OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> connecting to the internet from your zaurus 5500
post Jan 17 2004, 09:27 PM
Post #1





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Hello,
I have been able to sync my zaurus (192.168.129.201 ) from my debian desktop. I am trying to get my zaurus internet acess so I can install packages, run irc blah blah blah. I used the instructions from http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php...ric%20%28USB%29
but it didn't seem to work. Especially the part of route delete -net 192.168.129.0/24 usbd0. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
--jshufelt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pyrates
post Jan 18 2004, 04:39 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 198
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,475



So, why doesn't it work? Please post the error message, as well as your output of "route" just before trying that. Did everything else work?

Cheers
Philipp
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 20 2004, 04:41 PM
Post #3





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Philipp,
Yes, everything else worked. I can both sync and ssl from my Debian box into the Zaurus. I just cannot get internet access from my zaurus. I suspect that my masq isn't set up properly and the error of 0/24 does not exist from "route delete -net 192.168.129.0/24 usbd0" is not telling me much. --Jonathan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pyrates
post Jan 21 2004, 01:03 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 198
Joined: 17-January 04
Member No.: 1,475



Did you issue that last "route add default gw 192.168.129.1" ? I don't think you really need to remove the local net, for you don't want to connect to any other pc than your one that has it's own route, yes? Try " ping 194.25.2.129", if that works, you just don't have your nameserver configured (as told in the last line before point 4).

How are you connecting to the internet? Directly? The link you gave expects you to use your ethX interface, that's just valid if you have a router between your box and the net. You have dsl? Than use ppp0 instead of ethX (I don't know about cable or modem, sorry). Try replacing "-j SNAT" by "-j MASQUERADE", I think SNAT is only usable if you have a fixed IP address... Probably you need "modprobe ipt_MASQUERADE" as well, it should be loaded automagically, but I'm not sure what exactly does it...

HtH, cheers
Philipp
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckeswani
post Jan 31 2004, 08:26 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 16-January 04
From: Boston, MA
Member No.: 1,460



Are you still having issues? I just go this to work and will post the steps I had to walk through, if you'd like.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
metal9966
post Jan 31 2004, 09:35 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 11-November 03
From: Dallas, TX
Member No.: 898



May not help wiht the Zaurus but
I had similar problems with a Linux / Windows home network, if you can ping IPs on your local network, but are unable to ping address' across the net, you probebly need to set the Default Gateway, Primary DNS and secondary DNS in the Zaurus or any machine to match the info from you internet provider. It is better than using DHCP in my opinin.

later
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2014 - 03:17 PM