OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sync Issues Sl-c3k & Win Xp Sp2, WinXP not picking up SL-C3k
KwaiFeh
post Apr 25 2005, 05:45 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 9-January 04
From: Lima, Peru
Member No.: 1,399



Hello everyone,
I read on the forums that to sync a SL-C3k with a pc

1) install japanese drivers,
2) install English version of PCSoft. make a copy of the folder
3) once that´s installed you can test the connection by telnetting to the Zaurus.
4) Uninstall english version.
5) Install the japanese version of pcsoft, then you rewrite with a copy of the installed folder of the english version.

I´m basically stuck at step 1. The installation went smoothly. The OS picked up the hardware, asked for the drivers, and installed. It all seemed ok, the problem came when I reboot my machine and replugged in my zaurus.

When I do that on my XP pc, the icon to remove/unplug USB hardware and so does the icon for the new network connection comes up, but it has a little exclamation sign next to it, when i click on it: (this is the rough english translation) "no IP could be assigned to the PC, that the connection is not good and there might not be any internet on the network."

The network icon for the Zaurus doesn´t have the big red X you get when the computer is unplugged from the network, it´s just a yellow exclamation mark. So I guess there´s maybe a partial connection (if such a thing ever exists).

I can´t telnet nor even ping my zaurus (yes i checked I was in PC Link setting)

When I tried to uninstall the driver for the Zaurus, while the zaurus is plugged in, I get an error that it can´t be uninstalled. something that the zaurus might be needed to boot the pc so it doesn´t allow me to uninstall it. However it disappears from the hardware list after the message. If I unplug the zaurus, then the icon for the network adapter for the zaurus isn´t there, so i can´t remove it.

I tried to install the software on a Win ME computer, and the computer can telnet to the zaurus, but I can´t install the japanese software, apparently the OS does not recognize the other folders required to install when the OS is in spanish and the CD is in japanese. So I get stuck on step 5...

Is there a way to install the sync for the Zaurus in either machine?

Thank you.

-Alberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Apr 25 2005, 08:14 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



If there's a problem, then try assigning an IP. Also, try getting rid of SP2 - it breaks stuff! To delete the network connection while it's unplugged, afaik in device manager you can view hidden devices.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Apr 25 2005, 11:55 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



KwaiFeh,

it's neccessary to have the Zaurus set to "TCP/IP advanced".
Have you followed the steps in our Sync-Document ?
Get it here : SL-C3000 Sync (RTF)

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fastscirocco
post Apr 25 2005, 12:33 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 17-January 05
Member No.: 6,254



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Apr 25 2005, 02:55 PM)
KwaiFeh,

it's neccessary to have the Zaurus set to "TCP/IP advanced".
Have you followed the steps in our Sync-Document ?
Get it here : SL-C3000 Sync (RTF)

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*


I have all of the Windows XP updates and just completed my software install following TRIsoft's instructions.

For some reason (probably a mist ake I made) it did not work the first time. Followed the instructions again and it worked flawlessly the second time!


Download and print out the instructions, that should solve your problem!

Chris
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KwaiFeh
post Apr 25 2005, 12:36 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 9-January 04
From: Lima, Peru
Member No.: 1,399



I followed the instructions from trisoft the first time around. i'll try again when i get home tonight.

but i think my problem is that the pc won´t ping or telnet my zaurus.

Alberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2014 - 05:11 AM