OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Dualboot Idiot Guide, Cacko 1.22 w/ pdaXrom 1.0.0
penguinsam
post Apr 21 2005, 12:56 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 2,316



For those who want to stick with Cacko 1.22 but also want to have a taste on pdaXrom without touching NAND or whatsoever (It's me tongue.gif ), here are some sharings on how I dualboot my Zaurus C760.

--------------------
Firstly, for sure, you need to have Cacko 1.22 with hotfix installed: Get Cacko here

Secondly, get an ext2 or ext3 formatted SD card. To obtain, simply follow this guide: Step-by-step CF/SD fdisk/formatting for newbies. Remember to unplug and plug the SD again to remount.

Then, download the scripts required: Dual_C760.zip. Unzip and place them on the machine, for instance, I place all the extracted files at /home/zaurus/Documents

Download the pdaXrom tarball: either pdaX-SD.tar.gz or pdaX-1.0.5-SD.tar.gz. I am not sure whether the latter is the real 1.0.5. Let's pick this one.

Transfer and extract the tarball to the root of SD card. To do this, you need to have gtar installed in order to let the system understand the "p" flag to preserve permissions, the gtar package is included in Dual_C760.zip:

CODE
$ su
# ipkg install /home/zaurus/gtar_1.13.25-1_arm.ipk
# cd /mnt/card/
# gtar -zxvpf pdaX-1.0.5-SD.tar.gz


Next, follow these steps:

CODE
# mount -o rw,remount /
# mkdir /sbin/sys
# cp /sbin/init /sbin/sys/init
# rm /sbin/init
# cp /home/zaurus/init /sbin/init
# cp /home/zaurus/pivot_root /sbin/pivot_root
# chmod +x /sbin/init
# chmod +x /sbin/pivot_root


Since there are changes on the filesystem in Cacko 1.22, line 12 in the /sbin/init script needs to be altered:

CODE
mount -n -r -t cramfs /boot/usr.bin /usr -o loop


to

CODE
mount -n -r -t squashfs /boot/usr.bin /usr -o loop


I also attached the modified /sbin/init script, for the sake of convenience.

It's nearly the end, remount / as read-only and reboot:

CODE
# mount -o ro,remount /
# reboot


Your Zaurus should now boot into pdaXrom with SD plugged in, and boot into Cacko otherwise. When booted into pdaXrom, login as root and issue startx.
--------------------

Although this guide may looks idiot, like me, I did put a hard effort on dualbooting my Z (Stu should know, Many thanks biggrin.gif ). I hope someone can benefit from it. Corrections and suggestions are welcome.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  init.zip ( 496bytes ) Number of downloads: 307
Attached File  Dual_C760.zip ( 68.84K ) Number of downloads: 1910
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 14)
numeric
post Apr 21 2005, 10:06 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 17-April 05
Member No.: 6,906



Thanks for your guide!

I want to know where is the pivot_root located, as it does not exists in Dual_C760.zip

Thanks alot

QUOTE(penguinsam @ Apr 21 2005, 12:56 PM)
CODE
# mount -o rw,remount /
# mkdir /sbin/sys
# cp /sbin/init /sbin/sys/init
# rm /sbin/init
# cp /home/zaurus/init /sbin/init
# cp /home/zaurus/pivot_root /sbin/pivot_root
# chmod +x /sbin/init
# chmod +x /sbin/pivot_root
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
penguinsam
post Apr 22 2005, 12:16 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 2,316



Sorry I linked the wrong file and have updated. Please see the attachment in post #1 again. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ScottYelich
post Apr 22 2005, 08:29 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 992
Joined: 9-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 609



http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/cacko/pdaXrom/dual-boot-760/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
offroadgeek
post Apr 22 2005, 08:55 AM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,418
Joined: 18-May 03
From: St. Paul, MN
Member No.: 4



This seems really cool, but I'm wondering how responsive pdaxrom and any installed apps are when running off a SD card? Though maybe having a true dual boot environment is worth the compromise in speed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ScottYelich
post Apr 22 2005, 09:18 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 992
Joined: 9-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 609



well, it's load time...
I don't mind load time.

let firefox load -- it takes forever... leave it up, etc.
suspend is your friend.

