OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 1.0rc3 Released
jimjimbobim
post Oct 29 2005, 11:25 PM
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15-October 05
Member No.: 8,319



I am having a really hard time getting the wireless connection up on my sl-6000. I have tried everything on here to get it going with WEP, with no success. Could someone *please* post detailed instructions and the required config files?

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
orodriguez
post Oct 30 2005, 08:36 AM
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,065



QUOTE(jimjimbobim @ Oct 30 2005, 07:25 AM)
I am having a really hard time getting the wireless connection up on my sl-6000.  I have tried everything on here to get it going with WEP, with no success.  Could someone *please* post detailed instructions and the required config files?

Thanks!
*


I have just opened a new thread with my wifi setup.

Hope it helps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Oct 31 2005, 04:25 PM
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



I have rc4 installed now. Internet works using included script (/usr/local/net.wifi.local). Just edit that script (comes on rom) and put your essid and other pertinent info. For now I created an inelegant little script, made it executable, and attached it to an icon using the Launcher utility. I also did the same with a script that runs the net.wifi.off script. So, we still do not have the taskbar icon, but this works fairly convenient for me.

Package installer now works, although I have had it lock up my Zaurus quite a few times. Had to stab the zaurus in the back to recover, but programs did install in spite of lock-up. It seems to work better if I install or uninstall one program at a time. I have been able to install my bought programs (Eligo, Candycruncher so far) and really like being able to remove some of the programs that I don't use. Also installed opie-screenshotapplet, and irk-zaurus-j. Pockettop ir keyboard works, and Belkin F8U1500T ir keyboard works. Targus mini optical mouse works without adding any extra drivers.

ISSUES:

1. "Use thick fonts" (under Themes >> Font) still causes font corruption for me. (Not terribly important, but a "bug" nonetheless.)

2. In landscape view (rotated) the system fonts are very tiny everywhere, on tabs, under icons, within programs. Is there a system font config file to edit and fix this?

3. Kino2 seemed to work OK at first, and I don't know what I have done to it, but it now locks up frequently, will not respond to anything except a stab in the back. May just need adjustments in it's settings.

4. Got qpegps installed and working fine. smile.gif What file do I edit to automatically insmod a driver (serial_cs).

5. I had problems editing files in zeditor. When editing kino2.conf, I got "Write Error!!!" and "Stream: Please investigate the file...". I uninstalled the included 3.2.2 version, and installed a 2.1.6 version that I had previously downloaded, and problem went away. So I guess this is a zeditor bug, not a rom bug.

6. Would be nice to be able to install to sd. (I know this is already planned for next release, but thought I would mention it anyway.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
orodriguez
post Nov 1 2005, 02:46 AM
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,065



I have flashed back 1.0rc4 and had almost the same issues:

1. FONTS:

- "Use thick fonts" causes font corruption when Z has its display in vertical position.
- When rotated ("right-handed") fonts are tiny. Tried the other way around ("left-handed") and fonts are OK!

2. PACKAGE INSTALLER:

- Same locks here.
- I removed some packages and installed all the KxPI suite, kismet (do not know if it works yet), djview (built with guylhem toolchain), stock vga terminal, qpdf from the feed, kino2 and mplayer. Almost everything works as expected despite lock-ups.

3. QTOPIA REBOOTING:

- When an alarm event (kopi-alarm) is fired up, qtopia restarts. Maybe has something to do with apmsleep? (It happens when Z is ON also).

---
For Kino2 (0.4.2b) and mplayer (mplayer-bvdd 1.1.5-1 - atty), it works fine for me (have not tried it a lot but with a couple of videos). My kino2 preferences are (everything not commented is off):

General-Tab
Enable cache:4096

Video-Tab
Drop frames: ON
Enable doublebuffering: ON
Enable software-scaling: ON
Build AVI index: ON
Enable audio autosync: ON

I have attached my /etc/fb.modes and /home/zaurus/.mplayer/config
Attached File(s)
Attached File  mplayer_config.zip ( 2.19K ) Number of downloads: 48
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Nov 1 2005, 05:19 AM
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



orodriguez:

Yep, turning rotation to right-handed is what causes the tiny fonts in landscape mode. As you say, left-handed rotation fonts work fine. (But I would like to use right-handed rotation with my ir keyboard, or I guess I could use the little mirror thing that comes with the keyboard.)

I found what caused my kino2 problems. It has nothing to do with the rom. It was my own "improvement". In an attempt to have larger fonts in landscape mode, I had changed the "Screen Font" size in the Playlist tab to 36. Putting that back to 24 fixed that problem. Kino2 now works fine.

Also, the battery applet is much nicer, reporting battery depletion in smaller increments. It may just be my imagination, but the battery seems to last longer too.

I think that the package installer problems may have something to do with moving shortcuts around in the Launcher (Tab Setting) applet. The default Sharp rom also has problems removing shortcuts when uninstalling programs. I think that maybe the uninstaller looks for the shortcuts where it originally put them, and does not deal well with the changes. (This is just a guess.)

Guylhem:

One more thing, what file has my addressbook in the Sharp rom, so I can move it to this rom? Or are you working on being able to sync with Qtopia Desktop?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Nov 1 2005, 11:35 AM
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



QUOTE(the_oak @ Nov 1 2005, 01:19 PM)
orodriguez:

Yep, turning rotation to right-handed is what causes the tiny fonts in landscape mode. As you say, left-handed rotation fonts work fine. (But I would like to use  right-handed rotation with my ir keyboard, or I guess I could use the little mirror thing that comes with the keyboard.)

