OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> cpu mode
lardman
post Jan 19 2004, 06:33 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I think that's the right word - things which aren't in the kernel.

You know the applications which you can use to overclock, etc. I thought there were some of these available for the pxa 25x chips (though I couldn't find any when I did a quick search of killefiz, only for the SA1110)?

It might still work on the SA1110, and after I get hold of the OZ kernel source I'll see what I can do. I'd be interested in seeing what you did in terms of source code mods if you don't mind.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ced
post Jan 19 2004, 07:57 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 225
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,104



there is an overclock gui re-posted by "tummus" in this thread.

let me know for the code, I'm on a course tomorow up to Friday, so about Monday?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jan 19 2004, 08:08 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Okay, I still need to acquire the OZ kernel sources anyway and to get acquainted with them so that'll be fine.

Enjoy your course,

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 19 2004, 09:22 AM
Post #19





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



How about give it a couple comand line options with sane defaults, and then let someone write a gui frontend for it. This way we can play with it and give better feedback.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 23 2004, 08:15 AM
Post #20





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



I've been talking to "piro" the author for the CCCR kernel patch.

On the SL-5600, the LCD frequency is drive by the CPU (PXA250) so if the cpu frequency change then the LCD will refresh... :-(

On the SL-C series, the LCD has its own chip (ATI W100) therefore the cpu frequency doesn't affect the LCD. Obviously if you change the LCD frequency then screen will refresh, I think with the special kernel you can change it from 75 to 100 (don't know if it's stable).

In summary I'm not going to do any kernel frequency adjustment based on the system load because I've got only a SL-5600... :-(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ced
post Jan 23 2004, 08:18 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 225
Joined: 9-December 03
Member No.: 1,104



sorry that was me...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 22 2004, 09:21 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I just stumbled across this: http://people.ac.upc.es/mpericas/zaurus_pr...oject-final.pdf

It's about the 5500.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Feb 22 2004, 03:23 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



Nice article... except that (page 6) it's the "SecureDigital" controller, not the "SanDisk" controller biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 23 2004, 01:42 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Yes I noticed that.

The article was good in that it explained how the parts worked, but I'd have liked to have seen some numbers, comparisons, etc.

He talks about needing a sysctl tool to actually change the CPU speed values, and says that there's not one available. I'll do some googling and have a go once I've got the base kernel to build.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Feb 23 2004, 02:31 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



QUOTE
He talks about needing a sysctl tool to actually change the CPU speed values, and says that there's not one available.

This works fine with the standard Sharp ROM: http://www.killefiz.de/zaurus/showdetail.php?app=827

Or am I missing something.

If we want to get picky, I thought that the Z doesn't have a CF controller. It just has a standard PCMCIA interface (CF form factor of course) and the controller is in the CF card itself AFAIK.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 23 2004, 02:54 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



@ Tumnus: Yes I agree with you, though perhaps he was trying another method?

He was trying to access /proc/sys/cpu/0/speed (which doesn't even exist on my Z, despite it being the same version of OZ). I think that this requires that "Support CPU clock change (EXPERIMENTAL)" is enabled when you compile the kernel. Obviously this way doesn't work very easily.

Qoverclock uses /proc/cpu/registers/PPCR which is provided by a kernel module (though the module is not available in the source from the looks of things, I presume it's included in the binary distro). Does anyone know where the registers.o (I guess that's the name) module comes from?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 07:45 PM