OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How Do I Add Feeds?, starting on GPE on 3100
adf
post Jul 12 2006, 09:39 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



I've flashed to OZ/GPE again. This time I'll stay longer and get the hang of it better.

So far it is pretty good. runs great, etc. Seem to have most of what I want and makes the other stuff seem possible.

The GPE gui packagemanager is pretty, but still has some horrible back-end issues.

Totem crashes. What is used for Audio/Video gui? (mplayer works fine, but no gui--hard to operate in the car)

Sudo is giving me a must be setuid root error, despite setting up my user in visudo--this is a permissions thing for sudo itself? Where is that handled? group permissions?

Mi wifi showed up on eth0-- I don't really care what it calls itself--easier use of multple profiles per network device would be nice, but working without me having to mess with it is nice too.

Anyway, to get to the point. Some packages have perl or python as dependencies. The required stuff is in th perl and python feeds.

My feed listing seems to be a series of package lists in /var/lib/ipk. Nice and tidy, a good approach, I think.

However, because it is not just adding urls to ipkg.conf, and because the gui package manager doesn't seem to wand to do anyhting after I enter the url from the mirror at ewi, I seem to be kinda stuck. I'm ssure this is simple once ya know what's going on---anyone care to fill me in?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Jul 12 2006, 10:25 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(adf @ Jul 13 2006, 05:39 AM)
Sudo is giving me a must be setuid root error, despite setting up my user in visudo--this is a permissions thing for sudo itself? Where is that handled? group permissions?


Try 'su -' and file a bug for the sudo behaviour

QUOTE(adf @ Jul 13 2006, 05:39 AM)
Mi wifi showed up on eth0-- I don't really care what it calls itself--easier use of multple profiles per network device would be nice, but working without me having to mess with it is nice too.


Another victim of orinoco drivers? Paste 'cardctl ident' here and hrw can see if your card needs orinoco or hostap drivers


QUOTE(adf @ Jul 13 2006, 05:39 AM)
My feed listing seems to be a series of package lists in /var/lib/ipk.  Nice and tidy, a good approach, I think.

However, because it is not just adding urls to ipkg.conf,
*



Right, all feeds are in /etc/ipkg/<name>.conf. Add your feed ('echo "src/gz <name> <uri>" > /etc/ipkg/<name>.conf', and file a bug for the packagemanager.

If it doesn't work for your -> file a bug, the developers can then argue if it's intended or not. Forums are not bugtrackers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jul 12 2006, 11:12 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(adf @ Jul 13 2006, 03:39 PM)
I've flashed to OZ/GPE again. This time I'll stay longer and get the hang of it better.

So far it is pretty good. runs great, etc. Seem to have most of what I want and makes the other stuff seem possible.

The GPE gui packagemanager is pretty, but still has some horrible back-end issues.

Totem crashes.  What is used for Audio/Video gui? (mplayer works fine, but no gui--hard to operate in the car)

Sudo is giving me a must be setuid root error, despite setting up my user in visudo--this is a permissions thing for sudo itself? Where is that handled? group permissions?

Mi wifi showed up on eth0-- I don't really care what it calls itself--easier use of multple profiles per network device would be nice, but working without me having to mess with it is nice too.

Anyway, to get to the point. Some packages have perl or python as dependencies.  The required stuff is in th perl and python feeds.

My feed listing seems to be a series of package lists in /var/lib/ipk.  Nice and tidy, a good approach, I think.

However, because it is not just adding urls to ipkg.conf, and because the gui package manager doesn't seem to wand to do anyhting after I enter the url from the mirror at ewi, I seem to be kinda stuck.  I'm ssure this is simple once ya know what's going on---anyone care to fill me in?
*



chmod 1755 /usr/bin/sudo as root user should fix it, or chmod +s /usr/bin/sudo
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jul 12 2006, 11:31 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



don't have the Z on hand, but I think it SHould be using hostap drivers (ambicom rest of info is with Z.) certainly it used hostap with pdaxrom, and I think cacko (it's been a while)

The wireless actually connects and transfers data just fine, thought i'd mention the eth0 thing as something that might be a general issue

Changing permisions for sudo sound like the right idea.

echoing the tgz package lists seem like the way to go.

I'm not trying to post particular bugs re the gpe package manager. it rarely succeeds at any task assigned it, usually locks up and just dies. It has been this way for several releases. (same behavior on 2 Zs probably 3 different OZ releases). Most of the gpe stuff is getting to be really nice. I'm surprised the gpe folks haven't taken the package manager apart and done it over, frankly. But posting a bug report everytime the package manager froze trying to handle a dependency (which is every time the package manager tries to handle dependencies as far as I can see) would sort of be demoing the life of sisysphus, wouldn't it?

