OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> What Do You Run Under X/qt
Joshp
post Mar 18 2005, 09:54 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 15-February 04
From: The Chicago land area ,Illinois, USA
Member No.: 1,875



I just installed X\QT on my sl-6000 with the standerd rom. I got it running just fine. But than I started thinking what will I run on it? I have no expreace with X on a zaurus. So I guess am asking what programs do you run under X\QT, and how well do thay work.

JP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Mar 18 2005, 11:23 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



I mostly use X/Qt to run some Tcl/Tk scripts I have. I use the Tclkit package to get Tcl/Tk. It works fine. I've also used ssh -X a few times under X/Qt which allows me to display on the Zaurus apps that are running on a linux desktop.

Felipe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Mar 21 2005, 09:27 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



I run pocketworkstation, and then i have a full debian system with a lot of apps :
- monager : pretty basic, runs smoothly
- kmymoney : runs fine, screens are to big for the Z
- kbudget : just the financial thing i needed, runs fine, need to close it before suspend
- planner : great
- gnumeric : i like it more than hancom sheet, once loaded : ok to me
- abiword : fantastic (takes long to load)
- tuxtype : my 7 year old daughter learns how to type
- tuxcards : fantastic
- qhacc : runs fine, but is double entry, (installed it 'cause i like the manual)
- dillo : runs fine
- firefox : takes long to load, runs fine after that
- nedit : very good practical text-editor
- xfce4 : window manager (see other thread)
- qcad : great stuff (more features than construct)
- openoffice : (see other threads)
- xgnokii : need to find out how to connect
- midnight commander : gives me a better feel than the one provided in cacko
- qgis : doesn't render correctly, something wrong in gdal-lib, I think
- and many others (always looking for great apps to run on a device that fits in my pocket)...

Cheers,
Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rickh
post Mar 21 2005, 12:21 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 19-August 04
Member No.: 4,336



I mostly use X/QT to remotely display other Unix/Linux servers. I don't really use it for much else.

Truthfully, everything I do locally on the Zaurus (C3000 in my case) I've been able to find decent apps for Qtopia. Well, OK, video still sucks :-)

R.
==
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amdonati
post Mar 22 2005, 07:51 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,434



I am using X/QT with the fast rom and at the moment I am using mainly gnumeric. It takes a bit more to lead than hancomm sheet but is then Much faster in loading XLS files and much more consistent.
I also tried some SDL games (Crimson skies, as tehre is an updated version there) and they work fine.

Adalberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Mar 22 2005, 08:05 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



I have been using it mostly as a display for my headless server (on which I am feebly trying to set up courier, caudium, and asterisk --make it a sort of com relay) I also use compressed X to get to the same server (in dmz at home) and into my workstation to do things like compile, or check mail when I am elsewhere and firewalled or start and manage downloads (though plain old ssh does this just fine.

I would like to remap keys in xqt, though... the menu key would be much nicer if it bought up the black box menu.. no need for a stylus if setup right. then do some combo to get the
xqt "fullscreen/shutdown"menu.

I'm also a little annoyed about input helper bringing up the qtopia bar while xqt is running.
anyone know how to run a usb mouse straight in xqt? (I'm guessing, no, that qt is managing too much of the system for thast to work...)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datajerk
post Mar 24 2005, 05:23 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 14-February 04
Member No.: 1,861



Firefox, Ethereal, Xterm, Gnuplot, Perl/Tk, cgoban, fluxbox wm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Mar 28 2005, 04:19 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



I setup X/QT with one purpose, namely Firefox. Now that I got it working, I am trying to get OpenOffice to work...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kedge
post Mar 29 2005, 12:36 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 29-June 04
Member No.: 3,857



QUOTE(amdonati @ Mar 22 2005, 04:51 PM)
I am using X/QT with the fast rom and at the moment I am using mainly gnumeric. It takes a bit more to lead than hancomm sheet but is then Much faster in loading XLS files and much more consistent.
I also tried some SDL games (Crimson skies, as tehre is an updated version there) and they work fine.

Adalberto
*


Hello Adalberto,

do you have a link to the gnumeric package you used?

Kedge
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amdonati
post Mar 29 2005, 04:59 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,434



Kedge, I simply "apt-get install gnumeric" and it was there.

I also think it is in the main feed, so you should do nothing else as the main repositories are already configured in the pocket debian package.

Adalberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kedge
post Mar 29 2005, 05:27 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 29-June 04
Member No.: 3,857



QUOTE(amdonati @ Mar 29 2005, 01:59 PM)
Kedge, I simply "apt-get install gnumeric" and it was there.

I also think it is in the main feed, so you should do nothing else as the main repositories are already configured in the pocket debian package.

Adalberto
*


Since I have no internet access on my Z I must download the package and can't install it over the net. Do you have a link to the feed?

kedge

Edit: I realized you use the pocket debian installation. So I will see if can use gnumeric without debian but only with XQT.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amdonati
post Mar 30 2005, 12:04 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,434



QUOTE(Kedge @ Mar 29 2005, 05:27 AM)
Edit: I realized you use the pocket debian installation. So I will see if can use gnumeric without debian but only with XQT.
*


It should be possible to run Gnumeric directly in X/Qt.
But be careful with dependancies!
Maybe someone else tried it and could be more helpful.

Good luck,
Adalberto
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phill
post May 8 2005, 12:54 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 21-April 05
Member No.: 6,950



Hi, I just bought an SL-C3000 and so far it's fantastic! (it's my first Zaurus wink.gif)

I've mainly been playing around with X/Qt and Debian.

So far I've been running:

gaim (A little slow to start, but once logged in runs nicely)
nedit (Runs very fast and is a great text editor)
skite (Text entry lags a bit)
abiword (Text entry lags a lot smile.gif)
dillo (Runs nice and quick and is great for most websites)
evolution (Takes a long time to load, but once loaded is just about usable)
and loads of others

Chero, you have some apps listed that dont seem to be in the debian repositories. Where did you find arm versions and how did you install them?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post May 8 2005, 01:21 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



QUOTE(Phill @ May 8 2005, 09:54 AM)
Chero, you have some apps listed that dont seem to be in the debian repositories. Where did you find arm versions and how did you install them?
*


I compiled them on the Z, some take quite long to compile, but it just works.
I installed "make" and all needed libs.
Then it's just "./configure", "make", "make install" or "qmake", "make".
(or following instructions in readme files)

I don't remember where I downloaded all sources, just browse the www.

Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phill
post May 8 2005, 02:01 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 21-April 05
Member No.: 6,950



QUOTE(Chero @ May 8 2005, 10:21 AM)
I compiled them on the Z, some take quite long to compile, but it just works.
I installed "make" and all needed libs.
Then it's just "./configure", "make", "make install" or "qmake", "make".
(or following instructions in readme files)

I don't remember where I downloaded all sources, just browse the www.

Chero.
*


Awesome! I'll have to start trying out some of the apps I couldnt find in the repository. And I'll maybe learn how to create .deb packages and create a little repository of my own wink.gif

The zaurus just keeps getting better and better.

Phill
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th November 2014 - 01:54 AM