OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Syncing - Effort To Create A Definitive Doc, What does/doesn't work with Win & Linux
lardman
post Apr 7 2005, 03:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I keep seeing posts about trying to sync with OZ, I know nothing about sync'ing as it's not something I've done for a long, long, long time.

I'd like to create a doc which lists the options and drawbacks of the various methods.

I wonder if those of you who do, or who have tried and failed to varying degrees could post to say what does & doesn't work. Please include - your PC OS, your OZ version (& settings in the security applet if applicable), connection method, the sync software (with an URL might be nice ;-)), what does & doesn't work in the sync process, etc.

Many thanks,


Simon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Jcroto1
post May 26 2005, 05:36 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 4,866



I didn't really set anything up. Just make sure you're using the Qtopia Deasktop from the web site and not one that came with your Zaurus since they use different formats.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post May 27 2005, 06:00 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ May 27 2005, 01:36 AM)
I didn't really set anything up.  Just make sure you're using the Qtopia Deasktop from the web site and not one that came with your Zaurus since they use different formats.
*


Jcroto1:
I reflashed using the 40-24 instead of the 64-0 because I want to put Opera in internal memory and just like you say, the sync worked right off the bat - well, I had to say accept "any" in the security settings and put the IP address of the Zaurus in the Qtopia 1.7 settings, but it worked like a charm.

Thanks for your inspiration! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
brashley46
post Jun 11 2005, 12:37 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Toronto
Member No.: 7,227



QUOTE(tombraider @ May 27 2005, 10:00 AM)
QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ May 27 2005, 01:36 AM)
I didn't really set anything up.  Just make sure you're using the Qtopia Deasktop from the web site and not one that came with your Zaurus since they use different formats.
*


Jcroto1:
I reflashed using the 40-24 instead of the 64-0 because I want to put Opera in internal memory and just like you say, the sync worked right off the bat - well, I had to say accept "any" in the security settings and put the IP address of the Zaurus in the Qtopia 1.7 settings, but it worked like a charm.

Thanks for your inspiration! biggrin.gif
*


Are you guys syncing through the USB cradle, or the network? I just flashed to OZ 3.5.3 32-32 today and can't get Qtopia 1.70 to connect to the cradle. What should the IP address of the Zaurus be? Which network USB setting should I use on the Zaurus? ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Jun 11 2005, 02:26 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



QUOTE(brashley46 @ Jun 11 2005, 08:37 PM)
QUOTE(tombraider @ May 27 2005, 10:00 AM)
QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ May 27 2005, 01:36 AM)
I didn't really set anything up.  Just make sure you're using the Qtopia Deasktop from the web site and not one that came with your Zaurus since they use different formats.
*


Jcroto1:
I reflashed using the 40-24 instead of the 64-0 because I want to put Opera in internal memory and just like you say, the sync worked right off the bat - well, I had to say accept "any" in the security settings and put the IP address of the Zaurus in the Qtopia 1.7 settings, but it worked like a charm.

Thanks for your inspiration! biggrin.gif
*


Are you guys syncing through the USB cradle, or the network? I just flashed to OZ 3.5.3 32-32 today and can't get Qtopia 1.70 to connect to the cradle. What should the IP address of the Zaurus be? Which network USB setting should I use on the Zaurus? ph34r.gif
*



I'm not using the cradle - am using my wireless card to connect wirelessly to my Windows XP PC through the Qtopia desktop 1.7.
On your Zaurus, with your wireless card inserted and its green light on, find the network icon under the settings tab and click on it, write down the IP number displayed next to the "802.11b (wlan0) line. Mine is 192.168.1.103...yours may be different and sometimes mine is 192.168.1.104 instead.

On your zaurus go to the security icon and click on the green icon that looks like a "refresh" symbol. Change the first drop down box to "Any"; change the second dropdown box to "Qtopia 1.7", click "okay".

On your PC, open Qtopia 1.7 - click on file, settings. Click on the "General" icon, select the LAN choice, put the IP number you wrote down from your Zaurus in the box, choose your sync preference in the "Sync" tab, click okay.

The connection icon in the Windows taskbar should change to green.

You can transfer files from your pc to the zaurus by clicking on the "documents" icon in Qtopia 1.7 desktop or sync by choosing the sync all icon at the top.
I have not been able to get the backup/restore feature to work though.

Let me know if you need more help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
brashley46
post Jun 12 2005, 09:43 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Toronto
Member No.: 7,227



QUOTE(tombraider @ Jun 11 2005, 06:26 PM)
QUOTE(brashley46 @ Jun 11 2005, 08:37 PM)
QUOTE(tombraider @ May 27 2005, 10:00 AM)
QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ May 27 2005, 01:36 AM)
I didn't really set anything up.  Just make sure you're using the Qtopia Deasktop from the web site and not one that came with your Zaurus since they use different formats.
*


Jcroto1:
I reflashed using the 40-24 instead of the 64-0 because I want to put Opera in internal memory and just like you say, the sync worked right off the bat - well, I had to say accept "any" in the security settings and put the IP address of the Zaurus in the Qtopia 1.7 settings, but it worked like a charm.

