OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Edge On Zauri
qbert
post Aug 14 2005, 05:23 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 10-April 05
Member No.: 6,835



It's been a while since my last posts here, I've still not decided on whether to buy a 3100 or get a Treo 650. I know I can use the Z as a PC far more than a Treo, but I really like the Treo's integrated EDGE support and its ability to function as a phone.

Has anyone managed to do either of these things on a Z?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Aug 14 2005, 05:31 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



Not sure if that's what you are looking for, but I use my C1K to connect to the net via bluetooth link to Nokia 6230b phone that is a class 10 edge device. I have a usb cable too, but still prefer the flexibility of bluetooth wireless connections.
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
qbert
post Aug 14 2005, 06:27 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 10-April 05
Member No.: 6,835



QUOTE(albertr @ Aug 14 2005, 09:31 AM)
Not sure if that's what you are looking for, but I use my C1K to connect to the net via bluetooth link to Nokia 6230b phone that is a class 10 edge device. I have a usb cable too, but still prefer the flexibility of bluetooth wireless connections.
-albertr
*


How hard was it to set up like that? Do you ever find it inconvenient to have to carry both devices around? What about using them on the go? Could I stick the phone in a pocket and use the Z in my hand?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Aug 14 2005, 07:03 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



I always carry a phone, anyway. So it's no different to me. Bluetooth part could be a little tricky to setup, but once it's done, it works. And yes, my phone is in the pocket most of the time.

If you don't like carring the phone, I haven't heard of any edge-capable extention cards available in CF form-factor, you might only be able to find GRPS ones.
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
icruise
post Aug 14 2005, 09:09 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 292
Joined: 24-June 05
Member No.: 7,447



It seems to me that the Zaurus and the Treo are VERY different machines with different strengths and weaknesses, and I think you really need to decide what you need from a PDA and then choose the one that comes closest to that. If you primarily need PIM functions and a phone, then I think the Treo would be the better choice. If you want something closer to a mini-PC, get the Zaurus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daemon1
post Aug 14 2005, 04:19 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 18-April 04
Member No.: 2,901



QUOTE(qbert @ Aug 14 2005, 06:27 AM)
QUOTE(albertr @ Aug 14 2005, 09:31 AM)
Not sure if that's what you are looking for, but I use my C1K to connect to the net via bluetooth link to Nokia 6230b phone that is a class 10 edge device. I have a usb cable too, but still prefer the flexibility of bluetooth wireless connections.
-albertr
*


How hard was it to set up like that? Do you ever find it inconvenient to have to carry both devices around? What about using them on the go? Could I stick the phone in a pocket and use the Z in my hand?
*



its not too hard to do... i have been using it that way for the last 6 months.
more info at http://www.neoresearch.org/gilbert/zaurus.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bombur
post Aug 14 2005, 07:19 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 24-March 04
Member No.: 25



QUOTE(qbert @ Aug 14 2005, 05:23 AM)
It's been a while since my last posts here, I've still not decided on whether to buy a 3100 or get a Treo 650. I know I can use the Z as a PC far more than a Treo, but I really like the Treo's integrated EDGE support and its ability to function as a phone.

Has anyone managed to do either of these things on a Z?
*


I have been using my c3000 with my Treo650 successfuly for the last five months. Edge service really does speed up the page loads and the mail pops!

The trick is to get the proper modem init string in your blue tooth dialup section of the network setup.
For Rogers Canada, you would use AT+CGDCONT=1,"ip","INTERNET.COM"
and of course the proper username and password.

You will of course need to install the bluez packages on your Z and pair the two devices.

The string and username and passwords change from provider to provider. Checkout
http://www.taniwha.org.uk/gprs.html

J.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
qbert
post Aug 15 2005, 10:45 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 10-April 05
Member No.: 6,835



So does anyone here use Cingular as their EDGE provider? I'm moving toward getting a Bluetooth phone with EDGE. Someone told me the Motorola V551 was EDGE capable but the Cingular site doesn't have mention it:

http://onlinestorez.cingular.com/cell-phon...id=cdsku9870012
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Aug 16 2005, 02:39 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



success too with a Nokia 6630 (Edge/Umts) and SLC3000 with a bluetooth dongle.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post Aug 16 2005, 06:18 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



QUOTE(qbert @ Aug 16 2005, 01:45 AM)
So does anyone here use Cingular as their EDGE provider? I'm moving toward getting a Bluetooth phone with EDGE. Someone told me the Motorola V551 was EDGE capable but the Cingular site doesn't have mention it:


I use Cingular, but only because it has a slightly better reception in my house
over Verizon and I have a free unlimited EDGE and SMS on my Cingular account.

If not that, personally I would go with Verizon - their EV-DO network is much better that EDGE (in my area, anyway) - it has both better bandwidth and lower latency.

If you are gonna get a new phone anyway and shelling out $80 or so a month for unlimited data, I would strongly suggest to take a look at Verizon and Moto E815. Assuming that Verizon has a good coverage in your area, of course.
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Aug 16 2005, 07:18 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



I have a v551 on cingular and have surfed using a bluetooth connection to my laptop. Since I haven't used any other data service before, I cannot tell you how it compares. It feels like surfing at 56K.


QUOTE(qbert @ Aug 16 2005, 01:45 AM)
So does anyone here use Cingular as their EDGE provider? I'm moving toward getting a Bluetooth phone with EDGE. Someone told me the Motorola V551 was EDGE capable but the Cingular site doesn't have mention it:

http://onlinestorez.cingular.com/cell-phon...id=cdsku9870012
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
polito
post Aug 17 2005, 02:01 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 4-November 04
From: Phoenix, Arid-Zona
Member No.: 5,344



Well I have had the pleasure (???) of owning the Z5600 and a Pretec CF GPRS card (which was a pain in the butt to get working right) and was able to get it to use my AT&T Wireless (now Cingular) EDGE service.

Then I switched over to Cingular and bought the Nokia 6230. It has bluetooth. Paired with a Socket Bluetooth CF adapter and you're ready to go no matter what Z you have. I've used it on the Z6K and the C3K and it works great.

The best speed I've ever gotten from the EDGE service was in Tallahassee, Florida where my speed topped out at a respectable 23K per second download. I'm in Phoenix, AZ right now and I usually don't get anything better than 7 or 8K/s. Lag time yeah, yeah... it lags real good.

My phone stays in my holster. Have it paired with the Z and have auto-connect set so it never bothers me. I just turn on the Z3K and hit NetFront (need to get a better browser agh...) and it connects right off. Nice.

I know they have UMTS here in Phoenix but right now I don't have a phone that supports it so... mebbe I'll have to check out that 6630 and twist the arm of the guy at the Cingular store to let me upgrade without charging me extra since they sooo kindly sold me a fone WITHOUT UMTS when they knew that I'd probably want that instead *grumble*. Anyhoo just my 2cents.

biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
qbert
post Aug 17 2005, 06:05 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 10-April 05
Member No.: 6,835



QUOTE(bluedevils @ Aug 16 2005, 11:18 AM)
I have a v551 on cingular and have surfed using a bluetooth connection to my laptop.  Since I haven't used any other data service before, I cannot tell you how it compares.  It feels like surfing at 56K.


But it is EDGE on your phone, though?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Aug 17 2005, 06:47 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



actually I don't know how to tell if I have edge.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
qbert
post Aug 17 2005, 06:47 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 10-April 05
Member No.: 6,835



Thanks everyone for the comments. I finally took the plunge and moments ago ordered a 3100 from conics.net.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 07:42 PM