OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Video Player - I'd Really Like One That Worked, can't play any video on c860
Curious Aardvark
post May 25 2005, 03:08 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 29-January 05
From: england
Member No.: 6,345



Using sharp rom - that's not the discussion :-)
the built in video player won't play anything. I've used half a dozen wmv and asf encoders with nothing but a blank screen to show for it.

What I would really like is the video player I used to have on my 5500 as I've got converting to mpeg 1 down to a fine art.

And before anybody suggests it - yes I've tried kino 2 - occasionally it would play an mpeg video, albeit with dodgy speed and weird stuff on the side of the screen. essentially it was just not reliable enough or good enough even with basic mpeg1 files my 5500 had no problem with. Oh and it locked up every now and then as well.

has anyone isolated the movie player from the 5500 as an ipk - this is what I'd really like - assuming it will work on an 860. failing that anyone know of reliable video player that will run on my 860 (not kino2) Or failing that any way of actually getting a bloody wmv/asf to play on the built in video player.
Ive tried media encoder 7,8 & 9 plus several generic video convertors from the net. It just won't touch any of them - is there perhaps a lib file I should have that might be missing ?

It really is bloody annoying - and just about the only thing I can't do with my z !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
melee
post May 25 2005, 02:54 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 17-March 05
Member No.: 6,651



QUOTE(Curious Aardvark @ May 25 2005, 12:08 PM)
Using sharp rom - that's not the discussion :-)
the built in video player won't play anything. I've used half a dozen wmv and asf encoders with nothing but a blank screen to show for it.
*


I have a C860 with a Sharp ROM and I junked the built in player because I dont want to encode my movies as .wmv or .asf

I know you said you have tried kino2 but I installed kino2 (ver 0.4.2) and mplayer-w100(ver 1.0.0-1) and they work perfectly.

I stream from DVD through mencoder to compress down into .avi files which roughly work out as 80 to 90 MB per hour of film. I wont bore you with the details of the settings, but the film is perfectly watchable and the sound remains in synch.

What can I say? My ROM version is 1.10 JP. If yours is the same, those versions of mplayer and Kino should work for you too.

regards

Melee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Curious Aardvark
post May 26 2005, 02:55 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 29-January 05
From: england
Member No.: 6,345



Ah - so you have to install both mplayer and kino2 ? I understood that mplayer was somehow incorporated in the kino ipk.

This could be the problem :-)

And has anybody ever got the opie mediapleyer 2 to work on an 860 - I failed miserably to install it on my 550 and have so far not tried on the 860.

but I'll give the mplayer & kino2 combo a whirl.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Curious Aardvark
post May 26 2005, 03:11 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 29-January 05
From: england
Member No.: 6,345



Quick update:
just installed both mplayer and kino. result = No sound, video plays in small square and rest of screen is mush. Also the file viewer just mushes the screen when you try and pick a file to play - it's not handling the graphics card at all for mundane operations and what's with no sound ?

Nope what I need is either a different video player or some way of getting the built in player to do something.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shreks
post May 26 2005, 08:22 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 12-January 05
Member No.: 6,203



QUOTE(melee @ May 25 2005, 10:54 PM)
I have a C860 with a Sharp ROM and I junked the built in player because I dont want to encode my movies as .wmv or .asf

I know you said you have tried kino2 but I installed kino2 (ver 0.4.2) and mplayer-w100(ver 1.0.0-1) and they work perfectly.

I stream from DVD through mencoder to compress down into .avi files which roughly work out as 80 to 90 MB per hour of film.  I wont bore you with the details of the settings, but the film is perfectly watchable and the sound remains in synch.

