Tip : maybe a working sources.list could be added in the addons-tar.gz ?


True. That's very easy to make.
@2or0: do you think we should spilt the finetuning package into at least two? One is for real after installation configurations, the other for adding useful packages, such as the gpe-confs and mplayer, etc.

BTW the OE forum also loads a bit slow today? Any hiccup?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Oct 28 2007, 08:24 AM
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Oct 28 2007, 05:19 PM) *
Hmm. Me too. apt-get update also gets stuck... site down?
How about: deb ftp.easynet.be/ftp/gnuab/debian sid main


Oh, ignore my answer as well. apt-get is working now.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Oct 28 2007, 08:33 AM
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Oct 28 2007, 05:24 PM) *
QUOTE(ZDevil @ Oct 28 2007, 05:19 PM) *
Hmm. Me too. apt-get update also gets stuck... site down?
How about: deb ftp.easynet.be/ftp/gnuab/debian sid main


Oh, ignore my answer as well. apt-get is working now.


for me too - I guess it was just bad timing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Oct 28 2007, 08:37 AM
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



What window-manager are you using ? Icewm-experimental ?

- What to do before launching ?
- How do you launch it ?

(asking too many questions, so it can be usefull for the new girls and boys)
Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Oct 28 2007, 08:46 AM
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



AFAIR it's just two simple steps:

1. apt-get install icewm-experimental
2. In ~/.xsession (should have been created by the afterinstall.sh), add the line "exec icewm-session-experimental"

This icewm setting file may help you get started easier:
Attached File  preferences.txt ( 28.43K ) Number of downloads: 28

(remove ".txt" and drop it to ~/.icewm -- create the dir first)


Can you verify if the afterinstall.sh and the zaurus-hardware-eabi package work, including ...
-- Set the correct date and time and "hwclock -w"?
-- ts_calibrate?
-- loadkeys?

Thanks for doing the little experiment. wink.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Oct 28 2007, 09:28 AM
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Oct 28 2007, 05:46 PM) *
AFAIR it's just two simple steps:

1. apt-get install icewm-experimental
2. In ~/.xsession (should have been created by the afterinstall.sh), add the line "exec icewm-session-experimental"

This icewm setting file may help you get started easier:
Attached File  preferences.txt ( 28.43K ) Number of downloads: 28

(remove ".txt" and drop it to ~/.icewm -- create the dir first)


Can you verify if the afterinstall.sh and the zaurus-hardware-eabi package work, including ...
-- Set the correct date and time and "hwclock -w"?
-- ts_calibrate?
-- loadkeys?

Thanks for doing the little experiment. wink.gif


hwclock -w works
loadkeys works

.xsession contains "xrandr -o right"

startx :command not found

ts_calibrate : ts_open: no such file or directory
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Oct 28 2007, 09:51 AM
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(Chero @ Oct 28 2007, 06:28 PM) *
startx :command not found
ts_calibrate : ts_open: no such file or directory


startx: what if ...
-- simply ln -s /usr/bin/icewm-session-experimental /usr/bin/startx? OR
-- apt-get install xbase-clients (startx is there)?

ts_calibrate:
Can you show mean what is in your ~/.profile?
Mine has this:
QUOTE
......
TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/ts0
TSLIB_CONFFILE=/etc/ts.conf
export TELIB_TSDEVICE TSLIB_TSCONFFILE

and check if these files are present:

/usr/local/lib/libts-1.0.so.0.0.0
/usr/local/lib/libts-1.0.so.0
/etc/ts.conf
/dev/input/ts0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Oct 28 2007, 09:54 AM
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Oh, I see my typo (dammit!)

In ~/.profile, it should be "export TSLIB_TSDEVICE TSLIB_TSCONFFILE" instead of "export TELIB_TSDEVICE TSLIB_TSCONFFILE"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

15 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2014 - 08:20 AM