OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Up To Date Feed For Gpe, all the goodness in softfloat form
cesarcardoso
post Oct 18 2005, 03:43 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 10-October 05
From: Brasilia, Brazil
Member No.: 8,287



QUOTE(lardman @ Oct 18 2005, 06:32 AM)
QUOTE
There's a conflict between gpe-session-scripts (from OZ's feed) and xsession-common (from Koen's feed). xsession-common was installed by 'ipkg upgrade' and wanted to overwrite some packages belonging to gpe-session-scripts.


gpe-session has been split out into xsession-common et al since 3.5.3.

This is a problem with mixing programs with feeds of different ages.


But there's no suitable gpe-session-scripts ipkg (only a version for h3900) in Koen's feed! What's the RightWay™ to do?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Oct 18 2005, 03:52 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



I'd say just let it them overwrite one another (or wait for the RC images which Mickeyl is preparing as we speak) using the appropriate ipkg switch.

QUOTE
INIT: cannot execute "/etc/init.d/rc"
INIT: cannot execute "/sbin/getty"
(a lot of times)
INIT: Id "S" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: cannot execute "/sbin/getty"
(another load of times)
INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes


Funny messages though - is getty included in one of these scripts ipks, if so it's ok, if not, then something else is wrong too from the looks of it?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cesarcardoso
post Oct 18 2005, 02:35 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 10-October 05
From: Brasilia, Brazil
Member No.: 8,287



QUOTE(lardman @ Oct 18 2005, 08:52 AM)
I'd say just let it them overwrite one another (or wait for the RC images which Mickeyl is preparing as we speak) using the appropriate ipkg switch.


Hm, letting xsession-scripts overwrite gpe-session-scripts, right?

QUOTE(lardman @ Oct 18 2005, 08:52 AM)
QUOTE
INIT: cannot execute "/etc/init.d/rc"
INIT: cannot execute "/sbin/getty"
(a lot of times)
INIT: Id "S" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: cannot execute "/sbin/getty"
(another load of times)
INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes


Funny messages though - is getty included in one of these scripts ipks, if so it's ok, if not, then something else is wrong too from the looks of it?


/sbin/getty is owned by tinylogin, so the problem isn't there...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cesarcardoso
post Oct 19 2005, 07:55 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 10-October 05
From: Brasilia, Brazil
Member No.: 8,287



Hm... I see that Koen put a gpe-session-scripts package for Collie as of yesterday, let's test smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cesarcardoso
post Oct 20 2005, 04:24 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 10-October 05
From: Brasilia, Brazil
Member No.: 8,287



Hm...

1) Even with the new gpe-session-scripts, there is still a conflict between gpe-session-scripts and xsession-common
2) With the new ipkg, I can't install packages from OE's feed... it says that "Couldnt kill old gunzip process" and aborts. No error happens with packages from Koen's feed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post Oct 20 2005, 04:39 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(cesarcardoso @ Oct 20 2005, 12:24 PM)
Hm...

1) Even with the new gpe-session-scripts, there is still a conflict between gpe-session-scripts and xsession-common

*


ipkg -force-overwrite -force-reinstall install gpe-session-scripts
ipkg -force-overwrite -force-reinstall install xserver-common

That should put all the files in the correct place.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cesarcardoso
post Oct 20 2005, 02:32 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 10-October 05
From: Brasilia, Brazil
Member No.: 8,287



QUOTE(koen @ Oct 20 2005, 09:39 AM)
QUOTE(cesarcardoso @ Oct 20 2005, 12:24 PM)
Hm...

1) Even with the new gpe-session-scripts, there is still a conflict between gpe-session-scripts and xsession-common

*


ipkg -force-overwrite -force-reinstall install gpe-session-scripts
ipkg -force-overwrite -force-reinstall install xserver-common

That should put all the files in the correct place.
*



Yes, it worked! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asola
post Oct 25 2005, 10:46 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 14-June 05
From: Budapest, Hungary
Member No.: 7,347



QUOTE(koen @ Aug 26 2005, 10:20 AM)
If you want to have a lot of bugs fixed and/or try new apps like gpe-mini-browser, add http://ewi546.ewi.utwente.nl/sfeed/ to your feeds.
*


Finally a feed which includes Abiword and Gnumeric. Can't wait to get home and try it on my Z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asola
post Oct 28 2005, 02:23 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 14-June 05
From: Budapest, Hungary
Member No.: 7,347



My recent experiences with the feed:

I installed Abiword from the feed without any problems and seems to work perfectly.

