OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bugs In 1.0rc4, Guylhem ROM not dead: list bugs here
loc4me
post Apr 2 2006, 01:22 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



I have corresponded with Guylhem on progess of this ROM. He has agreed to attempt to fix the bugs in 1.0RC4. List your bugs here in the format below per Guylhem's instructions. I will edit this post to keep an edited list of bugs so they can be easilly accessed.

Format (he needs):
- a list of the bugs
- a way to reproduce themg
- their importance (high, med, low)

Thanks,
-Mark

NOTE: I personally i have not confirmed all bugs listed below. If someone sees a bug i have listed that is not correct please inform me by way of this thread or PM. Thanks.


==========================================
List of Bugs for 1.0RC4:

1. Wifi (High)
- Unable to connect using the "any" ssid name. Name must be specified in order to connect to the access point. Also unable to get dhcp to function. Must hardcode IP in the script. Would like to have the Network setup GUI and connection manager working.
- Include working WEP scrips. Supposedly working fix is located here.

2. CF Bluetooth drivers (high)
- See post here. The blue tooth modules seem to be missing. Include newest version of Bluez.

3. Recursive symlink to Documents folder (high)
- Path to /home/zaurus/Documents is circular symlink to itself.
- easily fixed. Just deletet the folder and recreate a new one.

4. Fonts fixed (medium)
- Using "think fonts" causes font corruption. Also Right and left hand fonts need to be included.

5. SD fix (high)
- Unable to install programs to SD card and SD cards not being automounted.

6. Battery Applet (medium)
- Battery applet granular display of % batter left disapears after reboots. Second battery in Sled is not registered when connected.
- Gant theme was installed when granular bug occured. Not sure if the theme is the culprit or not?

7. IPKG install (high)
- Many report lockups using the GUI to install ipkg. Have to reset and reboot.

8. PC sync (meduim)
- Unable to sync with qtopia desktop or link to PC with samba

9. Tab editor (low)
- unable to delete icons using the built in tab editor. Able to add new ones and modify existing ones though.

10. Update program versions (low)
- Update Zeditor version
- Update and add IRK keyboard drivers

11. Qtopia reboot on KO/PI alarm (low)
- Qtopia reboots after alarm notification in KO/PI

12. 2b driver (med)
- I belive that Cresho has extracted the 2gb driver out of his C3200. Others have confirmed it works on other C3xxx/C1xxx.

13. Support for USB ethernet (low)
- Not sure if this works currently?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Apr 2 2006, 05:04 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



I have not reloaded rc4 yet (although I still have it on a cf card). But as I remember the things i wanted to see fixed, in order of importance, were:

1. Network setup gui and taskbar icons to work instead of editing scripts.
2. Being able to sync default addressbook, etc with PC
3. /home/zaurus/Documents seemed to have circular symlink to itself
4. Right-hand rotation fonts fixed (to use IR keyboard without mirror)
5. SD card fix. I think this is already figured out. It involved 2 commands:
modprobe sharp_mmcsd_m
mount -o noatime /dev/mmcda1 /mnt/card
(or editing init.d script to point to actual location of files)
6. Being able to install programs to SD card
7. "Use thick fonts" under Themes >> Font caused corrupt fonts (very minor)
8. NOT A BUG. JUST A WISH. Accelerated video drivers smile.gif

Give the word and I will contribute $50.00 with another $50.00 to follow on completion of this list (not including accelerated video since that is not a bug). I will also test rc candidates. Thanks much!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Apr 2 2006, 06:24 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(the_oak @ Apr 2 2006, 08:04 PM)
I have not reloaded rc4 yet (although I still have it on a cf card). But as I remember the things i wanted to see fixed, in order of importance, were:

1.  Network setup gui and taskbar icons to work instead of editing scripts.
2.  Being able to sync default addressbook, etc with PC
3.  /home/zaurus/Documents seemed to have circular symlink to itself
4.  Right-hand rotation fonts fixed (to use IR keyboard without mirror)
5.  SD card fix. I think this is already figured out. It involved 2 commands:
      modprobe sharp_mmcsd_m
      mount -o noatime /dev/mmcda1 /mnt/card
    (or editing init.d script to point to actual location of files)
6.  Being able to install programs to SD card
7.  "Use thick fonts" under Themes >> Font caused corrupt fonts (very minor)
8.  NOT A BUG. JUST A WISH. Accelerated video drivers smile.gif

Give the word and I will contribute $50.00 with another $50.00 to follow on completion of this list (not including accelerated video since that is not a bug). I will also test rc candidates. Thanks much!!!!!!!!!
*


On #2 are you saying that the sync abilty with included utilites on the CD is broken? I have not used these so i would not know.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Apr 2 2006, 06:55 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



When I tried the Samba (PC-Link in Sharp's rom) icon in networking tab, it would never connect while using either USB - I/O (default) or USB - TCP/IP (advanced). I guess this is the original PC-Link app from the Sharp rom.

