OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Opera, Opera Compatibilty with Sharp 2.12 ROM
slick55
post Dec 2 2005, 08:15 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-November 05
From: Bandera ~ Republic of Texas
Member No.: 8,633



I want to upgrade from Opera 5.0 to hopefully v 7.x, however my old SL-5500 is still original (2.12 ROM / 2.4.6 Kernel).

Questions:

1. What newer Opera versions (6.x - 7.x) will be compatible with the 2.12 ROM & 2.4.6 Kernel ?

2. Will I need to upgrade to a newer 2.x or 3.x ROM ?

3. Would the 2.37 ROM be a better choice (believe I have it on the Sharp v 1.2b upgrade CD) ?

I'd rather not have to flash the ROM based on the problems I've seen posted here, however, if I have to flash I prefer to stay with a Sharp ROM.

Also, where in the world (URL) can I locate Opera 6.x and/or 7.x to download ? I spent hours today scanning the posts and searching URL's only to run into blind alleys and bad addresses.

Lou
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Dec 3 2005, 05:31 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I don't know if Opera 7.55 would work on your current rom (it might).
I would recommend upgrading to the newest Sharp rom 3.13 available here http://www.zaurususergroup.org/UpDownload+...ad-sid-29.phtml
This is the Sharp Rom I use, and is very stable, and has updated features.
Scroll down the page and look for Sharp 5500 v3.13 Ospack.zip.
This rom comes with Opera 6.
You can't remove Opera 6 from it, just leave it there if you install newer Opera.
You can get Opera 7.30 here http://www.zaurususergroup.org/modules.php...=titleA&show=10
Scroll down and you will see it.
If you have a Yahoo ID, you can get Opera 7.55 at Yahoo Groups.
Enter "SL-5500" as the group name.
This is the Opera version I use, and recommend.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Dec 3 2005, 12:54 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



slick55:
Just a note...
If you change the rom, do a backup first in case you want to change back to your original rom, because the backups are incompatable between those roms.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
slick55
post Dec 3 2005, 02:56 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-November 05
From: Bandera ~ Republic of Texas
Member No.: 8,633



Thanks Doug,

Currently stymied with WinZip (98SE), WinZip, says the file is too big to unzip. Must be something I didn't read, or forgot.

Not sure, think the problem may be the .ipk suffix, I've unzipped and untarred some pretty big files.

I D/L .ipk files to a (98SE) directory (c:\z), then copy them (msdos) to my g: drive SD card (in a Card Reader/Writer).

For the .zip files I use c:\zz to (hopefully) unzip, then later clean up.

Do you recall how you unzipped yours?

Lou



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Dec 3 2005, 01:54 PM)
slick55:
Just a note...
If you change the rom, do a backup first in case you want to change back to your original rom, because the backups are incompatable between those roms.

Doug
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Dec 3 2005, 03:33 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



For the opera.ipk file, just copy that file to the root directory of a FAT formatted CF or SD card.
Put the card in your zaurus.
Click on the Add/Remove Software icon, and select Install Packages.
It will install itself.

If you want to install the 3.13 rom, put it in the root directory of a FAT formatted CF card.
(Unzip it first, so you have a file named Ospack)
Follow flashing instructions.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
slick55
post Dec 3 2005, 04:36 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-November 05
From: Bandera ~ Republic of Texas
Member No.: 8,633



QUOTE(dougeeebear @ Dec 3 2005, 04:33 PM)
For the opera.ipk file, just copy that file to the root directory of a FAT formatted CF or SD card.
Put the card in your zaurus.
Click on the Add/Remove Software icon, and select Install Packages.
It will install itself.

If you want to install the 3.13 rom, put it in the root directory of a FAT formatted CF card.
(Unzip it first, so you have a file named Ospack)
Follow flashing instructions.

Doug
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
slick55
post Dec 3 2005, 06:01 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 28-November 05
From: Bandera ~ Republic of Texas
Member No.: 8,633



Have it unzipped on a CF card.

Two questions:

1. Do I do the CF card Ospack upload with W98SE Qtopia, or with Linux. or just stick the CF in the Zaurus and hit reset and let it eat?

2. Do I need to use the 5500v31u.zip and/or 5500v31c.zip upgrade s/w, or is it contained in Ospack ?

The Windoze upgrade instruction mentions installing PC upgrade s/w after flashing and before subsequent docking of the Zaurus to the PC.

Instruction also mentions selecting the second and third buttons, that are not on my Qtopia desktop, I can wing this, but curious.

Sorry for all the questions, want to be sure before proceeding. I've killed a couple mobo's in the past flashing back and forth (for performance).

Had a battery incident late last night that nearly resulted in breaking the Z, working on a fix and warning for the forum (oversize $14 battery that didn't want to come out).

Lou


[quote=slick55,Dec 3 2005, 05:36 PM]
[quote=dougeeebear,Dec 3 2005, 04:33 PM]

If you want to install the 3.13 rom, put it in the root directory of a FAT formatted CF card.
(Unzip it first, so you have a file named Ospack)
Follow flashing instructions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Dec 3 2005, 07:35 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I never used the cradle, therefore never installed software on my pc.

This is what I did...
  • Unzip the 5500v13..whatever.zip
  • You end up with Ospack
  • Copy Ospack to CF card
  • Insert CF card into Zaurus
  • MAKE SURE CHARGER IS CONNECTED TO THE ZAURUS
  • Remove battery cover
  • Hold down C and D buttons while pressing the reset button with the stylus
  • Both lights should come on for about 3 minutes
  • When lights go out, press reset button again
  • Put battery cover on and slide battery cover switch up.
  • Start the Z
You should be good to go.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 03:43 PM