OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Do Video Out On C3000?
Howard Roark
post Apr 4 2005, 09:02 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 3-April 05
Member No.: 6,778



Its listed as an option but I have ni idea how this "option" works? Can anyone help?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Apr 4 2005, 09:29 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



There is no video out... there is a cf vga out care, but it's not of great use...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Howard Roark
post Apr 4 2005, 09:36 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 3-April 05
Member No.: 6,778



QUOTE(omega @ Apr 4 2005, 09:29 AM)
There is no video out... there is a cf vga out care, but it's not of great use...
*



Any suggestions on a make?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Apr 4 2005, 09:55 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



www.shirtpocket.co.uk talk about it if i remember. Also, I think the card actually has tv out as well!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rickh
post Apr 4 2005, 11:07 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 19-August 04
Member No.: 4,336



QUOTE(omega @ Apr 4 2005, 05:29 PM)
There is no video out... there is a cf vga out care, but it's not of great use...
*

Not only that, but the memory_cs.o that's provided is built against the 2.4.18 kernel. cfxgamirror will run, but hangs. You can get the source from iodata's site, so I suppose it could be built against 2.4.20, but I've not tried it.

R.
==
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Howard Roark
post Apr 5 2005, 04:17 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 3-April 05
Member No.: 6,778



after some research, I have found IO-Data's product is the one that i recommended for the C3000. As I am a fool and my money often parts from me,
I'll probably end up buying one just to see.


wacko.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rickh
post Apr 6 2005, 05:12 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 19-August 04
Member No.: 4,336



QUOTE(Howard Roark @ Apr 6 2005, 12:17 AM)
after some research, I have found IO-Data's product is the one that i recommended for the C3000. As I am a fool and my money often parts from me,
I'll probably end up buying one just to see.


wacko.gif
*

See my comments directly above yours. They apply to the IOData CFXGA card (which is out of production, BTW, so if you can find one, you may want to buy one in any case).

R.
==
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jamesannan
post Apr 6 2005, 05:58 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 119
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 3,955



I've got the CFXGA card. Not yet used it in anger but I am about to go and give some presentations with it. It only does still images, won't handle moving video AIUI.

James
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 6 2005, 11:05 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(jamesannan @ Apr 7 2005, 11:58 AM)
I've got the CFXGA card. Not yet used it in anger but I am about to go and give some presentations with it. It only does still images, won't handle moving video AIUI.

James
*


You mean it only allows you to do slideshows? I was thinking of using it to plug into a LCD monitor and have a larger scree. I only do presentations occasionally so that would mean it would be collecting dust most of the time?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w14
post Apr 6 2005, 11:13 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 180
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,049



Meanie,

I have this card on my 760. I'm assuming the situation is the same. There are two ways to use the card - either with the mirror app, or using Sharp's/Hancom's presentation package, depending on which Z/ROM you have.

The presentation packages output to the card directly for displaying slideshows.

Mirror does exactly what its suggests - it morrors everything to the card, so you could in theory use it as you want. In practice, though, its so slow its fairly unuseable. Get some version of VNC running instead. Its also painfully slow, but at least its free.

Mike.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 6 2005, 11:37 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(w14 @ Apr 7 2005, 05:13 PM)
Meanie,

I have this card on my 760. I'm assuming the situation is the same. There are two ways to use the card - either with the mirror app, or using Sharp's/Hancom's presentation package, depending on which Z/ROM you have.

The presentation packages output to the card directly for displaying slideshows.

Mirror does exactly what its suggests - it morrors everything to the card, so you could in theory use it as you want. In practice, though, its so slow its fairly unuseable. Get some version of VNC running instead. Its also painfully slow, but at least its free.

Mike.
*


Mike,

thanks for the info. I am using vnc but it is flakey with the C3000, ie wrong driver modules compiled against older kernel... it locks up a lot sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Howard Roark
post Apr 7 2005, 06:46 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 3-April 05
Member No.: 6,778



would mirror run faster on a C3000?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahm
post Apr 7 2005, 08:18 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,809



QUOTE(Howard Roark @ Apr 8 2005, 02:46 AM)
would mirror run faster on a C3000?
*


There is no noticeable speed advantage in a C3000 over an 860. There is only a 16mhz speed difference between the 2, and, AFAIK, the 2.4 kernel prevents the C3000 from using the PXA270's wireless MMX instructions. MMX wouldn't help with the video display anyway - Xscale processors just don't have the grunt to move that many pixels without specialized hardware.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cwaig
post Apr 7 2005, 11:30 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 153
Joined: 5-January 04
Member No.: 1,081



Maplin do a USB->VGA interface - dunno if there`s a way to get that going under linux? No use for the older Z`s, but might be handy for the 1K/3K/6K as they have USB host ports...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omega
post Apr 8 2005, 02:50 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 13-April 04
From: Ireland
Member No.: 2,825



If i know the device you're talking about it uses usb 2.0 to get the bandwidth required to draw a video screen... plus a driver is needed...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 04:16 AM