Gnumeric 1.6 had post-install and dependency errors and only -force-overwrite installed it. When I start it, it complains about not being able to load/save settings. It seems that it misses some Gnome configuration utilities (gconftool-2 ???) without which it cannot load/save its preferences (e.g. which toolbars are visible).
Is there a way to fix this?

QUOTE(asola @ Oct 25 2005, 07:46 PM)
QUOTE(koen @ Aug 26 2005, 10:20 AM)
If you want to have a lot of bugs fixed and/or try new apps like gpe-mini-browser, add http://ewi546.ewi.utwente.nl/sfeed/ to your feeds.
*


Finally a feed which includes Abiword and Gnumeric. Can't wait to get home and try it on my Z.
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pungipungi
post Oct 28 2005, 07:15 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 11-March 05
From: Austria
Member No.: 6,614



QUOTE(asola @ Oct 28 2005, 11:23 AM)
When I start it, it complains about not being able to load/save settings. It seems that it misses some Gnome configuration utilities (gconftool-2 ???) without which it cannot load/save its preferences (e.g. which toolbars are visible).
Is there a way to fix this?


I recognized the same problem. I think it results of a missing dbus communication partner:
/usr/libexec/gconfd-2

But haven't found the correct starting procedure yet ...

That's the error message:
** (gnumeric:1745): WARNING **: Unable to load key '/apps/gnumeric/core/gui/toolbars/ObjectToolbar' : because No D-BUS daemon running

When adding a DBUS service to /usr/share/dbus-1/services/
[D-BUS Service]
Names=org.gnome.GConf;
Exec=/usr/libexec/gconfd-2

gconfd-2 is started but nothing changes to the above given error

A call of
> gconftool-2 -R /desktop/gnome
results in

Failure listing entries in `/desktop/gnome': Failed to activate configuration server: The service org.gnome.GConf was not found in the activation entry list
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skliarieh
post Nov 16 2005, 02:35 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 9-November 05
Member No.: 8,502



QUOTE(koen @ Aug 26 2005, 01:20 AM)
If you want to have a lot of bugs fixed and/or try new apps like gpe-mini-browser, add http://ewi546.ewi.utwente.nl/sfeed/ to your feeds.
*


I tried to install gst-plugins and got following output:
# ipkg install gst-plugins_0.8.7-r3_arm.ipk
Installing gst-plugins (0.8.7-r3) to root...
Configuring gst-plugins
//usr/lib/ipkg/info/gst-plugins.postinst: 14: gconftool-2: not found
//usr/lib/ipkg/info/gst-plugins.postinst: 14: gconftool-2: not found
#

Package gconf-dbus provides the binary, but gst-plugin does not depend on the package.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Nov 16 2005, 02:40 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



skliarieh: can you raport such things in OE bugtracker?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jlapier
post Nov 17 2005, 09:59 PM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,557



I'm having trouble with this feed. I added this line to my /etc/ipkg.conf file:
CODE
src gpeextras http://ewi546.ewi.utwente.nl/sfeed/


and if I run 'ipkg update' and then try to install any of the packages by:
ipkg -t /media/ram/tmp -d sd install gpe-mini-browser

my Z locks up. Did I use the wrong syntax in the .conf file?

I have an SL-5500. I don't know how to tell my rom version, but 'uname -a' gives me:
'Linux collie 2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix #1 Thu, 07 Apr 2005 13:43:26 +0200 armv4l unknown'

- Jason
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mimeca
post Nov 20 2005, 09:03 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 682
Joined: 12-February 05
From: Valencia
Member No.: 6,460



There's a problem with package architecture oh the feed. There are packages for armv5te and arm architecture, but only one architecture is on Packages info.

With a SL-5500 and OpenZaurus 3.5.3 I can not upgrade / install new packages because my architecture is arm. It should exist package info for arm architecture.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Nov 20 2005, 09:34 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
but only one architecture is on Packages info.


This is because the 5500 is arm4 only; my C750 has both of these archs listed.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 12:51 PM