I would have to re-install the rc4 G-rom to get exact error messages, but I could not get it to sync.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
trichmon
post Apr 2 2006, 08:50 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 148
Joined: 12-December 04
Member No.: 5,901



loc4me,

Thats great news. Your list is everything i need. I will say that I can connect to my home access point without issue and without changing any settings, i first runn /usr/local/net.wifi.scanap (or something close, sorry running pdaxrom) and then run dhcpcd wlan0 and im up.

The only thing i would ask for that is above and beyond your list is general stability increases. I used the rom for 48 hours this last week and had it lock up several times. It happened after i install some opie apps to the internal flash with the package manager.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Apr 2 2006, 09:02 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(trichmon @ Apr 2 2006, 11:50 PM)
loc4me,

  Thats great news. Your list is everything i need.  I will say that I can connect to my home access point without issue and without changing any settings, i first runn /usr/local/net.wifi.scanap (or something close, sorry running pdaxrom) and then run dhcpcd wlan0 and im up. 

The only thing i would ask for that is above and beyond your list is general stability increases.  I used the rom for 48 hours this last week and had it lock up several times.  It happened after i install some opie apps to the internal flash with the package manager.
*


Yes. the instablilty issues have arisen after using the built in app to install pakages. this is included in the list. Thanks for any additional bugs you find.

-Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Apr 2 2006, 09:46 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



bug/needed improvement
simple button based wireless
support for usb ethernet, if not currently available
maybe a 2gig sd driver, if possible
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Apr 2 2006, 09:49 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



bug/needed improvement
simple button based wireless
support for usb ethernet, if not currently available
maybe a 2gig sd driver, if possible
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Apr 4 2006, 06:13 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



QUOTE(adf @ Apr 3 2006, 12:49 AM)
bug/needed improvement
simple button based wireless
support for usb ethernet, if not  currently available
maybe a 2gig sd driver, if possible
*


Yes. Wireless GUI is the number one complaint and this will be worked on. I have no idea if the 2GB driver would work. That would be a worth while attempt though. I will add it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Apr 7 2006, 12:00 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



will work on the wireless gui first then. the sd driver won't be possible because sharp only released a binary for the C3200 which IIRC uses a 2.4.20 kernel. The 6000 uses a 2.4.18. It is not worth the effort to hack a 2.4.20 on the 6000 - the 2.6 series is a far better idea. Dirk did some great work, but he hasn't had a lot of time lately

the oak, pc sync will not be fixed - sorry, I can test it. everything else is possible

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Apr 7 2006, 12:31 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



great, don't forget bluetooth. I think the bluetooth driver may be easy to build, rather you may need to spend more time on the scripts. And it would be super if the new release can support the built-in bt in 6000W as I'm planning to get one. Thanks, Guylhem.

usb ethernet: I think it's just a driver issue. I suspect the popular Pegasus II driver built by adf works in the G-rom. If so, would be nice to integrate it in the G-rom
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Apr 7 2006, 04:46 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



In view of this post by Guylhem:
Link

I am confused. Is the Guylhem rom still in development? Will development continue? Or should I wait on the new LeTux rom for the 6000?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Apr 7 2006, 04:47 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



BT on the 6000W already works - I have one so I can tell :-) What you won't have is a nice GUI. You need scripts to make it work.

Regarding missing drivers, I need a list. Even better - I need the already compiled modules, to simply bundle them along.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post Apr 7 2006, 10:39 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



QUOTE(guylhem @ Apr 6 2006, 10:00 PM)
will work on the wireless gui first then. the sd driver won't be possible because sharp only released a binary for the C3200 which IIRC uses a 2.4.20 kernel. The


If I read that right, it means we won't be able to (#5) install programs to the SD card, right? Or are you saying that it's #12 you can't do? If it's #12 (2G SD), what specifically would you need?

To me, #5 is a must. If someone can't install programs to their SD card, I would think it's a show stopper.

A functional rom should have all the major features of the ROM it's replacing (the useful things, anyway). While BT is nice, being able to install programs normally to the SD means I can't install it anywhere except the main or CF card. I'd like to leave the CF for things like a modem, or a network card, etc.

#7 (ipk functionality) is also kind of important - if not ipk use, where else can we get packages from?

#8 (syncing) is something I can currently do on the Sharp ROM, is also pretty important (I synch it with the palm desktop).

#1 is important if I can't get my network connections working on the Guylhem rom.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 15 2006, 03:27 PM
Post #15





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(guylhem @ Apr 7 2006, 01:47 PM)
BT on the 6000W already works - I have one so I can tell :-) What you won't have is a nice GUI. You need scripts to make it work.
*


why can't you use the cacko tools for setting up wifi, PPP & BT/PAN tool, and the applet for connecting? these work brilliantly, the only time I have to touch the config files is to enable WPA for specific access points.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 07:11 AM