OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Samba Over Wi-fi?, Mini How-To
lpetroni
post Aug 13 2005, 06:30 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 5-June 05
Member No.: 7,271



Hi,

I would like to sync/transfer files from my Mac and Z using a samba shared folder and would like to do this over wi-fi. Next I will try to use ZMacSync over WiFi.

So far I can get my Z to recognize my CF WiFi card and I can pick up an IP address from my DHCP server. I connect to my DHCP server thru an wifi AP that is hardwired to the DHCP server.
I can surf the web, get email and connect to my Mac's Personal Web Server.

But I can not connect from my Mac to the Z be it with Samba or FTP.

So my questions are (be aware that I don't know anything about Linux):

1. How can I check if Samba is running?
2. Do I need to have a fix IP address or can I use a dynamic one as I'm doing currently?

I found an article in ZUG which has a listing with a lot of commands and adjustments to configure Samba over WiFi - is all that programming necessary?

Thanks in advance!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
dhns
post Aug 13 2005, 06:42 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(lpetroni @ Aug 14 2005, 03:30 AM)
But I can not connect from my Mac to the Z be it with Samba or FTP.

So my questions are (be aware that I don't know anything about Linux):

1. How can I check if Samba is running

Open a terminal (e.g. ssh or using a local terminal). Type ps -ef and watch out for "smbd"
QUOTE
2. Do I need to have a fix IP address or can I use a dynamic one as I'm doing currently?

I found an article in ZUG which has a listing with a lot of commands and adjustments to configure Samba over WiFi - is all that programming necessary?

Unfortunately, yes.

The Samba server "smbd" is configured by Sharp so that it can be accessed only through the USB line. This is a security feature since otherwise, anybody would be able to insert any code (virus, trojan horse, spyware, ...) into your PDA. USB is seen to be an interface where you need to have "local" access to the device. So it is more protected.

There are a lot of commands to issue to configure the smbd differently so that it reacts on other access methods like WLAN.

To copy files, I usually recommend to either use the USB cable or a memory card. Or make a tar package, send over ssh and unpack. This could look like (commands issued in a Mac Terminal!):
CODE
(cd /someDirectoryOnYourMac; tar czf - filesToSend) | ssh root:password@192.168.129.201 sh -c "(cd /destinationDirectoryOnZaurus && tar xvzf -)


Unfortunately, this also copies the Resource forks of files to the Zaurus and I have not yet found an option to switch that off.

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpetroni
post Aug 14 2005, 01:56 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 5-June 05
Member No.: 7,271



QUOTE(dhns @ Aug 14 2005, 12:42 AM)
Open a terminal (e.g. ssh or using a local terminal). Type ps -ef and watch out for "smbd"


hns,

I installed embeddedkonsole. I open it and get a prompt like:

CODE
bash-2.05$


In this prompt I tried ps -ef or ps -A
I received a long list with lots of information. The header has PID / TIY / TIM / CMD.

In this list I found a lot of CMDs (?) like:
init
keventd
swapper
bdflush
sdmgr
qeserver
addressbook
...

I suppose these are the processes that are running in my Z, right? But I did not find anything like smbd or even closer to this.

Does this mean that Samba is not running by default in my recently flashed SharpROM v3.13? unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Aug 14 2005, 03:43 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(lpetroni @ Aug 14 2005, 10:56 PM)
I suppose these are the processes that are running in my Z, right? But I did not find anything like smbd or even closer to this.

Does this mean that Samba is not running by default in my recently flashed SharpROM v3.13? 
Yes, these are the processes running on the Z. You can also try to run "ps -ef|fgrep smb" to find if anything looks like SMB.

I have just tested what is changing when plugging in the USB interface: The processes "smbd" and "nmbd" are started. On unplugging they are cancelled. So, you won't see them unless you use USB or change the SMB configuration files sad.gif.

To check if they are available, type "which smbd". It should say "/usr/sbin/smbd".

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 10th July 2014 - 12:37 PM