OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C1000 -> No Internal Hdd Option
TRIsoft
post Mar 26 2005, 01:46 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



QUOTE(maslovsky @ Mar 26 2005, 10:54 AM)
As soon as I get my C1000, I'm planning to add an internal CF connector....
*

O M G !
Anton,
please work on a nice CackoRom before destroying
your brand new C1000 blink.gif .

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Mar 26 2005, 11:49 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



is there enough space to put an extra batter in that empty space? doubling the battery life would be really great.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post Mar 30 2005, 10:13 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



mmmmm...... extra internal CF or double battery cap!?! Such a difficult decision.

I would like to upgrade, but clamshell and usb host just aren't quite enough of an excuse. Extra battery or adding internal CF might cut it tho smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahm
post Mar 31 2005, 10:56 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,809



QUOTE(technojunkie @ Mar 30 2005, 06:13 PM)
mmmmm......  extra internal CF or double battery cap!?! Such a difficult decision.

I would like to upgrade, but clamshell and usb host just aren't quite enough of an excuse. Extra battery or adding internal CF might cut it tho smile.gif
*


But, you're upgrading from a 5500, right?

You get:
VGA screen
Faster processor
Bigger keyboard
At least double the 5500's battery life
Clamshell
and USB host.

biggrin.gif

More than a worthy upgrade. Especially since the C1000 is cheap compared to other Z's. When I bought my 860 almost 6 months ago, I got a great deal on it - ~$570 Canadian. Now I'm getting the C1000 for ~$490 Canadian ph34r.gif (and a C3000 for ~$700 Canadian - ouch!).

Having a Super-1000 (SL-S1000? How about SL-C1000 Type R smile.gif ) would really be nice, though smile.gif I'd definitely go for the internal CF slot. If I need *that* much batter power, I can use my external power pack and get ~20 hrs out of it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
technojunkie
post Mar 31 2005, 11:06 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 11-September 04
Member No.: 4,547



I'll admit tho that the C-xx0 series just didn't have what it takes to make me upgrade but the 3000(too much money) and the 1000(actually affordable for me) are VERY tempting. It's just a shame that I'm broke.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Mar 31 2005, 02:40 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



kahm....
I live in Canada too. Were are you getting the good price on the the C1000 (if you don't mind me asking).
Quote: "Now I'm getting the C1000 for ~$490 Canadian"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahm
post Mar 31 2005, 03:59 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,809



QUOTE(Antikx @ Mar 31 2005, 10:40 PM)
kahm....
I live in Canada too. Were are you getting the good price on the the C1000 (if you don't mind me asking).
Quote: "Now I'm getting the C1000 for ~$490 Canadian"
*


It's called "my buddy lives in Japan right now and his girlfriend is going to mule it back when she visits" smile.gif She left a few days ago, and she's getting back the evening of the 3rd. She's also going to be bringing a C3000 and an CE-RH2 remote.

The store my friend would buy it from lists it at 43050Y, which is about $485 Can. The best part is I can still warranty them even after he leaves Japan, because he has friends there we can send them to smile.gif

I'm going to case-swap the 3000 and the 1000, so my 3000 will be in sexy black instead of Ipod white.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Mar 31 2005, 06:52 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



cool. i'm glad you are getting them for such a good price.
I will probably get a c1000 in summer from conics (currently about $700CAN), unless I find an ebay deal.
I hope someone can make a CF or battery connector that goes in that empty space in the C1000.
Just out of curiosity... where in Canada are you? I'm in Winnipeg.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahm
post Mar 31 2005, 07:15 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,809



QUOTE(Antikx @ Apr 1 2005, 02:52 AM)
cool. i'm glad you are getting them for such  a good price.


Not half as glad as I am, I'm sure smile.gif The Z has utterly spoiled me - I may never be able to buy a North American PDA again sad.gif Fortunately, the 3000 is as close to my ideal as things are likely to get for a while. If Sharp pulls something with more ram or built in wi-fi out of their hats this summer I'll be tempted to upgrade again, but that's about it.

QUOTE
I will probably get a c1000 in summer from conics (currently about $700CAN), unless I find an ebay deal.
I hope someone can make a CF or battery connector that goes in that empty space in the C1000.


Given the difficulty of that particular modification, I doubt it. Between sourcing the parts required and the surface mount soldering of the chip and socket, Super-1000s will be very few and far between.

QUOTE
Just out of curiosity... where in Canada are you? I'm in Winnipeg.
*


Sunny Edmonton, Alberta. Most of my family is from Virden, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Mar 31 2005, 11:07 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Mar 27 2005, 12:46 AM)
QUOTE(maslovsky @ Mar 26 2005, 10:54 AM)
As soon as I get my C1000, I'm planning to add an internal CF connector....
*

O M G !
Anton,
please work on a nice CackoRom before destroying
your brand new C1000 blink.gif .

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*



Don't worry Marc, I'm not going to do that myself smile.gif I'm no good at such things, but a friend of mine should be able to do that easily. He's been reparing Zauriis with broken charging circuts, burned processors and corrupted NAND Flash chips smile.gif

BTW, we're about to perform a 128 Mb RAM upgrade to his C860 smile.gif As soon as we find the memory chips we need (seems to be very tricky), he's going to do the hardware part and me - the software (kernel patching, etc.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grog
post Apr 1 2005, 03:00 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 692
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,564



QUOTE(Antikx @ Mar 31 2005, 08:52 PM)
Just out of curiosity... where in Canada are you? I'm in Winnipeg.
*

Hey, hi there Antikx. I live in the 'peg too. Amazing how near & far the Z brings us all together! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Apr 2 2005, 03:27 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(kahm @ Mar 31 2005, 03:59 PM)
I'm going to case-swap the 3000 and the 1000, so my 3000 will be in sexy black instead of Ipod white.


kahm, FYI:
(In Chinese, but the pics just tell the whole story)
This guy has swapped the cases of C1k and C3k, PLUS replaced C3k's MD with a 2GB CF.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahm
post Apr 2 2005, 04:51 PM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,809



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Apr 2 2005, 11:27 AM)
QUOTE(kahm @ Mar 31 2005, 03:59 PM)
I'm going to case-swap the 3000 and the 1000, so my 3000 will be in sexy black instead of Ipod white.


kahm, FYI:
(In Chinese, but the pics just tell the whole story)
This guy has swapped the cases of C1k and C3k, PLUS replaced C3k's MD with a 2GB CF.
*



Damn. And here I was hoping to be the first to actually bother happy.gif

Nice pics - definitely helpful for doing the swap. I wonder how well that 2gb CF worked out - I haven't seen anyone attempt that before, either.

I've still got ~23hrs to wait till I get my hands on mine!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Apr 2 2005, 05:51 PM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



BTW would anyone know why there seem to be marks on the silver column the hinge is connected to? Is this from the modification or something else?

QUOTE(ZDevil @ Apr 2 2005, 06:27 AM)
kahm, FYI:
(In Chinese, but the pics just tell the whole story)
This guy has swapped the cases of C1k and C3k, PLUS replaced C3k's MD with a 2GB CF.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahm
post Apr 2 2005, 07:10 PM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,809



QUOTE(bluedevils @ Apr 3 2005, 01:51 AM)
BTW would anyone know why there seem to be marks on the silver column the hinge is connected to?  Is this from the modification or something else?


I can't tell. Blowing up the pics make it look like he's got scotch tape on there for some reason. Ask me again in ~21hrs or so.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 03:29 PM