Scott
ps: with that said, I haven't tried this dualboot :->
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
penguinsam
post Apr 22 2005, 11:02 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 2,316



QUOTE(ScottYelich @ Apr 23 2005, 01:18 AM)
well, it's load time...
I don't mind load time.

let firefox load -- it takes forever... leave it up, etc.
suspend is your friend.

Scott
ps: with that said, I haven't tried this dualboot :->
*

Since I got my pdaXrom installed on my high-speed panasonic SD biggrin.gif , the bootup time is pretty short, much shorter than booting Cacko up. Another reason for that speed may be...I haven't installed any apps on it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
numeric
post Apr 24 2005, 10:48 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 17-April 05
Member No.: 6,906



I run pdaxrom on SD now, however the mouse pointer is offset about 20 pixels when it is on the right side of the screen.

I've tried to recalibrate :

1. run ts_calibrate

or

2. del /etc/pointercal and reboot

but doen't fix the problem.

Please advise how to fix it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
penguinsam
post Apr 25 2005, 12:47 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 2,316



QUOTE(numeric @ Apr 25 2005, 02:48 PM)
I run pdaxrom on SD now, however the mouse pointer is offset about 20 pixels when it is on the right side of the screen.

I've tried to recalibrate :

1. run ts_calibrate

or

2. del /etc/pointercal and reboot

but doen't fix the problem.

Please advise how to fix it.
*

Yes, this is one of the problems that we need to overcome.

It seems the apps bar on the right of the screen is taken into account. I've no idea yet sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
penguinsam
post Apr 25 2005, 06:31 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 2,316



Rather than the mouse pointer offset issue pointed out by numeric, there are still some problems to be fixed, one is that when booted to Cacko, extra mount points appear, it's better to illustrate with the aid of these screenshots:

1. Mount table before setting up dualboot


2. Mount table after setting up dualboot


3. Extra "Temporary Storage" in Files tab


4. "Internal Flash" goes to "/home"


5. "Temporary Storage" goes to "/home/zaurus/Documents"


I tried looking at the dualboot init script, and found that this problem may due to the unsuccess in unmounting some mount points.

I am suspecting line 30 and 31 of the init script:

CODE
umount /dev >/dev/null 2>&1
umount /proc >/dev/null 2>&1


numeric, have you got the same problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
numeric
post Apr 25 2005, 05:25 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 17-April 05
Member No.: 6,906



Yap, me too. Got exactly the same problem under CACKO 1.22 .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
numeric
post Apr 25 2005, 05:30 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 17-April 05
Member No.: 6,906



And one more problem. I found out that the battery will be used up very soon even after it was suspended.

I have been installed pdaxrom on the ROM few months ago. It does not have these problems:

- no cursor offset
- suspend without using up the battery life

Do you think there are ways to solve?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
penguinsam
post Apr 26 2005, 08:33 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 2,316



QUOTE(numeric @ Apr 26 2005, 09:30 AM)
And one more problem. I found out that the battery will be used up very soon even after it was suspended.

I have been installed pdaxrom on the ROM few months ago. It does not have these problems:

- no cursor offset
- suspend without using up the battery life

Do you think there are ways to solve?
*

Yes, that's a problem. Many problems needed to be solved... sad.gif

I am now waiting the latest tarball of pdaXrom from Laze to see if the same issues exist.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omro
post Jun 20 2005, 02:20 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 798
Joined: 28-May 04
Member No.: 3,474



Would this work on a C1000 with the stock Sharp ROM?

Thanks,

Owen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omro
post Jun 23 2005, 12:18 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 798
Joined: 28-May 04
Member No.: 3,474



Hi there, I'm hoping this will work with my C1000 - making the attempt, if anyone already has, let me know, would be cool to compare notes
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 03:35 PM