OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> QCOP Command to Refresh Launcher Desktop
joebeaudoin
post Feb 15 2004, 11:35 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 8-February 04
From: U.S.A.
Member No.: 1,762



I'm presently developing what should be a simple bash script that creates random wallpapers for the QTopia desktop. Instead of issuing commands to restart the desktop via qcop (or killing and starting the launcher via command line), I would like to simply refresh the background so that it reflects the newest wallpaper...

Could anyone here help me in determining the proper qcop commands (or point me in the direction of fully documented signals for the QTopia desktop) to achieve this desired effect?

Thank you! :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doseas
post Feb 16 2004, 02:38 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 7-July 03
From: Thousand Oaks, CA
Member No.: 9



I have scrawled in some notes:

Restart:
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/qcop QPE/System "restart()"

Refresh:
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/qcop QPE/System "linkChanged(QString)"

I know that the refresh command will re-read the .desktop files & display changes to tabs; not sure about wallpaper changes.

I'll have to dig deeper to find the original source for the above info.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doseas
post Feb 16 2004, 04:23 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 7-July 03
From: Thousand Oaks, CA
Member No.: 9



QUOTE
I'll have to dig deeper to find the original source for the above info.


OK, found it...

The current Qtopia doc is here:
http://doc.trolltech.com/qtopia1.7/html/qcop.html

An archive of the 1.5 doc can be found here:
http://www.malor.net/Qt/qtopia-free-1.5.0/...topia/qcop.html

I wonder if /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/qcop QPE/System "applyStyle()" will update the wallpaper??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
joebeaudoin
post Feb 17 2004, 04:28 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 8-February 04
From: U.S.A.
Member No.: 1,762



QUOTE
I wonder if /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/qcop QPE/System "applyStyle()" will update the wallpaper??


I'm wondering that too... I'll try it out.

However, does it mean that the actual config has to change before it executes the applyStyle()?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doseas
post Feb 17 2004, 01:15 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 7-July 03
From: Thousand Oaks, CA
Member No.: 9



QUOTE
However, does it mean that the actual config has to change before it executes the applyStyle()?


I believe it does: change the config, then execute applyStyle() in order for Qtopia to recognize it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
joebeaudoin
post Feb 17 2004, 06:03 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 8-February 04
From: U.S.A.
Member No.: 1,762



I tried changing the Launcher.conf file via a file editor, saved it, then typed the following in the Qterminal:

CODE
qcop QPE/System "applyStyle()"


I've also tried:

CODE
qcop QPE/Application/launcher "applyStyle()"

qcop QPE/TaskBar "applyStyle()"

qcop QPE/Launcher "applyStyle()" -- is the QPE/Launcher even valid?!?

qcop QPE/Desktop "applyStyle()" -- again, is this valid?


... and variants thereof with no effect.

Are there any other qcop commands out there that are undocumented? Or that someone might have stumbled across?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Aug 11 2005, 11:29 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



anyone figured this one out yet?

I have found appForeground("launcher") occurs when a wallpaper change is made via "tap+hold" and select "set as..."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 07:35 AM