OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> When Will Qtopia 2.1 Roms And Desktop Be Available, Hoping for a complete syncing solution.
sitongia
post Jan 15 2005, 10:32 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 15-January 05
Member No.: 6,237



Is there news on when this will be available? I check periodically, since reading the
Qtopia FAQ saying that it will all be available in late 2004. I see that source code has
been released. Is Qtopia going to distribute ROMs?

Thanks!
==Leonard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Jan 17 2005, 10:48 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



sitongia/Leonard, we're in the same boat. I check daily to see if the 2.1 ROM is released. I'd sacrifice compatibility with every application I currently use just to get a full and seamless sync with Qtopia.

I'm sure it'll be announced in grand fashion when it is released. Until then I guess we're stuck with fingers crossed (or thumbs pressed, as they say here in Germany).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnKiniston
post Jan 18 2005, 08:39 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 213
Joined: 13-May 04
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 3,262



QUOTE(eji @ Jan 17 2005, 11:48 PM)
sitongia/Leonard, we're in the same boat. I check daily to see if the 2.1 ROM is released. I'd sacrifice compatibility with every application I currently use just to get a full and seamless sync with Qtopia.

I'm sure it'll be announced in grand fashion when it is released. Until then I guess we're stuck with fingers crossed (or thumbs pressed, as they say here in Germany).
*


Is there any where that has information about new sync features? I didnt see anything but I may have been looking at the wrong pages.

I dream of a better sync than the Qtopia Desktop 1.7 and its lousy operation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ksignorini
post Feb 3 2005, 06:11 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 117
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 4,936



What's wrong with 1.7?

It seems to work well enough for me. I installed the USB net driver and Qtopia Desktop 1.7. I hook up and click "sync" and it syncs. I have all my data on my Mac and all my data on my Z.

OK, so it's a lousy _looking_ application, but it works.

I mean, I would be thoroughly thrilled if there was some way to do a bidirectional sync with the Apple PIM apps, but hey--this works for now.

Am I wrong here? Does it not work for you?

Kent!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnKiniston
post Feb 3 2005, 07:34 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 213
Joined: 13-May 04
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 3,262



QUOTE(ksignorini @ Feb 3 2005, 07:11 PM)
What's wrong with 1.7?

It seems to work well enough for me.  I installed the USB net driver and Qtopia Desktop 1.7.  I hook up and click "sync" and it syncs.  I have all my data on my Mac and all my data on my Z.

OK, so it's a lousy _looking_ application, but it works.

I mean, I would be thoroughly thrilled if there was some way to do a bidirectional sync with the Apple PIM apps, but hey--this works for now.

Am I wrong here?  Does it not work for you?

Kent!
*


It's just the broken interface that drives me mad, Windows popping up in the wrong places, windows overlapping that you cant close, Clicks doing random seeming things.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ksignorini
post Feb 3 2005, 09:38 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 117
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 4,936



Well, you're correct about that. It's ugly and sloppy.

Kent!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eji
post Feb 8 2005, 12:34 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 29-November 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 5,659



I haven't even been able to connect to my Zaurus using Qtopia Desktop, else I'd be partially satisfied. I'm fairly certain this has to do with my model (SL-6000) and the different Sharp PIM database format it uses. If someone did get this working, I'd love to know about it.

All this ugly hair-pulling hassle is the reason why I'm looking forward to QD 2.1. Plus the plug-in architecture means that we may even be able to do a straight Apple PIM (Address Book, iCal) <--> Zaurus sync instead of all these odd workarounds using ZMacSync or KDE/Pim imports.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chayimkirshen
post Mar 10 2005, 10:18 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,076



Actually, there's a plug in architecture in the current qtopia as well (see the API). The problem is that no one is using it. I've done enough research to see that it's easy enough to handle Zaurus sync events (listen to port 4243 for a qcop message), but no one is doing anything yet.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 03:37 PM