In the meantime, ipkg works, the dependencies are handled well, and the gui packagemanager serves as a nice menu of what's available to install via ipk. all in all gpe is pretty good.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Jul 12 2006, 11:47 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(adf @ Jul 13 2006, 07:31 AM)
don't have the Z on hand, but I think it SHould be using hostap drivers (ambicom rest of info is with Z.) certainly it used hostap with pdaxrom, and I think cacko (it's been a while)

The wireless actually connects and transfers data just fine, thought i'd mention the eth0 thing as something that might be a general issue
*


Yes, you're another victim of the orinoco screwup. The situation is that both orinoco and hostap claim the wifi card, while orinoco is vastly inferior to hostap. I always do 'ipkg remove kernel-module-orinoco -recursive' to get back my precious hostap. Paste 'cardctl ident' and alert hrw smile.gif


PS: see the thread in http://www.mail-archive.com/netdev@vger.ke...g/msg12271.html for some background info
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jul 12 2006, 11:53 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



I'll send it tomorow --getting late here. thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jul 13 2006, 10:41 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



cardctl ident on my ambicom wifi card:

Socket 1:
product info "Ambicom". "WL1100C 802.11 CF-Card, "2.2"
manfid: 0xd601, 0x0002
function: 6 (network)


edit: chmod +s fixed sudo
I have perl and python repositories working
my card is using hostap


now to get things installed and configured. (and eventually to setup OE on my workstation)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Jul 13 2006, 11:44 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(adf @ Jul 13 2006, 06:41 PM)
cardctl ident on my ambicom wifi card:

Socket 1:
    product info "Ambicom". "WL1100C 802.11 CF-Card, "2.2"
    manfid: 0xd601, 0x0002
    function: 6 (network)


edit:  chmod +s fixed sudo
        I have perl and python repositories working
        my card is using hostap
*


Thanks, I mailed the info to hrw, he can have a look at it when gets back from his holiday. btw, is 'sudo' a busybox applet? If so, chmod +s is a gaping security hole sad.gif We use tinylogin to avoid having a setuid root busybox.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jul 13 2006, 03:55 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



" btw, is 'sudo' a busybox applet? If so, chmod +s is a gaping security hole sad.gif We use tinylogin to avoid having a setuid root busybox."

Given that I hadn't installed bash at that point I guess sudo might be a busybox applet. It doesn't come with busybox, and requires separate installation from the feed, though. I hadn't actually looked, and by now have installed the bash package.
I had to be root to do chmod, if that helps allay security concerns....

While I was flipping back and forth between the package manager and command line (to what various packages were called and what interesting stuff was available) it ocurred to me that OZ might benefit from some bash script with a simple checkbox selection frontend (in dialog, or something) that works with the gui off.... kinda like the setup package manager in redhat. Ugly, true, but it would work well, and on both guis and probably bootstrap (make it the default for bootstrap). Given that ipkg install some-package-or-other-with-a-few-dependencies.ipk works perfectly from command and not really very often from the gpe gui it might make a good backup for the gpe package manager. It seems that it would be a real pain for me to write, but likley pretty simple for someone more famililar (no pun) with bash scripting. All it would need to do would be list and present a checkbox and send the result line by line back to ipkg install variable, right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
polito
post Jul 14 2006, 10:36 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 4-November 04
From: Phoenix, Arid-Zona
Member No.: 5,344



QUOTE(adf @ Jul 13 2006, 11:41 AM)
        I have perl and python repositories working
*

Did you test to see if 'ipkg search' works on your perl feed? I added the perl feed to my /etc/ipkg dir as /etc/ipkg/perl-feed.conf and was able to install perl with a simple 'ipkg install perl' BUT if I try and do a search with:
CODE
root@spitz:~# ipkg search 'perl*'
root@spitz:~#

All I get back is nothing. I can install other things if I know the ipkg name, but search isn't searching... I've already done 'ipkg update' and nothing. Searching works for packages in the regular feeds already set up in OZ 3.5.4.1 but not for the new perl feed I added.

Any ideas? blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jul 14 2006, 11:57 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(polito @ Jul 15 2006, 06:36 AM)
QUOTE(adf @ Jul 13 2006, 11:41 AM)
        I have perl and python repositories working
*

Did you test to see if 'ipkg search' works on your perl feed? I added the perl feed to my /etc/ipkg dir as /etc/ipkg/perl-feed.conf and was able to install perl with a simple 'ipkg install perl' BUT if I try and do a search with:
CODE
root@spitz:~# ipkg search 'perl*'
root@spitz:~#

All I get back is nothing. I can install other things if I know the ipkg name, but search isn't searching... I've already done 'ipkg update' and nothing. Searching works for packages in the regular feeds already set up in OZ 3.5.4.1 but not for the new perl feed I added.

Any ideas? blink.gif
*



I get the same results you did. I wanted perl initially for autoconf, sosearch wasn't a problem. hmmmmmm....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 12:07 PM