Thanks for your inspiration! biggrin.gif
*


Are you guys syncing through the USB cradle, or the network? I just flashed to OZ 3.5.3 32-32 today and can't get Qtopia 1.70 to connect to the cradle. What should the IP address of the Zaurus be? Which network USB setting should I use on the Zaurus? ph34r.gif
*



I'm not using the cradle - am using my wireless card to connect wirelessly to my Windows XP PC through the Qtopia desktop 1.7.
On your Zaurus, with your wireless card inserted and its green light on, find the network icon under the settings tab and click on it, write down the IP number displayed next to the "802.11b (wlan0) line. Mine is 192.168.1.103...yours may be different and sometimes mine is 192.168.1.104 instead.

On your zaurus go to the security icon and click on the green icon that looks like a "refresh" symbol. Change the first drop down box to "Any"; change the second dropdown box to "Qtopia 1.7", click "okay".

On your PC, open Qtopia 1.7 - click on file, settings. Click on the "General" icon, select the LAN choice, put the IP number you wrote down from your Zaurus in the box, choose your sync preference in the "Sync" tab, click okay.

The connection icon in the Windows taskbar should change to green.

You can transfer files from your pc to the zaurus by clicking on the "documents" icon in Qtopia 1.7 desktop or sync by choosing the sync all icon at the top.
I have not been able to get the backup/restore feature to work though.

Let me know if you need more help.
*



Just messaged you ... I'm not wireless yet. sad.gif Do you know any way to set up USB networking through the cradle on Windows?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kybKenny
post Jul 5 2005, 04:03 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 22-June 05
Member No.: 7,417



Zaurus:
OZ: 3.5.3
Opie with Kopi /Kapi

Desktop:
Debian / KDE / Kontact/ Korganizer

Connection:
TCP/IP via USB since wlan not working yet...

I followed this guy here.

He installs open-ssh on the Z for Replacement of the Dropbear, because the latter can't produce ssh-keys, which are needed for passwordless ssh/scp.

he then uses the 'remote file' feature of kdepimpi to scp his Kaddressbook/Korganizer-files to the Z , sync them, and scp them back to the Desktop.

It runs shmooove :-)

I think the removal of dropbear in favor of open-ssh isn't obligatory, but then you will have to write your user-password of the desktop system in plaintext into the config-dialogue of kdepimpi, if i'm right (anyways the change from dropbear to openssh isn't too painful, and its a nifty feature to be able to "ssh Zaurus 'command' " without passwords) .

direct link to "passwordless ssh" from Linux-Gazette here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
lardman   Syncing - Effort To Create A Definitive Doc   Apr 7 2005, 03:55 AM
TheCrook   QUOTE(lardman @ Apr 7 2005, 11:55 AM)I keep s...   Apr 15 2005, 02:18 AM
Pcghost   On my Collie is Openzaurus 3.5.3 (Hentges version ...   May 19 2005, 01:13 PM
sibble-comp-oesf   QUOTE(TheCrook @ Apr 15 2005, 03:18 AM)Instal...   Aug 15 2005, 09:39 PM
sibble-comp-oesf   QUOTE(sibble-comp-oesf @ Aug 15 200...   Aug 15 2005, 09:57 PM
sibble-comp-oesf   Well after a lot of searching of this forum, and p...   Sep 8 2005, 10:38 PM
larrycow   Handheld: * Zaurus SL5500 * OZ 3.5.3 * OPIE 1.2 *...   Oct 9 2005, 01:47 PM
Jcroto1   Qtopia Desktop 1.7 from Trolltech works with OZ 3....   May 19 2005, 07:18 PM
tombraider   QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ May 20 2005, 03:18 AM)Qtopia ...   May 26 2005, 05:00 PM
Jcroto1   I didn't really set anything up. Just make su...   May 26 2005, 05:36 PM
tombraider   QUOTE(Jcroto1 @ May 27 2005, 01:36 AM)I didn...   May 27 2005, 06:00 AM
brashley46   QUOTE(tombraider @ May 27 2005, 10:00 AM)QUOT...   Jun 11 2005, 12:37 PM
tombraider   QUOTE(brashley46 @ Jun 11 2005, 08:37 PM)QUOT...   Jun 11 2005, 02:26 PM
brashley46   QUOTE(tombraider @ Jun 11 2005, 06:26 PM)QUOT...   Jun 12 2005, 09:43 AM
kybKenny   Zaurus: OZ: 3.5.3 Opie with Kopi /Kapi Desktop: D...   Jul 5 2005, 04:03 AM
dansawyer   syncing from Evolution - Linux to Z 3.5.3. Set u...   May 27 2005, 06:50 PM
Penguin Man   SL-5500 (Collie) OpenZaurus 3.5.3 / GPE Ubuntu Lin...   Jun 8 2005, 07:42 AM
microsoft/linux   what are peoples /etc/network/interfaces files say...   Oct 13 2005, 04:35 PM
gpinkham   QUOTE(microsoft/linux @ Oct 13 2005, 08:35 PM...   Oct 21 2005, 06:28 AM
gpinkham   QUOTE(gpinkham @ Oct 21 2005, 10:28 AM)I rece...   Oct 21 2005, 06:53 AM
microsoft/linux   mines working. I upgraded to 3.13(Sharp) and it ju...   Oct 29 2005, 03:07 PM
tirant   My Opinion is that syncing should work out-of-the-...   Mar 12 2006, 09:31 AM
koen   QUOTE(tirant @ Mar 12 2006, 05:31 PM)My Opini...   Mar 12 2006, 11:03 AM
tirant   QUOTE(koen @ Mar 12 2006, 08:03 PM)QUOTE(tira...   Mar 12 2006, 12:39 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 08:34 PM