OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Frustrated
Alaric
post May 10 2005, 04:44 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 20-April 05
From: Manassas VA
Member No.: 6,943



So I have gone through 2 CF wireless cards now with no luck. The netgear is understandable. I hold out hope to get it working. In the mean time I ordered an Ambicom CF-C1100, and it doesnt work. I have been told it should plug right in and work, but no luck. Even the Dynamism folks are stumped why its not working.

So, since im shellin out money left and right for cards, anyone want to give me the name of a card they KNOW works? I would like to get something going as meetings and other things at work, I cant live without my c3k, but the fact I have to use my usb cable at my desk every time I want to sync is driving me nuts!

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahm
post May 10 2005, 05:33 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,809



QUOTE(Alaric @ May 10 2005, 06:44 PM)
So I have gone through 2 CF wireless cards now with no luck. The netgear is understandable. I hold out hope to get it working. In the mean time I ordered an Ambicom CF-C1100, and it doesnt work. I have been told it should plug right in and work, but no luck. Even the Dynamism folks are stumped why its not working.

So, since im shellin out money left and right for cards, anyone want to give me the name of a card they KNOW works? I would like to get something going as meetings and other things at work, I cant live without my c3k, but the fact I have to use my usb cable at my desk every time I want to sync is driving me nuts!

Thanks!
*


Well, I beleive that the Ambicom CF-C1100 is known to work with Cacko on the 3k. I'm not sure if it is supposed to work on the Sharp rom or not. (If Dynamism thinks it should, then maybe you're having other issues than card problems?)

I've got a Linksys WCF-12 that's worked on every Zaurus, and every Sharp or Cacko rom I've ever tried. (I haven't tried it on the 6k for obvious reasons. Now, that thought makes me want to see what happens!)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
orange
post May 11 2005, 12:25 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 72
Joined: 6-December 04
Member No.: 5,785



My Dlink DCF 660W works on my C3k, the only strange thing is that if I want to use WEP I uncheck the "Non-Spec ESS-ID: ANY" option, enter the ESS-ID and the WEP Key and after that I have to recheck the "Non-Spec ESS-ID: ANY" option blink.gif to get it working Otherwise my Z will not connect.

hope I could help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alaric
post May 12 2005, 04:07 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 20-April 05
From: Manassas VA
Member No.: 6,943



Thanks guys! I think I have a netgear floating around somewhere, I might try and dig it out or try the other rom!

Thanks very much!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gerenb
post May 12 2005, 06:17 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 31-August 04
Member No.: 4,434



QUOTE(Alaric @ May 11 2005, 12:44 AM)
So I have gone through 2 CF wireless cards now with no luck. The netgear is understandable. I hold out hope to get it working. In the mean time I ordered an Ambicom CF-C1100, and it doesnt work. I have been told it should plug right in and work, but no luck. Even the Dynamism folks are stumped why its not working.

So, since im shellin out money left and right for cards, anyone want to give me the name of a card they KNOW works? I would like to get something going as meetings and other things at work, I cant live without my c3k, but the fact I have to use my usb cable at my desk every time I want to sync is driving me nuts!

Thanks!
*

I have also had a lot of problems getting my CF wireless cards to be stable. I used to use a C700 with an Ambicom card and it worked perfectly. Now I have an SL-C3000 with the same Ambicom card and it connects only half of the time. When it doesn't connect, the only way I can fix it is by ejecting the card and reinserting it. I bought a Pretec card and it does the SAME exact thing. The AP I use is a DLink DI-624. Although this is just my opinion, I believe it is due to some kind of incompatibility between the new prism driver on the C3000 and the Dlink AP (yes, I've tried the new Sharp prism driver). smile.gif

I've also tried using short preamble on the AP and switching a few other settings but the problem persists. I think it may be time to purchase a Linksys AP. blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahm
post May 12 2005, 07:24 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,809



I've got a DI-614+ that's been rock solid for me, and I use a half dozen different kinds of wireless cards and devices. My old router was a US Robotics, and it was absolutely horrible. My Dlink has been literally fire and forget - I haven't touched or rebooted it in months.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rafm
post May 12 2005, 11:22 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 145
Joined: 13-November 04
Member No.: 5,449



Maybe this can help: http://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=Wireless_Card_Support
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
slackwaresupport
post May 13 2005, 06:00 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 4-January 05
Member No.: 6,114



yes i have an ambicom it works great. you can get them at circuit city, best buy, etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 04:13 PM