OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Firefox For The Sharp Rom?
dougeeebear
post Jul 15 2007, 12:02 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I'd like to use the Firefox browser on the Sharp rom.
I found a version of it here in the Index of /menaie/feed.
It seems to install on the Sharp rom, but it doesn't load up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jul 15 2007, 12:38 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Since the ipk format is consistant between Sharp/Cacko and pdaXrom, it will install OK, but Firefox uses stuff that the Sharp ROM doesn't have, ie X11, GTK, etc. so it won't run.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Jul 15 2007, 12:45 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



In theory it could run within XQt on the Sharp ROM but I am not sure how well it would run.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jul 15 2007, 01:14 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



It does run in X/QT, but the performance hit would probably make it unbearable. FF is slow as is, add in running X on top of QT and you get uselessness.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 16 2007, 03:24 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Thanks, guys.
I kind of figured as much.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Jul 16 2007, 03:33 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jul 15 2007, 10:14 PM)
It does run in X/QT, but the performance hit would probably make it unbearable. FF is slow as is, add in running X on top of QT and you get uselessness.
*

Not true. It's actually very snappy. I've used many roms, and this is the snappiest firefox of all (haven't used the latest Pdaxiii13, so can't compare that). However it's good.

What you need to get it to run is, install meanies pdaXqtrom, check out his page if you're not sure how to. Then install the firefox from his feed. For it to run it must be run as root, dunno why, so create a fir script reading
CODE
sudo firefox
(must have sudo installed). Then just run it in XQt by typing fir.

Also, if you enable monolingual mode (check out meanie's page for the how-to) and not use his FluxBox but use ratpoison as the defaultwm, everything's gonna be super snappy. It's very useable with the stock Sharp ROM.

For ratpoison, you can go to:http://www.focv/ipkg/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 16 2007, 07:10 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Thanks, ShiroiKuma.
I'll try and get all that stuff together and see what I come up with.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 17 2007, 04:45 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Well, I've got pdaXqtrom all installed and working.

Firefox is a little slow, but it does work.
With a little tweaking here and there it'll probably be a little faster.
I've got to figure out how to get to the profile/chrome directory so I can create a userChrome.css file, but I can't seem to find it.
I'm thinking it might be embedded inside the pdaXqtrom-apps.cramfs file, but I can't open it to find out.
I've also got to see if I can install a few small extensions.

Thanks again ShiroiKuma for pointing me in the right direction.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jul 17 2007, 05:23 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



FF is definitely faster in pdaXii13 than in pdaxqt. Pdaxqt IS really cool though...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Jul 17 2007, 11:34 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jul 18 2007, 01:45 AM)
Firefox is a little slow, but it does work.
I'm thinking it might be embedded inside the pdaXqtrom-apps.cramfs file, but I can't open it to find out.
*

I use pdaxqtrom tgz expanded to harddisk and not the pdaxqtrom apps cramfs but the firefox ipk from Meanie's feed.

This combination makes much faster, than mounting the two cramfs files and using the pdaxqtrom and firefox from them. You can give that a try.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 18 2007, 04:53 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Well, I got Firefox working in pdaXQtrom using the base and apps cramfs images.
I wanted to use just the base cramfs and install Firefox, but I couldn't find Firefox 1.5 anywhere in the feeds, only 0.9-3.
It is kind of slow due to the C1000 not having a hard drive, but even though it's running off an SD card, it's not too bad.
I haven't figured out how to install ratpoison yet.
I use the overclocking applet to get a little more speed, and a 128MB swapfile.
Thanks again for the help, and a special thanks to Meanie for this great application.

Doug

EDIT:
I just found Firefox 1.5
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Jul 19 2007, 04:43 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jul 19 2007, 01:53 AM)
I haven't figured out how to install ratpoison yet.
*

Install the ipk from the site that I mention. Edit /etc/X11/defaultwm to say ratpoison instead of fluxbox. Then start X/Qt and there you go, ratpoison starts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 19 2007, 05:11 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I can only find ratpoison tar.gz but not ipk (unless I'm missing something).
I haven't a clue how to install the tar.gz.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post Jul 19 2007, 06:48 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Jul 19 2007, 02:11 PM)
I can only find ratpoison tar.gz but not ipk (unless I'm missing something).
I haven't a clue how to install the tar.gz.
*

At http://www.focv.com/ipkg/ - ratpoison ipkg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Jul 19 2007, 08:58 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Thanks for the link ... I've got it now.
Another pretty strange thing is when installing both the Firefox 1.5 ipk and the Ratpoison ipk, I get a message box that says something like:

"The extraction of some files failed. When you cannot run the program, uninsall it."

I used the standard Sharp package manager to install them.
Any ideas?

Thanks,
Doug.

(sorry to be such a pain)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 04:49 AM