OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Intellisync Between Xp & C3100, C3200, Has anyone been able to, & how?
Guest_Zauri_*
post May 13 2007, 10:12 PM
Post #1





Guests






I bought my Z C3200 very recently, & part of the appeal of this purchase was because I read in an article that it is possible to synchronise the Z with Outlook, via Intellisync. Although, the method suggested that I needed to use the SL5500 version of intellisync plus, I had to use the Japanese drivers off the Z's CD. I have downloaded the SL5500's intellisync from www.myzaurus.com but am not sure where to go from here. I am running XP SP2 and Outlook 2002. I am aware that there are other threads about this topic but the results that others have had seemed somewhat unclear. I read one result as having to load the drivers every time they connected their Z to their PC. This seems to be a hassle for the user.

Is there any clear-cut method to accomplish successful Outlook synchronisation between Z C3100, C3200, & a PC?
smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post May 13 2007, 11:59 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Suggest that you visit the TriSoft web site & download the PDF that tells you all you need to know.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Zauri_*
post May 14 2007, 04:16 AM
Post #3





Guests






QUOTE(mikew @ May 14 2007, 06:59 PM)
Suggest that you visit the TriSoft web site & download the PDF that tells you all you need to know.

Mike
*


Is this the www.trisoft.de website? Because I couldn't find a PDF there for setting up C3x00's with Intellisync & XP. I found a webpage for SL-C860 but that wasn't helpful.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post May 14 2007, 05:13 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Hi Zauri,
QUOTE(Zauri @ May 14 2007, 01:16 PM)
...Is this the www.trisoft.de website?...

what else ? laugh.gif

OK, here you go:
Get (and read) the PDF-manual on this page:
SL-C3200 startup guide

There's a reference to our "IntelliSync HowTo":
zipped RTF Document

Follow the steps and enjoy syncing (ok, enjoy it more or less...,
it's IntelliSync and we don't know what the "Intelli" is referring to...).

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deluxe
post May 14 2007, 05:16 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 184
Joined: 24-December 05
Member No.: 8,780



Have outlook installed on the PC, then go here:
http://www.trisoft.de/en_c860winxpsetup.htm
and follow the instructions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post May 14 2007, 02:32 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Hi deluxe,
QUOTE(deluxe @ May 14 2007, 02:16 PM)
Have outlook installed on the PC, then go here:
http://www.trisoft.de/en_c860winxpsetup.htm
and follow the instructions

hmmmm. I would be very surprised, if this works...

But we're all learning something more every day biggrin.gif

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deluxe
post May 14 2007, 08:01 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 184
Joined: 24-December 05
Member No.: 8,780



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ May 14 2007, 06:32 PM)
Hi deluxe,
QUOTE(deluxe @ May 14 2007, 02:16 PM)
Have outlook installed on the PC, then go here:
http://www.trisoft.de/en_c860winxpsetup.htm
and follow the instructions

hmmmm. I would be very surprised, if this works...

But we're all learning something more every day biggrin.gif

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*




Well, I respect your raised eyebrows very much, so I went back to the linked page and checked that that's what I followed........and it is, and I am saying it worked with my SL-C1000 and a WinXP desktop PC.

Aside from the fact the instructions are aimed at a sl-c860, is there any other particular reason you are so surprised it worked??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post May 15 2007, 12:15 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Hi deluxe,
QUOTE(deluxe @ May 15 2007, 05:01 AM)
Aside from the fact the instructions are aimed at a sl-c860, is there any other particular reason you are so surprised it worked??

ummm, yes.
Because there was some change in the sync protocol between
the SL-C7x0/860 series and the SL-C1000/3x00 models.
And for this reason, we now have these ugly procedure with the
mix between the japanese sync software and the english version.

Looking at your sig, we see that you're working with the Cacko
Rom. So we guess, that Cacko still uses the "old" version from the
SL-C7x0/860 series.

So maybe, we're both right. And another thing learned: If someone
has trouble syncing, the needed software may depend on the used
Rom (Sharp or Cacko).

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Zauri_*
post May 15 2007, 03:20 AM
Post #9





Guests






QUOTE(TRIsoft @ May 15 2007, 12:13 AM)
Hi Zauri,
QUOTE(Zauri @ May 14 2007, 01:16 PM)
...Is this the www.trisoft.de website?...

what else ? laugh.gif

OK, here you go:
Get (and read) the PDF-manual on this page:
SL-C3200 startup guide

There's a reference to our "IntelliSync HowTo":
zipped RTF Document

Follow the steps and enjoy syncing (ok, enjoy it more or less...,
it's IntelliSync and we don't know what the "Intelli" is referring to...).

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*



Thanks TRIsoft! I got it working OK. Have a slight issue with the PC Link screen coming up on the Zaurus after Synching, but I just close out of it. Other than that, it is working fine.

Zauri:)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Zauri_*
post May 15 2007, 10:33 PM
Post #10





Guests






QUOTE(Zauri @ May 15 2007, 10:20 PM)
QUOTE(TRIsoft @ May 15 2007, 12:13 AM)
Hi Zauri,
QUOTE(Zauri @ May 14 2007, 01:16 PM)
...Is this the www.trisoft.de website?...

what else ? laugh.gif

OK, here you go:
Get (and read) the PDF-manual on this page:
SL-C3200 startup guide

There's a reference to our "IntelliSync HowTo":
zipped RTF Document

Follow the steps and enjoy syncing (ok, enjoy it more or less...,
it's IntelliSync and we don't know what the "Intelli" is referring to...).

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*



Thanks TRIsoft! I got it working OK. Have a slight issue with the PC Link screen coming up on the Zaurus after Synching, but I just close out of it. Other than that, it is working fine.

Zauri:)
*



Another issue I have noticed is that my Z doesn't show up in 'My Computer' as a mass storage device, anymore. Anyone able to fix this problem?

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mikew
post May 15 2007, 11:41 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-March 04
Member No.: 2,402



Zauri

You need to map it as a networked drive via the Tools menu in My Computer if you want to see the drive using the same coomunications method used for syncing.

Alternativly you can set the Zaurus up as a storage device via the PC link icon on the Zaurus, but this has to be disabled when syncing.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post May 16 2007, 12:46 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Hi Zauri,
QUOTE(Zauri @ May 16 2007, 07:33 AM)
Another issue I have noticed is that my Z doesn't show up in 'My Computer' as a mass storage device, anymore. Anyone able to fix this problem?

just go to "Settings" -> "PC-Link".
There you choose between "Storage" or "PC-Link" mode.
But don't forget to switch it back if you want to sync again wink.gif

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 01:30 AM