OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sl-c3000 - 1.1.0beta3
flavien
post Apr 27 2006, 03:26 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 22-August 05
From: Versailles - France
Member No.: 7,920



QUOTE
kathrin-1.1.0beta3-akita.zip
pdaXrom for C1000/3100/3200 and x86

I have to choose between
- an old version of pdaXrom not stable and not supported (problem with power management and no bug fixes)
- a new version of OZ without Video Acceleration (but in progress wink.gif ).
wacko.gif
I understood that it is too difficult for pdaXrom Team to support C3000. (but OZ has develop a unique version for all models with microdrive). tongue.gif

Zaurus Team are so stupid to make 2 distrib ... with differents problems. blink.gif

good-bye pdaXrom. mad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
trichmon
post Apr 27 2006, 03:34 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 148
Joined: 12-December 04
Member No.: 5,901



Maybe im reading this and other posts in the last week or so but i just dont understand the anger. EVERYONE in the forums (I think) is working for free. We are talking donated time here people.

anger != better disto for zaurus

todd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flavien
post Apr 27 2006, 03:45 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 22-August 05
From: Versailles - France
Member No.: 7,920



QUOTE(trichmon @ Apr 28 2006, 12:34 AM)
anger != better disto for zaurus

2 distrib for Zaurus is stupid !
Team Leader are stupid ? ...
The world is stupid ? ...

anger >> silence ?

dry.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sashz
post Apr 27 2006, 07:10 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 388
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,058



because we havent SL-C3000 for hack and testing for stability, we can not add this model in the build system. i'm sorry.

QUOTE(flavien @ Apr 27 2006, 03:26 PM)
QUOTE
kathrin-1.1.0beta3-akita.zip
pdaXrom for C1000/3100/3200 and x86

I have to choose between
- an old version of pdaXrom not stable and not supported (problem with power management and no bug fixes)
- a new version of OZ without Video Acceleration (but in progress wink.gif ).
wacko.gif
I understood that it is too difficult for pdaXrom Team to support C3000. (but OZ has develop a unique version for all models with microdrive). tongue.gif

Zaurus Team are so stupid to make 2 distrib ... with differents problems. blink.gif

good-bye pdaXrom. mad.gif
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pgas
post Apr 27 2006, 09:37 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,099
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Athens, Greece
Member No.: 1,210



QUOTE
2 distrib for Zaurus is stupid !


there are more than 2 distribs, you forgot sharp distribution for instance.
(there is also openbsd for 3000)

2, 3 ,4 >> 0

I can understand your frustration, but you can't force people to do what they don't want to do by shouting at them, so anger is probably not so far from silence as to what it achieves.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Apr 27 2006, 10:28 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



bah! they all have thier problems and good points(distro's that is), sure it would be great to get pdaxrom and oz team set to one goal. But you forget innovations usually spring from a good competitive spirit, I have seen it before in the past and wil see it in the future no doubt. So instead of being angry about what is not happening, you should be happy about what has happened. I say kudo's to all the dev's who donate thier time for basically free, thanks guys!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iczer3
post Apr 28 2006, 12:12 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 2-February 06
Member No.: 9,059



Dear sashz,

is it possible to post the root files for 1.1.0 beta 3 ?

and also the updater.sh for 1.1.0beta2 ?

BR,

Felix.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iczer3
post Apr 28 2006, 12:14 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 2-February 06
Member No.: 9,059



Dear flavien,

actually the SLC3000 is fairly stable with pdaxrom.
All you have to remember is :

DON'T push power button to suspend. Instead, exit X
windows, then type

apm -s.

BR,

Felix. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anunakin
post Apr 28 2006, 03:42 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



QUOTE(iczer3 @ Apr 28 2006, 08:14 AM)
Dear flavien,

actually the SLC3000 is fairly stable with pdaxrom.
All you have to remember is :

DON'T push power button to suspend. Instead, exit X
windows, then type

apm -s.

BR,

Felix. smile.gif
*


Guys I using pdaXrom beta 3 on my SL-C3100 ... this is the best distro for Zaurus...
I use power button to suspend and this works fine for me... but when I need turn ON again, I must press ONE TIME ONLY AND WAIT 3 or 5 seconds, IF YOU PRESS AGAIN OR HOLDED FOR LONG TIME (more then 2 seconds) THIS DONT BACK!

