OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Upgrading Your C*k, List of possible upgrades
speculatrix
post Sep 30 2005, 12:42 PM
Post #16





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



Intel PXA270 documentation
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Oct 3 2005, 03:08 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



i think that heatsinking the device then coming in from the side with a focused hot air gun would be the way to go however the higher density ram chips are wider than the exsisting ones, plus for that mod you can afford to lose the chips so all is good

there are none that require the reuse of the chip afterwards, however the memory upgrade could affect the pxa270 as they are so close however i plan to add a heatsink anyway to the pxa to see if it allows for higher or same speeds at lower voltage which would improve battery life. at the moment i am not to happy with the way the zaurus disapates heat.

in an ideal world after i have done these mods i would redo the bottom part of the case in somthing like aluminum with 1 mm high fins. not required but ibelive it would be quite cool as well as help disapate heat more evenly (litium ion batteries hate heat)

thanks for the link. when my site is up and fully working i will put my full bookmarks up which have infomation on everything you need
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Oct 12 2005, 09:24 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



Bad news, the 2700g upgrade might not happen. it seems that intel is unwilling to suport small runs of chips meaning that even if i can get product samples i cant do a small run for others so they can get 3d acceleration and video out

on the plus side the ram upgrade looks good, just have to order the chips and find someone to resolder, and the original video out should still work so expect an update on that soon. in the mean time i will try and see if i can find someone else who buys that chip and order it throgh them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
binjinx
post Oct 13 2005, 02:48 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 24-October 03
Member No.: 726



dont want to go with ATI ? they have updated the embedded gpu line, plus was thinking might be bouns if chip is pin/pin compatible (swap out) ?? whoops my bad i see the 2300g is ati (was thinking it was a intel made chip) humm .....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Oct 14 2005, 02:05 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



the 2700g is an intel chip, and unless ati have radically overhauled thier embbeded chips then i would not expect much as the intel chips are generations ahead. the other option is nvidia as they updated thier chips but i have yet to look int them

the reasong i went intel is because very little would need to be done to get it working and they have released documents to allow you to write a driver, ATI on the other hand dosent like to release details about thier chips (look at thier desktop card range)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Nov 11 2005, 08:49 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



Found a way to get 2700g chips, ask someone who uses the chips in comerical designs if we can buy a small surpluss of parts off them, its our best chance at getting parts
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
urielka
post Nov 13 2005, 12:42 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 178
Joined: 13-September 05
Member No.: 8,099



but how we connect the 2700G to the Pxa270 i mean there is some place in the pcb for that?
i am intersted to buy a 2700G chip myself if you get some:)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Nov 15 2005, 03:08 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



This is where the fun begins (grins), acording to the 2700G chipset datasheet manula it uses the SRAM and VLIO interface of the chip, looking at the PXA chipset manual and you see that most of the required lines are in fact common with the CF slots and the RAM

so if you do the ram upgrade it would be a good idea to do this at the same time. at the moment there are a couple of lines that need to be identified. but once they are found it should be easy to do. i have a list somwhere of the lines that need to found but it wont take long

basically all we have to find are the chip select lines and hope that they connected one to the test pads for "debuging" so they could run a utility program before flashing the chip.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Reaper
post Nov 16 2005, 11:00 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 13-December 03
Member No.: 1,174



I have three simple questions about 2700G upgrade.

1) Will the CF interface bandwidth be enough for all the 2700G possible activities?

2) Will we have compatibility problems with CF solution (e.g. some game runs perfectly on Axim X50V w/Linux but fails on Z with 2700G CF card)?

3) What will be the price of such piece of art? Many of us including meself smile.gif can afford a reasonable sum of money for it, say, $100-$150 but not much more. So you'll have to place an order big enough to make all this proprietary PCB design and so on built down to such values.

