OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Vanishing App?, oh where, oh where has my Qt app gone?
gregarican
post Oct 3 2005, 10:53 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 4-August 05
Member No.: 7,783



I have a QPEApplication object created as a Ruby script. The object and its various children's objects, methods, etc. work fine. There is a suspect area. I have a series of push buttons that launch various documents various using Hancom Word. The code that I have to accomplish the actual launching is similar to:
CODE
system("qcop QPE/Application/HancomMobileWord 'setDocument(QString)' '/path/to/myDocument.doc'")

The Ruby system() method that wraps the qcop call simply launches a sub-shell that loads up Hancom Word set to a particular document. The problem is when I close Hancom Word the QPEApplication object disappears. When I check the active processes I see that my Ruby script is running but I can't seem to recover the GUI app I created. If I try to issue something like:
CODE
qcop QPE/Application/myGUIApp 'setDocument()'

there is a brand new instance of the GUI app I have. The original one still doesn't appear. Or if I try:
CODE
qcop QPE/Application/myGUIApp 'raise()'

nothing happens.

Since my Ruby script doesn't have anything displayed on the task bar I can't figure out a way to bring it back after exiting Hancom Word. Any suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregarican
post Oct 4 2005, 05:44 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 4-August 05
Member No.: 7,783



As a follow up I read about similar behavior when a script creates a new QPEApplication instance. Apparently since the script doesn't have a taskbar instance associated with it, when another Qtopia app is launched and exits the scripted QPEApplication object just disappears into the background. See http://lists.trolltech.com/qt-embedded-int...ead00043-0.html for details.

So if I launch my Ruby script from a Terminal session it will stay visible after Hancom Word exits. But the load that it adds having a Terminal session up is considerable. Is there an easy way to just create a taskbar instance for my Ruby script?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gregarican
post Oct 4 2005, 06:35 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 4-August 05
Member No.: 7,783



Finally figured it out. Checking another forum on this site I ran across a similar Python scripting issue (http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=5626&hl=). Making the Exec= value in the .desktop exactly match the QPEApplication.new() parameter in my Ruby script caused there to be a corresponding taskbar icon instance for my application. Now it doesn't disappear when Hancom Word exits. This seemed like a needle in a haystack, so I am going to post these results to a Ruby board or two just in case some Qtopia developer using Ruby runs into similar issues....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 10th July 2014 - 06:19 PM