What can I say?  My ROM version is 1.10 JP.  If yours is the same, those versions of mplayer and Kino should work for you too.

regards

Melee
*


Since I am not familiar with hundreds of parameters controlling mencoder, I would really like to know what command line you used to stream from DVD to AVI using mencoder? Thank you very much!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
melee
post May 26 2005, 10:48 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 17-March 05
Member No.: 6,651



QUOTE(shreks @ May 26 2005, 05:22 PM)
[Since I am not familiar with hundreds of parameters controlling mencoder, I would really like to know what command line you used to stream from DVD to AVI using mencoder? Thank you very much!
*


Hi

As requested

This is part of a larger multi option script where
$2 is DVD track and
$3 is output file name
You must have a device symlink of /dev/dvd which points to your dvd player

mencoder dvd://$2 -alang en -o $3.avi -ovc lavc -lavcopts \
vcodec=mpeg4:vhq:vqmin=2:vqmax=20:vbitrate=150:vpass=1:vqcomp=0.6 \
-vop scale=320:240,eq=6 -ofps 25 -sws 2 -oac mp3lame -lameopts preset=15:mode=3


This encodes a DVD in MPG4 video and MP3 stereo audio
I kept the audio to stereo 44,000 (the default), using mp3 compression through lame, that keeps it small and attemping -srate 24000 for mono to save space just introduced synch problems which worsened as the movie progressed.

You will need the codec libraries for liblame which isnt bundled in most distros, if in doubt get comfortable and read man mencoder for details!

These setting recorded Lord of the Rings Pt 1 (3 hrs 15 mins or thereabouts) in just over 260MB !

regards

Melee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post May 26 2005, 10:52 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



since dvd is 48khz... you can sometimes avoid sync issues re-encoding to 48 or 24 instead of 44
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
melee
post May 27 2005, 07:40 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 17-March 05
Member No.: 6,651



QUOTE(adf @ May 27 2005, 07:52 AM)
since dvd is 48khz... you can sometimes avoid sync issues re-encoding to 48 or 24 instead of 44
*


Apologies, that was a typo, meant 48,000.

I have read that leaving it on this setting ie full stereo, creates too big an overhead and leads to problems rendering the video.

This doesn't seem to be the case with the C860 (and presumably SL5600, SL3000 etc with same processor / memory)
The synching problem when cutting down to 24,000 could not be overcome easily, so I was very happy when I discovered that just leaving it 'as was' did not have any of the foretold problems.

QUOTE
Quick update:
just installed both mplayer and kino. result = No sound, video plays in small square and rest of screen is mush


Might be worth playing about a bit more, the screen does default to a small square until set to full screen and the sound can often only be heard properly with headphones

regards

Melee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Curious Aardvark
post May 27 2005, 11:02 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 29-January 05
From: england
Member No.: 6,345



I've played with it - believe me. The best I've ever got from full screen is little block in the corner with random crap around it. I've had sound from my 860 on mp3s and it was fine for what i want. It's not for watching films (I read books on it when I'm waiting for anything to finish) it's for little vdeo clips. dogs, funnies, crazy frog :-) etc
I can encode to any format. I have to admit considering the breadth of software out there for playing with networks I'm amazed that tere's so little for video
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post May 27 2005, 01:09 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



kino/mplayer was very good on my 6k.


maybe change versions of mplayer?

Other options might be pdaXrom w/ vlc

or OZ/gpe w/ gxine

I don't know how opie player is doing right now, and so can't suggest for or against it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post May 27 2005, 04:19 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



QUOTE(Curious Aardvark @ May 28 2005, 04:02 AM)
I've played with it - believe me. The best I've ever got from full screen is little block in the corner with random crap around it. I've had sound from my 860 on mp3s and it was fine for what i want. It's not for watching films (I read books on it when I'm waiting for anything to finish) it's for little vdeo clips. dogs, funnies, crazy frog :-) etc
I can encode to any format. I have to admit considering the breadth of software out there for playing with networks I'm amazed that tere's so little for video
*


I constantly used my C760 for watching videos and am currently doing the same with my new C1k.

On the way into work I watch South Park (episode length matches train journey time smile.gif) and while on the shinkansen to Tokyo (21/2 hour trip) watched the Last Samurai

All of the stuff I encode for the Z is in divx (generally resized to 320x240 for the C760), the only problem I've experienced is that the latest version of mplayer for the C1k won't resize my South Park avi's to full screen, but I can live with that. The South Park avi are 384x512 at 15 FPS with the audio encoded with ogg at 22050 khz.