Yeah... pdaXrom stupid? look in OE Forums posts, OZ (All forums) + SHARP posts have a bit more then us! tongue.gif this is all we need to know! WE ARE THE BEST!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daemon1
post Apr 30 2006, 01:20 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 18-April 04
Member No.: 2,901



"fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate.... hate leads to sufffeerring"

- master yoda

QUOTE(flavien @ Apr 27 2006, 03:26 PM)
QUOTE
kathrin-1.1.0beta3-akita.zip
pdaXrom for C1000/3100/3200 and x86

I have to choose between
- an old version of pdaXrom not stable and not supported (problem with power management and no bug fixes)
- a new version of OZ without Video Acceleration (but in progress wink.gif ).
wacko.gif
I understood that it is too difficult for pdaXrom Team to support C3000. (but OZ has develop a unique version for all models with microdrive). tongue.gif

Zaurus Team are so stupid to make 2 distrib ... with differents problems. blink.gif

good-bye pdaXrom. mad.gif
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
flavien
post Apr 30 2006, 11:45 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 22-August 05
From: Versailles - France
Member No.: 7,920



QUOTE
Dear flavien,
actually the SLC3000 is fairly stable with pdaxrom.
*

LOL ... I had used the latest beta provided by THC and it works but it is not stable
and i think it is the latest version i could see ...

QUOTE
Guys I using pdaXrom beta 3 on my SL-C3100 ... this is the best distro for Zaurus...

You are a lucky man ... this post is about SL-C3000 , you don't understand ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iczer3
post Apr 30 2006, 10:17 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 2-February 06
Member No.: 9,059



Dear flavien,

It is actually possible to use 1.1.0beta3 with SL3000.
Just extract the root files from initrd.bin, then copy it to hdd4.
Using the multiboot script mentioned earlier in the post and
you can boot it.

BR,

Felix. laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andresgriego
post Apr 30 2006, 10:32 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 22-January 06
Member No.: 8,972



Sorry, I'm highjacking this thread. I don't think anyone's gonna care.

I'd like to refer to Felix's posting above:

QUOTE(iczer3 @ Apr 28 2006, 01:14 AM)
Dear flavien,

actually the SLC3000 is fairly stable with pdaxrom.
All you have to remember is :

DON'T push power button to suspend. Instead, exit X
windows, then type

apm -s.

BR,

Felix. smile.gif
*


As a 3100 user, I was wondering if suspending like this get rid of the power drain issue some of us users are experiencing? Or is the problem totally different, like HDDs not spinning down?

I would like to find a solution to this problem. I want to start using Pdaxrom!

My offer still stands: Fix the power issues with with the 3100 series, so I can use Pdaxrom daily with confidence, and I'll donate $50 to the pot. I know it's not a lot, but I'm not rich. I hope it encourages other people to do the same in supporting what they like.

Is that the kind of incentive you were looking for? tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
desertrat
post Apr 30 2006, 11:27 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 742
Joined: 15-October 05
From: Gulag, Siberia
Member No.: 8,322



QUOTE(andresgriego @ May 1 2006, 06:32 AM)
As a 3100 user, I was wondering if suspending like this get rid of the power drain issue some of us users are experiencing? Or is the problem totally different, like HDDs not spinning down?

I would like to find a solution to this problem. I want to start using Pdaxrom!

My offer still stands: Fix the power issues with with the 3100 series, so I can use Pdaxrom daily with confidence, and I'll donate $50 to the pot. I know it's not a lot, but I'm not rich. I hope it encourages other people to do the same in supporting what they like.

C3100, beta3, IceWM: have been using it shortly after beta3 was released (ie more than 2 weeks now). So far haven't encountered any lockups when resuming from suspend. I use both menu, and On/Off button to suspend and no problems there.

Using beta1 and Matchbox/Openbox I could've expected lockup on resume about once a week.

YMMV smile.gif

Update 2006-06-01
Actually about 3 weeks after installing beta3, it did lockup and I had to do a reboot. But overall still much better than previous betas, not sure whether it is due to me using icewm instead of matchbox.

This post has been edited by desertrat: May 31 2006, 10:25 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd June 2015 - 07:45 PM