OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A Better Browser/config Or Faster Wifi?, Opera/qte vs pdaXQTrom Firefox
ephesians521
post Feb 17 2007, 10:09 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 14-January 07
Member No.: 13,955



I have a work related website I'd really like to access with my z. For starters I will say this site can take minutes on a regular laptop at g speeds. I have a CF-b card. Opera 7 does not appear to fully load the pages properly(drop down menus aren't functional on the page). Firefox does, but it takes an hour to get anything done. I've requested that the company send me the list of services the browser must support for full operation. Has anyone thought of updating Opera to version 8 or 9? I'm not sure if these versions have all the features I need yet, but 7 is not hitting the mark. I'm considering moving to an X based rom from Cacko. But firefox seems to be slow no matter where it is. My other delimma is I need video playback(xvid/mp3) - and cacko does that so well (no overclocking ).

Any advice how to configure this beast for the features I need would be greatly appreciated. I hope to have more details in a few days.

Rick
C3200 - Planex GW-CF11X - 4GB Transcend SD - 2 GB A-data micro-sd w/adapter - 1GB Kingston SD - 1GB generic SD - 2 GB a-data CF - 1 GB generic CF
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 17 2007, 12:28 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



there's two problems here, one is the speed of the Z and the memory required to run opera, and the other being the lack of availability of opera 9 port on zaurus. in theory if the right deals were signed, we could see "opera for devices" on cacko or OZ, but I don't know if enough money could be raised to buy the license. I'm kind of hoping we could see a port of the Mylo version.

the alternative would be firefox on pdaXrom I suppose
[edit - posted too soon] and simply try overclocking and put up with it!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Feb 17 2007, 02:20 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



The Mylo version is crippled. You can't, for example, upload files to a website, so no attachments in webmail. No java and no flash. BTW, speculatrix, did you get any luck with your request for a dump of the mylo?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 18 2007, 03:27 PM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(jfv @ Feb 17 2007, 11:20 PM)
The Mylo version is crippled. You can't, for example, upload files to a website, so no attachments in webmail. No java and no flash. BTW, speculatrix,  did you get any luck with your request for a dump of the mylo?
*


I did wink.gif
There's no binary called skype, but there's a related one which seems to be a back-end server, but I can't find a front-end gui app. I also tried the opera browser but it seems to be using qtopia2 libraries and I have been painstakingly copying them over to my C3100 (I want it to be reversible and not break my cacko install!), but I am vaguely hopefull for success... as with all Z projects, not enough hours in the day!

I cannot share the file dump as I promised not to, but maybe someone else will oblige off myloforums.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ephesians521
post Feb 18 2007, 04:34 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 14-January 07
Member No.: 13,955



Well .. at this point, if I knew I could run a QT based web browser on Cacko.. and also access this website efficiently - I wouldn't mind paying for a commercial browser. But with an embedded device I'm a little leary of meeting those requirements - when performance concerns of the hardware appear to be somewhere between the physical limits and excellent programming.

Has anyone thought of creating a Gtk->Qt/E translation library for Mozilla on Qtopia? Or would that already make a bohemith bigger? Also what are the capabilities of Konqueror these days... I thought I saw something about a Qt/E port somewhere. Anyone know anything about this.

Rick
C3200 (cacko) - Planex GW-CF11X - 4GB Transcend SD - 2 GB A-data micro-sd w/adapter - 1GB Kingston SD - 1GB generic SD - 2 GB a-data CF - 1 GB generic CF
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Feb 18 2007, 04:40 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



Is the skype related binary called skyhost? It was the only thing that I saw in the filesystem that looked relevant. What happens if you try to run it on the Zaurus?

Can you have a look through the init scripts to see if there is some keypress that would stop qtopia and throw the mylo to a shell? If you see anything of that nature, I'll be happy to experiment.

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 19 2007, 02:25 AM
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(jfv @ Feb 19 2007, 01:40 AM)
Is the skype related binary called skyhost? It was the only thing that I saw in the filesystem that looked relevant. What happens if you try to run it on the Zaurus?

Can you have a look through the init scripts to see if there is some keypress that would stop qtopia and throw the mylo to a shell? If you see anything of that nature, I'll be happy to experiment.

thanks
*


ah, that's right. yes, skyhost runs, but doesn't appear to do anything (I didn't have my Z to hand when I replied. memo to self: hold off replying when Z isn't in hand).

I'll take a look in the startup scripts and see if I find anything interesting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spartan
post Feb 25 2007, 09:32 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 17-November 04
Member No.: 5,501



QUOTE(ephesians521 @ Feb 19 2007, 12:34 AM)
Well .. at this point, if I knew I could run a QT based web browser on Cacko.. and also access this website efficiently - I wouldn't mind paying for a commercial browser.  But with an embedded device I'm a little leary of meeting those requirements - when performance concerns of the hardware appear to be somewhere between the physical limits and excellent programming.


There is Piscel browser. It's a decently fast browser delivered on an SD card, but it's hard to find now. There is a review on this site.

Last I remembered, Piscel on a 512 MB SD Card costs somewhere around $125.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 25 2007, 11:14 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I have Picsel browser, but I paid $179.00 plus shipping.
That was the going price, last time it was available.
If you find it used somewhere, just to let you know, it doesn't have javascript.
I have talked to other persons with various versions of Picsel and one "expert" said javascript is not availabel for Picsel browser and won't be implemented.
BTW, Picsel Browser for Zaurus has been discontinued since last October 2006.
The only version of Picsel available now is called Picsel Proviewer.
It is only available for Palm and Windows type PDAs
It doesn't have the web browser anymore.
A couple reviews on Picsel Browser for Zaurus are here, in case you're interested.
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=12436
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18164
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Feb 28 2007, 05:46 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ephesians521 @ Feb 19 2007, 10:34 AM)
Well .. at this point, if I knew I could run a QT based web browser on Cacko.. and also access this website efficiently - I wouldn't mind paying for a commercial browser.  But with an embedded device I'm a little leary of meeting those requirements - when performance concerns of the hardware appear to be somewhere between the physical limits and excellent programming.

Has anyone thought of creating a Gtk->Qt/E translation library for Mozilla on Qtopia?  Or would that already make a bohemith bigger?  Also what are the capabilities of Konqueror these days... I thought I saw something about a Qt/E port somewhere.  Anyone know anything about this.

Rick
C3200 (cacko) - Planex GW-CF11X - 4GB Transcend SD - 2 GB A-data micro-sd w/adapter - 1GB Kingston SD - 1GB generic SD - 2 GB a-data CF - 1 GB generic CF
*


that's called X/Qt and you can run firefox 1.5 albeit quite slowly...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 08:38 PM