OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

20 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Xfce4 Finetuning, Tips and extra files for xfce4
Chero
post Jul 25 2005, 12:58 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



Hi,

Just a thread for fine-tuning xfce4, post your tips, tricks and files over here.

I've been playing with xfce4-menu plugin for the panel.

The menu plugin also includes a file browser, and a mount tool.

Attached File  menu3.jpg ( 115.87K ) Number of downloads: 2166
Attached File  menu5.jpg ( 122.03K ) Number of downloads: 1253


The default ipk does only include an empty menu, so I figured out how to make a full one. It's in the attached ipk. (Both "user shortcuts" and "applications")

Attached File  menu1.jpg ( 120.82K ) Number of downloads: 953
Attached File  menu2.jpg ( 130.6K ) Number of downloads: 1256


I noticed that the panel crashes if there is no file to store "recent-files". I included this file in the ipk too.

Chero.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  xfce4_menu_pdax_0.0.1_armv5tel.ipk ( 3.37K ) Number of downloads: 545
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scoutme
post Jul 25 2005, 01:33 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 579
Joined: 19-April 04
Member No.: 2,912



nice idea wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Jul 27 2005, 11:54 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



Some extra ipkgs :

icon-theme
icon-box
notes plugin

Chero
Attached File(s)
Attached File  extra2.tar.gz ( 1.35MB ) Number of downloads: 741
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Jul 28 2005, 10:02 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



For those who are looking for the files :

They are all here (thanks to ScottYellich)

The base package and a few plugins are located in /old

Chero
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jerrybme
post Jul 28 2005, 11:15 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 639
Joined: 4-September 03
From: Chicago
Member No.: 401



QUOTE(Chero @ Jul 25 2005, 02:58 AM)
The menu plugin also includes a file browser, and a mount tool.


Chero.
*



Chero:

How do you add the mount tool to the panel? I don't see it when I right mouse click on the panel and choose "Add new item"

I'm having similar issues with system load & cpu graph.

Thanks,
Jerry

**Edit**
I found that several of the panel plugins did not have symlinks from the SD. When I installed the various ipks to my SD most of them threw the error "Cannot locate xfce4 on external drives" Not sure if that is related to not making the symlinks during installation. Linking them corrected my problem for system load & cpu graph.

Where is the mount plugin located? I installed the menu ipk above but can't find any associated mount plugins.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Jul 28 2005, 11:58 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



I suppose you installed the ipkgs, right.

Did you quit and restart xfce ?

If this doesn't help, could you kill your panel (from an aterm : killall xfce4-panel)
Then from the same aterm, restart the panel (xfce4-panel &)
What are the error messages ?
When you try to add an item, what are the error messages then ?

BTW : I think there is still something wrong with cpugraph - at least, I don't believe the output on my Z.

Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jerrybme
post Jul 28 2005, 01:08 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 639
Joined: 4-September 03
From: Chicago
Member No.: 401



QUOTE(Chero @ Jul 28 2005, 01:58 PM)
I suppose you installed the ipkgs, right.

Did you quit and restart xfce ?

If this doesn't help, could you kill your panel (from an aterm : killall xfce4-panel)
Then from the same aterm, restart the panel (xfce4-panel &)
What are the error messages ?
When you try to add an item, what are the error messages then ?
*

I've installed all of the ipks from Scott's feed to my SD (except xffm as I prefer rox), as I mentioned most complained about not finding xfce4.

I'm getting the following error loading the panel from a terminal.
CODE
module /usr/local/lib/xfce4/panel-plugins/libmenustart.so cannot be opened: libdbh-1.0.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

the libmenustart.so is in the proper directory but I can't find libdbh-1.0 anywhere.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Jul 28 2005, 01:20 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



Sorry,

Forgot to add this one.

Chero
Attached File(s)
Attached File  dbh_1.0.24_armv5tel.ipk ( 17.09K ) Number of downloads: 265
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jerrybme
post Jul 28 2005, 02:12 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 639
Joined: 4-September 03
From: Chicago
Member No.: 401



QUOTE(Chero @ Jul 28 2005, 03:20 PM)
Sorry,

Forgot to add this one.

Chero
*

Ok, that fixed it but for some reason ipkg is not creating the symlinks. I had to manually create the symlinks of the libdbh files. Makes me wonder what else isn't linked properly..

I used the following to install your ipkgs
CODE
ipkg -d sd install /location_of_ipk.ipk


Am I doing something wrong in my installation command?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jerrybme
post Jul 29 2005, 09:31 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 639
Joined: 4-September 03
From: Chicago
Member No.: 401



Chero:
I found the problem I was having is that the file names do not always match the info in the ipk. When I downloaded the files, most of them had underscores between the words of the ipk for example:
CODE
xfce4_cpugraph_plugin
ipkg is looking for
CODE
xfce4-cpugraph-plugin

Once I renamed all of the ipks they installed without the error smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Jul 29 2005, 10:20 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



QUOTE(jerrybme @ Jul 29 2005, 06:31 PM)
Chero:
I found the problem I was having is that the file names do not always match the info in the ipk. When I downloaded the files, most of them had underscores between the words of the ipk for example:
CODE
xfce4_cpugraph_plugin
ipkg is looking for
CODE
xfce4-cpugraph-plugin

Once I renamed all of the ipks they installed without the error smile.gif
*


Thanks for the tip, I'll try to change the ipkgs asap.

Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jul 30 2005, 03:07 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



er.... I managed to make quite a mess with this.

I had the 2 part xfce installed on / and the plugins I wanted, etc. worked nicely on my 6k.

Seeing the new ipk that should work on sd, I used the package manager (in openbox) to remove all xcfe files listed ad installed.

I then installed the new ipk to sd and installed the ipks from ScottYelich's feed (chero) also to sd.

I booted, and got a blue screen with a task bar. No good.

Tried to install dbh.. wouldn't go anywhere but / (the ipk naming thing, maybe?)

still no good with dbh on /

played with variations on above.

removed all instelled xfce via package manager, installed old 2 part stuff.

Got a blue screen with logo and taskbar... no menus etc.. same as above, though it claims stuff isd loading when it is brought up.

edit. I'm just finding stuff with find and killing it. I'll try the single pacage on sd after a cleanup


uninstalled all xfce via package manager.

I assume there are files the packagemanager didn't get, that are causing the problem. Any idea what those files might be? Any suggestions (other than flash and do it all from a clean install?)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jul 31 2005, 12:14 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



OK
removed a ton of files, installed the new package and the additional stuff in ScottYelich's feed. I get xfce, taskbar and window manager, no panel. run ipkg-link same result. reboot, xfce on't load-- can't find gconf(2?). and is I recall correctle xfwm, or xfce' ? will wait for updated ipks, i think
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
benplaut
post Jul 31 2005, 01:34 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 27-April 05
Member No.: 7,011



whenever i try to add it to the panel, the panel dies...

any clues? dry.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
john4
post Jul 31 2005, 08:35 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 9-June 05
Member No.: 7,305



Is there anyone can teach me to add the CF SD Beterry monitor to the bar?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

20 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 03:53 PM