OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Debian With Pdaxqtrom, Will it work?
Frobozz
post Oct 10 2006, 09:38 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 29-January 04
From: New Hampshire
Member No.: 1,611



The X/Qt Jumbo bundle and Debian have absolutely transformed my Zaurus from an extremely fancy handheld into a full on laptop replacement. So first off, I have to offer my highest kudos to Meanie for making this possible. It's wonderful to be able to use QTopia apps for things I have to use 'on the go' (like reminders and addresses) and then switch over to having a full Debian setup when I'm sitting down again.

I've tried using Pdaxqtrom and it's absolutely a wonderful environment. I'm dearly in love and I'd like to make the switch. ;-> The only problem I'm facing is that it doesn't seem to have a provision for launching Debian the way the Jumbo bundle could. Is there a way to set up Pdaxqtrom to let me use Debian?

Either way, I'm still going to use one of these packages. ;-> I love the Zaurus for how much choice it and its community give me!

--
Chris
SL-5600 (sold)
SL-C860 w. Cacko (dead)
SL-C3200 w. Cacko
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Oct 10 2006, 08:00 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Frobozz @ Oct 11 2006, 03:38 AM)
The X/Qt Jumbo bundle and Debian have absolutely transformed my Zaurus from an extremely fancy handheld into a full on laptop replacement. So first off, I have to offer my highest kudos to Meanie for making this possible. It's wonderful to be able to use QTopia apps for things I have to use 'on the go' (like reminders and addresses) and then switch over to having a full Debian setup when I'm sitting down again.

  I've tried using Pdaxqtrom and it's absolutely a wonderful environment. I'm dearly in love and I'd like to make the switch. ;-> The only problem I'm facing is that it doesn't seem to have a provision for launching Debian the way the Jumbo bundle could. Is there a way to set up Pdaxqtrom to let me use Debian?

  Either way, I'm still going to use one of these packages. ;-> I love the Zaurus for how much choice it and its community give me!

--
Chris
SL-5600 (sold)
SL-C860 w. Cacko (dead)
SL-C3200 w. Cacko
*


that's something I plan to do when I have time to build a new debian image using the latest PocketWorkstation 1.0 binaries.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frobozz
post Oct 11 2006, 03:28 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 29-January 04
From: New Hampshire
Member No.: 1,611



That's great news! Looking forward to it!

--
Chris
SL-5600 (sold)
SL-C860 w. Cacko (dead)
SL-C3200 w. Cacko
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Oct 11 2006, 04:15 PM
Post #4





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



yep. same here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Oct 17 2006, 05:25 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



I will update the xlauncher script so that it can launch the existing debian/pocketworkstation image like the xqtjumbo launcher did using the scripts from minideb which is used in the openoffice image. then i will build a new pocketworkstation image with custom winxp theme and other customisations to icewm like in the previous pocketworkstation image, but that will have to wait until after my holidays...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Nov 1 2006, 04:27 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



well, xlauncher did not need to be updated after all. it already calls deblauncher so it already had that feature designed in.

you will need to add deblauncher by installing the deblauncher ipk file which is an add on to pdaXqtrom and then you will be able to launch pocketworkstation.

it can be downloaded from here: http://pdaxqtrom.thegrinder.ws/files/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Nov 1 2006, 05:24 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



well, I made a little mistake in the deblauncher package, so I will be uploading an update for it soonish.

I also tried PocketWorkstation 1.0 and unfortunately, it seems to be a no go since the updated packages seem to rely on 2.6 kernel features such as udev, etc. so it seems we are stuck with v0.18 of PocketWorkstation on Sharp/Cacko.

PW 1.0 will prolly work under OZ/pdaXrom 121 but I see no point in that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frobozz
post Nov 19 2006, 06:52 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 29-January 04
From: New Hampshire
Member No.: 1,611



Sorry for the lateness of this, but life's been interesting. I just installed PocketWorkstation today and was greeted by the welcome sight of Debian on my 3200! Thank you very much for this!

I've only hit one problem so far. When I try to launch 'transparent terminal', the shell from which I ran deblauncher displays 'aterm: can't open pseudo-tty'. I'm wondering if I've done something wrong in setting this up.

--
Chris
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
paka
post Feb 9 2007, 12:53 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 30-March 06
Member No.: 9,493



QUOTE(Frobozz @ Nov 19 2006, 09:52 PM)
Sorry for the lateness of this, but life's been interesting. I just installed PocketWorkstation today and was greeted by the welcome sight of Debian on my 3200! Thank you very much for this!

  I've only hit one problem so far. When I try to launch 'transparent terminal', the shell from which I ran deblauncher displays 'aterm: can't open pseudo-tty'. I'm wondering if I've done something wrong in setting this up.

--
Chris
*


I'm having this exact same problem. I've looked everywhere on the net for a solution... I think it probably has something to do with permissions in the debroot/dev/ folder, but I haven't been able to make any progress....

Anyone have any ideas?

thanks,
Naupaka
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zedkatuf2
post Feb 13 2007, 01:29 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 155
Joined: 6-March 05
Member No.: 6,578



QUOTE
I'm having this exact same problem.  I've looked everywhere on the net for a solution... I think it probably has something to do with permissions in the debroot/dev/ folder, but I haven't been able to make any progress....

Anyone have any ideas?

thanks,
Naupaka


Add this to /etc/fstab:

CODE
none     /dev/pts   devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0


..I *think* that should solve the issue...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 10:28 AM