BTW, when engineering PCB consider placing VGA/RF-out there as well - it would be truly great. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Nov 17 2005, 02:17 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



VGA out is another hack but it is easier to do throgh the 2700g card than the LCD bus, if the 2700g dosent work out there is still hope for VGA out, or do the Blackdog aproch and vnc into your pda

The CF card has nothing to do with it really, its intended to be an internal mod as the CF bus is only 16 bit and we will need 32, if you read some of my other technical posts you find that the SDRAM and the CF cards are on the same bus but operate at diffrent speeds and protcals yet dont interfere so CF wont limit us, cant be sure of compatability, as far as i know there isnt a working driver for the axim x50v (im on the mailing list, they have been discussing it for a couple of days now) they do however have the frambuffer working just not accelerated opengl ES stuff which most linux games arent written for (open GL is floating point where open gl ES is all integer)

if the 2700g cant be done i am willing to egineer a fpga and DAC into a card to implement video out and limited 2d hardware acceleration (if you want 3d then you can write some hardware for the fpga to do it) (and no, WRITE SOME HARDWARE was not a typo) the only problem is that it would not be fast enogh for video as reading and writing kills the bandwidth for ram, however i might have a hack for that as well smile.gif (intel datasheets are fun), hell if you had a fpga CF card you could even write a AES/DES crypto acceleration module or IDE hard drive interface, or if you are crazy (which is more fun trust me) you could write a SATA interface, gigabyte did it for thier pci RAMDISK.

cost would not be more than $150US however more than $100 would be pushing it for me, i think more than that is a bit exspensive. there is a minimum of 5 PCB's per run and i could fit a couple per bouard (about 4 per 100cm2 and would do it throgh these guys http://www.ezpcb.com/index1.php (and get them to do surface mount soldering) would like to do a 4 layer desing but 2 might be fine its 249 for 4 layers and i get 5 boards or 50 for 2 layers with 5 boards, with 3 to 4 designs per board so up to 20 cards for $249/$50

works out to be farily cheap, i have a whole lot of other stuff i need to get made throgh them as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Reaper
post Nov 17 2005, 05:31 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 13-December 03
Member No.: 1,174



Yes, that's very promising link. So we're looking forward to 2700G&VGA-out upgrade. wink.gif

BTW, did you check the possibility to add new Bluetooth 1.2 & 2.0 chips into Z case? If yes, please post information about that since most people around here just want to solder in BT chip and use serial BT profile for mobile phones. They aren't interested very much in HID and especially new audio profiles.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 17 2005, 10:19 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



too bad. wireless audio via bluetooth (a2dp) is so cool. It's my #1 motivation in bluetooth hacking on my 6000 at the moment
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
champagnierle
post Nov 17 2005, 11:39 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 15-September 05
From: Bad Cannstatt, Germany
Member No.: 8,115



QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Sep 28 2005, 01:18 PM)
kicking myself about this but here is the link ( http://pc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/2004/1115/pda38.htm ) sorry about that
*

Hi,

I'm pretty new to my dog(akita) so I won't upgrade that fast.... I just wanted to ad something to the thread:The mod in the english translation

Best regards from good old germany

Marc
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Nov 17 2005, 11:43 PM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



I really dont like google translation as it never seems to do a whole page, it always stops at the half way point, oh well, the link should be http//translate.google.com/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2Fpc.watch.impress.co.jp%2Fdocs%2F2004%2F1115%2Fpda38.htm&langpair=ja%7Cen&hl=de&newwindow=1&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&prev=%2Flanguage_tools, there was an extra http://

im in it for the a2dp, already have the headphones (dont buy the logitech ones if you have a normal sized head as the headphones split in two after 2 weeks very heavy usage or 1 month regular), at the moment i would just solder to the back of the usb port and lose client mode. if you need to connect get a usb comp to comp or a 10/100 network card. main problem is finding room in the case, once again i recomend the DBT-120 bluetooth adaptor from dlink due to its size.

bluetooth is a bit of a no brainer, for the 2.0 speeds ou really need somthing faster than the usb host port or serial port on the zaurus as these top out at 1 mbit (ok usb does a bit more)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
0xDEADBEEF
post Dec 13 2005, 02:09 PM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 4-December 05
Member No.: 8,660



Guys.
For BGA soldering/desoldering you need a device called BGA soldering station. They are like $30K new but can be bought used for much cheaper on eBay.
A buddy of mine bought one for himself recently for around $1000. He plans to build his own supercomputer rolleyes.gif .
Anyway, desoldering and soldering on this device is as simple as placing the board in the device, programming the time and temperature.
For desoldering the device blows hot air on the chip, then a suction cup lowers and picks up the chip. Soldering is the same, just in reverse. It is all automatic. The tricky thing is for different size chips different size heads and air skirts are required. And since he just bought this device I am not going to trust him with soldering on my Zaurus ;-)
Anyway, according to him BGA soldering/desoldering is easy when you have proper equipment. BGA chip reuse and reballing is supposed to be easy and boring as well (when you have to reball many chips).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 02:46 AM