OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 128 Mb Flash Upgrade
jbbrs
post Dec 28 2005, 02:05 AM
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 10-March 05
From: Lisboa, Portugal
Member No.: 6,606



I am interested, but I haven't been able to find a place where they would do the surface mount soldering work for me. I won't risk buying the chips and having them end up like a bluetooth module I bought for the simpad...

Maybe if we could set up a "upgrade facility" for our c1000s... smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jblanchard
post Apr 23 2006, 08:55 PM
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 23-April 06
Member No.: 9,687



Hi there,

Just wondering if this effort to find chips has died. If not, does anyone know if the flash chip will also work in the cxx0 line? I have a brick because of faulty NAND and have nothing to lose in trying to fix it!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Apr 24 2006, 05:17 AM
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

It should totally work with C7xxx and SL6000. In fact, I'll soon give that a try.

Meanwhile, the effort is stopped due to the lack if chips. If they could be found, I'm ready to try - especially since I'll soon get a BGA reworking station :-)

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jblanchard
post Apr 24 2006, 07:42 AM
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 23-April 06
Member No.: 9,687



I'm not totally up on chip part numbering, but there seem to be a number of things that come up from a googling of "k9k1g08uoa" but with suffixes (K9K1G08UOA-FIBO, K9K1G08UOA-VIB0T, etc.)

Are these all the same chip we're looking for?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Apr 24 2006, 08:25 AM
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



It's been a while. I suggest you look at the reference files and compare them to the chip we know to work (hint - see dismantled zaurus pics).

My understanding is as long as the prefix is identical, it will work. I'm willing to commit a machine to the test. Now I need chips.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 2 2006, 02:33 PM
Post #51





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I have found a possible source of the flash memory chips!

I got hold of a 128MB Lexar Memory Stick (not duo or pro, just a regular one), it's in a transparent purple case so you can see the chip inside. It says

samsung 334
k9k1g08u0a
ycbo


there seems to be a supplier here (or so they claim): http://www.partminer.com/pagedetail/5353/18

I am willing to sacrifice this memory stick and extract the memory device... and to try and solder it into my 6000. When this subject first got discussed and I got all excited, I found someone with surface mount tools, so maybe I can resurrect this plan!

would anyone find a photo useful?


--edit: oops, it was 334 and not 324 and also added supplier

This post has been edited by speculatrix: May 2 2006, 02:34 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post May 3 2006, 04:17 AM
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



also found the exact samsung chips myself on a card 4 days ago.
We just need to test that now.

PS: when you will have soldered the chip, you will need a special nand .dbk to restore from the DM menu. Tell me

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 3 2006, 12:22 PM
Post #53





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(guylhem @ May 3 2006, 01:17 PM)
also found the exact samsung chips myself on a card 4 days ago.
We just need to test that now.

PS: when you will have soldered the chip, you will need a special nand .dbk to restore from the DM menu. Tell me

Guylhem
*


it might be a dumb question but would I need to unsolder the existing chip from the Z, given that the 6000 has only 64MB of flash, and we're adding the wrong size (a 128MB device) i.e trying to get 192MB of flash?

should I erase the flash chip and program with something before removing it from the memory stick if it would help (even if it were just some specific pattern that I would recognise when firing up the modified Z and thus very my address and data lines are all correct)?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 8 2006, 04:11 AM
Post #54





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I've now borrowed the surface-mount rework unit, so I hope to be tackling the project quite soon!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post May 9 2006, 01:35 AM
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



don't do anything special to the chip. just unsolder the existing 64 M one, solder the new 128 M one, then go to the DM menu and no a nand erase.

Then email me - I'll send you a nand backup
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 9 2006, 03:00 PM
Post #56





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



First stage complete: I removed the Samsung flash chip from the memory stick. Naturally, I took photos. I am starting to write it up here:

http://www.zaurus.org.uk/6000-memory.html

(at last, some content!)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post May 10 2006, 02:59 AM
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



http://www.zaurus.org.uk/6000-memory.html

No pictures are showing up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 11 2006, 02:00 PM
Post #58





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(the_oak @ May 10 2006, 11:59 AM)


yup, they're just placeholders for the moment.. sorry, I should have said.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 13 2006, 02:21 PM
Post #59





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



just to followup, I now have worries over whether I should be fitting a K9K1 or a K9D1 chip... perhaps I should post my K9K1 chip to Guylhem who can break^Wupgrade his lovely 6000W and then if^Wwhen it works I will then upgrade mine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post May 15 2006, 10:43 AM
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



speculatrix, there should be no risk doing the upgrade - if the flash chip doesn't work, simply remove it and put back the old one instead.

The only problem may be the bootloader I told you - if you have a serial cable to get any error message it hsould be fine

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd July 2014 - 01:20 AM