I found what caused my kino2 problems. It has nothing to do with the rom. It was my own "improvement". In an attempt to have larger fonts in landscape mode, I had changed the "Screen Font" size in the Playlist tab to 36. Putting that back to 24 fixed that problem. Kino2 now works fine.

Also, the battery applet is much nicer, reporting battery depletion in smaller increments. It may just be my imagination, but the battery seems to last longer too.

I think that the package installer problems may have something to do with moving shortcuts around in the Launcher (Tab Setting) applet. The default Sharp rom also has problems removing shortcuts when uninstalling programs. I think that maybe the uninstaller looks for the shortcuts where it originally put them, and does not deal well with the changes. (This is just a guess.)


Guylhem:

One more thing, what file has my addressbook in the Sharp rom, so I can move it to this rom? Or are you working on being able to sync with Qtopia Desktop?
*




Oh geez. That's not good at all. Came here to read up one last time before I flashed my 6000 to see if any new issues or tips could be found. The rotation fonts (right handed rotation is a must) are bad but I could deal with it. I did not know at all that there were probs preventing syncing right now. Thought I had read through the known bugs thoroughly- gonna go rescope again to see if I missed anything else.

Anyhow, the non-sync'ing problem completely "sync/sinks" my ability to use guyhelm. That's one of the few REAL gotcha's. I'm more than willing to work around the rest.

Darn,

-NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Nov 1 2005, 01:39 PM
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



NeuroShock:

About syncing, that was a question. For all I know, you can sync. Maybe I just don't know how. I'm no expert! Don't give up til Guylhem says it isn't there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 1 2005, 03:13 PM
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

The right/left handed problem is normal - to save on flash space I remove the other fonts. I'll make a package available.

Regarding think fonts being garbled, this is because I replaced default qtopia fonts my new fonts. My fonts skills musn't be that good :-)

I'll try to replace them one last time and if it still does't work, restore the default fonts.

Syncing should work - I haven't tested that but it should work. What problem do you have? Did you set up the usb port (script in /etc) to be used as "network"?

It can also be used in usb-storage mode (the CF or SD are seen like a USB key by your host pc) or serial. I simply disable it to save on boot time.

I'll check it out.

PS: the battery improvements are real. Did them in kernel space, and they are visible in user space. Simply improved the granularity of power reports to be 1% by 1%
Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Nov 1 2005, 05:59 PM
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



The font package to fix right-handed fonts would be nice.

When I put the zaurus in the cradle and turn it on, nothing happens. There is no "PC Link" applet in the zaurus to check usb network settings. Where is the script that I edit to get the desktop PC to "see" the zaurus so as to be able to sync with it?

The only scripts I see in /etc having to do with usb are: usbcontrol, and usbh. How do I set them up to be network?

Edit: I found the "PC Link" applet. It is named "Samba" and is on the Network tab. But I still need to edit a script to get the desktop PC to detect it when plugged in.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 2 2005, 02:20 PM
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Thanks a lot for the tarfiles. I will try to work on rc5 soon.

Please sum up the issues here:
- missing network icon
- add wep 128 script
- add bluetooth cf module
- add righthand rotated fonts
- test sync by usb and wifi (use F10 iirc to start sync, but the hardware button on the cradle should work too)
- add install to sd/cf
- create a sharp lookalike start menu to remove apps installation/deinstall issues
- update zeditor, add irk (waiting for the ir kbd to make sure it works fine for that one)

if something must be fixed for rc5, please tell it now.

rip: regarding the lockups/slowness, that's because I set up aggressive powersaving by default. try to click on the battery icon and enable overclocking. I **underclock** by default, since I'm more than satisfied by the default speed and welcome the additional battery time (now you know why it reports 1% by 1%)

kapi/kopi are **not** recommanded. they are slow. qalendar is much better. for the addressbook, there's definitevely a missing app. if you want to import your datebook/contacts etc, copy the dtm directory to your home

guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Nov 2 2005, 03:40 PM
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



One more thing I noticed was that /home/zaurus/Documents has a Documents folder that seems to be symlinked to /home/zaurus/Documents.

Clicking on Documents just brings up folder after folder after folder...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 3 2005, 04:46 AM
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Right, that's an interesting but I can't explain. If you remove Documents/Documents (a symlink to itself) it just get recreated for no reason. Sharp weirdness.

I've been working on a workaround, but didn't suceeded so far.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rip
post Nov 3 2005, 05:01 AM
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 7-October 04
Member No.: 4,916



speed is ok for me, just seen a difference with pdaxromrc12

i prefer more battery life too.
keep us posted and thanks for the quick fixes
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Nov 3 2005, 10:37 AM
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



The circular file problem seems to be fixed by going to the "Documents" tab, selecting "Internal Flash 2", then click and hold on the "Documents" folder, and select "Delete" from the menu that comes up. Next, click on "File>>New folder". Name the new folder "Documents", and click OK. That seems to fix it.

It is probably some remnant of Sharp's original circular symlink filesystem design.

By the way, I also appreciate the battery saving setting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loc4me
post Nov 4 2005, 12:10 AM
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 5-July 05
From: Tucson, AZ
Member No.: 7,538



I just flashed to RC4. You are doing a great job Guylhem.

My battery status just reports "Good" and so on. Do i need to install some applet to get the better granulartiy that others are talking about? Which applet is it if i need one? Also i there a way to get it to report the status of the second battery if you have the expansion pack? Thanks.

-Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 10th July 2014 - 09:20 AM