OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New User, Installing Software, Fallen at the first fence
Mjolinor
post Oct 28 2005, 05:49 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



Just got a 6000l off Ebay, considered it to be an upgrade till I got it.

I normally use a 3870 Ipaq and don't have any problems with it there were just a few things about the Zaurus that my Ipaq wouldn't do.

Got connected OK and can browse the net wirelessly

All I am trying to do is install any software. All I can get out of it is "Ipkg says something went wrong, Sorry"

I added
http://www.openzaurus.org/official/unstable/3.5.2/feed/opie
http://www.openzaurus.org/official/unstable/3.5.2/upgrade
http://www.openzaurus.org/official/unstable/3.5.2/feed/base
http://www.openzaurus.org/official/unstable/3.5.2/feed/gpe
etc
to my server list in package manager and can see the lists of packages from any or all of them but none will install

On my Ipaq I normally use SSH to connect from this Gentoo computer and run ipkg from the command line. I can do the same from the console on the 6000 but it bombs out before even updating the lists.

In the console I have to be root for ipkg to do anything and apparently in the gui I am "zaurus". Is my problem that Zaurus doesn't have permissions to install software? I can't find any way to add users or change the user for X

Got 0 documentation or software with the Zaurus, looked for a usermanual but can only find them for the 5500

The first thing I must do is to get it so that I can log into it either with SSH or even telnet for now, once there I can attack it properly.

Where is the up arrow so I can go back through the bash commands without having to retype them?

Educate me, make me un-disillusioned.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Oct 28 2005, 06:27 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Are you running an OpenZaurus flash image? (that error from ipkg sounds like you're running a Sharp-based image)

If not, you can't use the openzaurus feeds.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Oct 28 2005, 06:30 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



http://www.openzaurus.org/official/unstable/3.5.4-RC/sl6000/

for the sl6000 openzaurus images; follow the installation instructions here: http://openzaurus.org/wordpress/installation/sl-6000/


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Oct 28 2005, 06:47 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



QUOTE(lardman @ Oct 28 2005, 03:27 PM)
Are you running an OpenZaurus flash image? (that error from ipkg sounds like you're running a Sharp-based image)

If not, you can't use the openzaurus feeds.


Si
*


How does one tell

uname -a returns

Linux zaurus2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix

I think but its incredibly small writing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Oct 28 2005, 06:50 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



QUOTE(lardman @ Oct 28 2005, 03:30 PM)
http://www.openzaurus.org/official/unstable/3.5.4-RC/sl6000/

for the sl6000 openzaurus images; follow the installation instructions here: http://openzaurus.org/wordpress/installation/sl-6000/


Si
*


Think I need to get a bit more familiar before I change the ROM. I am excellent at making bricks out of PDAs
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Oct 28 2005, 07:08 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



There will be a system info applet somewhere on the machine - try the settings tab.

Chances are you have the standard Sharp image ('ROM')


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Oct 28 2005, 07:24 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



QUOTE(lardman @ Oct 28 2005, 04:08 PM)
There will be a system info applet somewhere on the machine - try the settings tab.

Chances are you have the standard Sharp image ('ROM')


Si
*


Linux kernel Compiled by Sharp ROM version 1.12

So where does one go for SW that will install on this ROM, I'll change the ROM later when I am more familiar with it. It seems to be a bit non intuitive at the moment like maybe Bill Gates had a hand in it somewhere.

I can't even find a file manager on it
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Oct 28 2005, 07:37 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



There may be a filemanager and terminal ipk (installation file, like a .deb) on the CD, otherwise try elsi.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Oct 28 2005, 07:40 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(Mjolinor @ Oct 28 2005, 11:24 AM)
So where does one go for SW that will install on this ROM, I'll change the ROM later when I am more familiar with it. It seems to be a bit non intuitive at the moment like maybe Bill Gates had a hand in it somewhere.

Please read:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=3806

Software:
http://killefiz.de/zaurus/
http://elsix.org/index.php

And the 'search' function works also. smile.gif

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Oct 28 2005, 09:02 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



QUOTE(Greg2 @ Oct 28 2005, 04:40 PM)
QUOTE(Mjolinor @ Oct 28 2005, 11:24 AM)
So where does one go for SW that will install on this ROM, I'll change the ROM later when I am more familiar with it. It seems to be a bit non intuitive at the moment like maybe Bill Gates had a hand in it somewhere.

Please read:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=3806

Software:
http://killefiz.de/zaurus/
http://elsix.org/index.php

And the 'search' function works also. smile.gif

Greg
*



Already read that thread this morning, read it again in case I missed something but can't find anything in there that helps me. Also tried both those links this afternoon and neither of them work with package manager and saving the file locally seems to not work either. I am specifically trying to get IRK going.

Think maybe the best solution is going to be a factory reset or whatever is similar and then one of the third party ROMs I really didn't expect the Zaurus to be more difficult than putting Linux on my Ipaq but it seems to be that way.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Oct 28 2005, 09:22 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



actually it shouldn't be that hard.

I use the stock 6000 rom and have installed apps with no problems. The two software repositories are not feeds. You will have to download the ipk and then install. because of the limited space, it is good to get a decent size SD card to download to.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Oct 28 2005, 09:24 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



BTW you may have to tap and hold the download link to save the file
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Oct 28 2005, 11:26 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



Gave up with the Sharp ROM and put Open Zaurus on. It's just the same as the Ipaq now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th August 2014 - 12:49 AM