I can't get the Z to take screen shots while Kino2 is running, but when I get home I'll try and take a picture of my C1k playing video an post here

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 27 2005, 04:47 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Stubear @ May 28 2005, 10:19 AM)
QUOTE(Curious Aardvark @ May 28 2005, 04:02 AM)
I've played with it - believe me. The best I've ever got from full screen is little block in the corner with random crap around it. I've had sound from my 860 on mp3s and it was fine for what i want. It's not for watching films (I read books on it when I'm waiting for anything to finish) it's for little vdeo clips. dogs, funnies, crazy frog :-) etc
I can encode to any format. I have to admit considering the breadth of software out there for playing with networks I'm amazed that tere's so little for video
*


I constantly used my C760 for watching videos and am currently doing the same with my new C1k.

On the way into work I watch South Park (episode length matches train journey time smile.gif) and while on the shinkansen to Tokyo (21/2 hour trip) watched the Last Samurai

All of the stuff I encode for the Z is in divx (generally resized to 320x240 for the C760), the only problem I've experienced is that the latest version of mplayer for the C1k won't resize my South Park avi's to full screen, but I can live with that. The South Park avi are 384x512 at 15 FPS with the audio encoded with ogg at 22050 khz.

I can't get the Z to take screen shots while Kino2 is running, but when I get home I'll try and take a picture of my C1k playing video an post here

Stu
*




Stu,

I managed to get mplayer and kino2 to play fullscreen on my C3000. The same settings might work for your C1000. Have a look at http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/custom.html#mplayer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Curious Aardvark
post May 28 2005, 03:23 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 29-January 05
From: england
Member No.: 6,345



Good show folks.
Have now got a copy of tkcvideo which - while not quite as good as as the player on my 5500 used to be at least plays all video types. Albeit always in fullscreen and the program closes when the video finishes. But I do have sound on mpgs ! And weirdly it will play wmvs (even though it says it can't) but without sound. And it's not a good idea to press anything while the video is playing - but at least I can now play videos with sound and no weird crap around the screen (unless you press something) :-)

Now in order to render it completely useful I need to know how to bind a particular program to a particular media type. That way I can use file manager to find and launch videos as it will default back to that when the video finishes. At the moment all I get is the tkcvideo icon on mpgs and when clicked on it just says. No application defined for this document type is video/mpeg

And what's the key combination for a screen grab ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post May 28 2005, 04:28 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



QUOTE(Curious Aardvark @ May 28 2005, 08:23 PM)
And what's the key combination for a screen grab ?
*


Fn+Shift+C on the Cxx0 and Cxk models (don't know about the Sl-5x00 models but probably the same)

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post May 28 2005, 04:58 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 28 2005, 09:47 AM)
Stu,

I managed to get mplayer and kino2 to play fullscreen on my C3000. The same settings might work for your C1000. Have a look at http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/custom.html#mplayer
*


Meanie,

Thanks for the link.

Depending on what order you install the ipk you have on your page you will be overwriting the mplayer ipk with the mplayer binary in kino2_bvdd.

I'm currently using mplayer-bvdd-iwmmxt_1.1.4-1_arm.ipk from atty (seems to give better results than just the bvdd version but that could be my imagination wink.gif)

The -vm -fs works with some movies (usually those scaled to 320x240) but doesn't with the South Park ones, probably something about the odd screen size.

Stu

P.S.

Your site is full of usefull info, thanks

Also to save you manually creating swap files you might want to have a look at this applet - http://ochan4.blog.ocn.ne.jp/blog/2005/04/...oryap_935b.html (note: site in Japanese)

I'm in the midst of cross-compiling new versions of gnupg(1.4.0), openssh(4.0p1), libssl(0.9.7e) and openssl(0.9.7e) with gcc-2.95.3 for the Sharp Roms. When I get them done I'll post them on ELSI, let me know if your interested
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 05:02 AM