OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Simpad As Remote X-display Or Thinclient
tduthel
post Mar 14 2007, 12:50 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 5-September 05
Member No.: 8,037



Hi all,
I am running a media center PC based on the CT VDR distribution. Beside the attached TV set there is no monitor connected, what makes it difficult to use other software than that belonging to the VDR distribution. Therefore it would be a nice feature if you were able to export the X-Screen of the media center to the Simpad (explicite not for watching videos!).
I allready succeeded exporting single X applications like Amarok to the GPE screen. What I didn't manage is to export XFCE to the Simpad without running GPE in the "background".
However the drawback of X-forwading is that the connection gets lost as soon as the simpad suspends.
Here are my questions:
1.) Does anyone of you know a methode to keep the X-forwarding alive respective a methode to reactive it when the Simpad returns from the suspend mode?
2.) How do I kill GPE to get just the exported XFCE session?
3.) I wonder wether there is a posibility to use a Simpad as a Linux based thinclient?


Thanks and best regards

Thomas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tduthel
post Apr 14 2007, 11:46 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 5-September 05
Member No.: 8,037



There seems to be some interest in this topic - so here is what I figured out inbetween:

Nomachine offers an NX client for Opie based devices. From my point of view NX woul be a suitable solution. However when I try to install one of the IPKs from NX client I receive an error meassage saying
CODE
ERROR: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for nxembedded-zaurus: opie-base (0.9.1)
I also tried to use the option
CODE
-force-depends
with the same result. Any ideas on that?

Is anyone aware of other NX-clients for Opie or GPE?

Best regards

Thomas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fredyd
post May 29 2007, 12:01 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 4-April 05
Member No.: 6,787



Did you try running a VNC server with a 800x600 resolution (or less) on the PC, and a VNC client on the SIMpad?
Even if the client dies, the VNC server stays on with all its applications running.

You can find a VNC client (untested) for Familiar 0.8.4 at:

http://devernay.free.fr/hacks/opensimpad/v....7.1-r0_arm.ipk

fred
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tduthel
post Jun 8 2007, 12:47 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 5-September 05
Member No.: 8,037



HI Fred,
thanks for your reply. Is the vnc client running an acceptable speed?

Greetings

Thomas



QUOTE(fredyd @ May 29 2007, 10:01 AM)
Did you try running a VNC server with a 800x600 resolution (or less) on the PC, and a VNC client on the SIMpad?
Even if the client dies, the VNC server stays on with all its applications running.

You can find a VNC client (untested) for Familiar 0.8.4 at:

http://devernay.free.fr/hacks/opensimpad/v....7.1-r0_arm.ipk

fred
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2014 - 09:15 AM