OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Opera7.55 For Oz/opie 3.5.4-rc
Greg2
post Nov 3 2005, 08:57 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



Here is a modified opera7.55 ipk that has been requested by some users for use in 3.5.4-RC... I will attach it at the end of this post.

I've simply modified MrSquishy's repackaged opera7.55.ipk extracted from the IBM multimoda.ipk... that has worked for me and many others on OZ3.5.2 official and the Hentges OZ3.5.2 and 3.5.3 versions without problems.

I've modified MrSquishy's opera.ini (that already reflects his directory changes) to increase the cache size that was causing some problems with users.

I've modified MrSquishy's postinst to properly symlink '.opera' and '.operasave' with the new '/media/card/packages/' directory now used.

Replaced a 'couple' of the Crystal icon buttons with the original opera buttons (as per my taste), and the original opera desktop icon from an older opera version.

Repackaged the ipk with ipkg-utils-1.7 for OZ compatibility.

Please note that this is for an SD-card install... and you should remove or edit the postinst for any other install destination.

DISCLAIMER: The instructions and ipk contained in this post are provided AS IS. This has only been tested on the collie and poodle.

Instructions for SD-card installation-

Install the sharp-compat-libs, opie-sh and the qte-font-helvetica-large ipk (or the helvetica size of your choice) from the opie feed.

Copy the attached ipk to your CF-card and open a terminal:
CODE
cd /media/cf
ipkg -d sd --force-depends install opera_7.55.OZ3.5.4_arm.ipk
cd
ipkg-link add opera
exit

Go to the Settings tab, click "Reload Icons"

Go to the Settings tab, click on Libraries, List, Applications, Opera Browser and click okay.

Click on the opera icon and enjoy.

Please note that because of the latest sharp-compat-libs you may need to click on the opera icon twice to open or close the browser.

I would like to thank and give credit to MrSquishy for originally modifying this.
Edit: I would also like to thank the OZ and OE devs for making this new release. smile.gif

Greg

Here it is:
Attached File(s)
Attached File  opera_7.55.OZ3.5.4_arm.ipk ( 2.47MB ) Number of downloads: 1346
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
EdbO
post Nov 4 2005, 11:01 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 19-November 04
From: None
Member No.: 5,530



Thanks it is working now biggrin.gif after I installed the qte-fonts-common and the qte-font-helvetica. Because I forgot to install these packages, Opera gives me a segfault.

I typed this on my Z with Opera smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MrSquishy
post Nov 4 2005, 11:27 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 3-June 04
Member No.: 3,558



Wow, thanks for the kind words.
I had no idea anyone used that package.

Thanks for the work, I'll have to put 3.5.4 back on my other 5500.
Looks like my Zaural hiatus is over.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Nov 4 2005, 11:42 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(EdbO @ Nov 4 2005, 02:01 PM)
Thanks it is working now biggrin.gif after I installed the qte-fonts-common and the qte-font-helvetica. Because I forgot to install these packages, Opera gives me a segfault.

I typed this on my Z with Opera smile.gif
*

I'm glad it's working for you.

It would appear that the sharp-compat-libs don't support some of the new fonts used with OZ3.5.4-rc?

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Nov 4 2005, 11:46 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(MrSquishy @ Nov 4 2005, 02:27 PM)
Wow, thanks for the kind words.
I had no idea anyone used that package.

Whaaat! Look at the second post in this thread:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=10612&st=30

Over 630 d/l's biggrin.gif

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Nov 4 2005, 12:41 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



libqte used in sharp-compat-libs does not work with TrueType fonts (which are default in 3.5.4) so you have to install some of QPF fonts to get any application which use sharp-compat-libs working.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
netsomnia
post Nov 22 2005, 05:59 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 22-November 05
Member No.: 8,587



'Repackaged the ipk with ipkg-utils-1.7 for OZ compatibility.'

Will these utils give me the libraries option in settings? I currently don't have that option.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Nov 23 2005, 06:01 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(netsomnia @ Nov 22 2005, 08:59 PM)
'Repackaged the ipk with ipkg-utils-1.7 for OZ compatibility.'

Will these utils give me the libraries option in settings? I currently don't have that option.

No, they are scripts for building .ipk packages.

That's the settings tab in your opie gui not opera? If you don't have a libraries icon in your settings tab... did you:

ipkg-link add sharp-compat-libs
ipkg-link add opie-sh

then reload icons or restart opie

Give that a try

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
netsomnia
post Nov 23 2005, 10:13 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 22-November 05
Member No.: 8,587



"That's the settings tab in your opie gui not opera? If you don't have a libraries icon in your settings tab... did you:

ipkg-link add sharp-compat-libs
ipkg-link add opie-sh

then reload icons or restart opie

Give that a try

Greg"

Correct. I appreciate the help. I want the libraries icon in my opie settings tab. I did not get as far as linking the libraries because during the ipkg install I received the message for a missing opie-base dependency. Isn't the opie-base package already installed be default with 3.5.4RC or is this a compatibility issued where I need to install and older version of opie-base?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
netsomnia
post Nov 23 2005, 11:31 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 22-November 05
Member No.: 8,587



QUOTE(netsomnia @ Nov 23 2005, 01:13 PM)
"That's the settings tab in your opie gui not opera? If you don't have a libraries icon in your settings tab... did you:

ipkg-link add sharp-compat-libs
ipkg-link add opie-sh

then reload icons or restart opie

Give that a try

Greg"

Correct. I appreciate the help. I want the libraries icon in my opie settings tab. I did not get as far as linking the libraries because during the ipkg install I received the message for a missing opie-base dependency. Isn't the opie-base package already installed be default with 3.5.4RC or is this a compatibility issued where I need to install and older version of opie-base?
*


I was succesful adding the libraries icon to my settings menu. Thanks for all the pointers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ricey
post Nov 26 2005, 03:05 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 25-November 05
Member No.: 8,610



with the help from this thread i can now surf the web, yay!

many thanks smile.gif


-------------------------------------
SL-5500
3.5.4-rc/opie1.2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jinidog
post Jan 10 2006, 02:14 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 25-April 05
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 6,985



I know got opera working, but before it can completly loads a webpage it ends up with SegFaults or illegal instructions.
Very strange. I have a poodle with a PXA-250.
And I use swap, so there is enough RAM.

EDIT:
Got it, had to use the right opera.ini
GREAT smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MrBryan
post Apr 4 2006, 01:57 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 3-March 06
Member No.: 9,281



QUOTE(Jinidog @ Jan 10 2006, 06:14 PM)
I know got opera working, but before it can completly loads a webpage it ends up with SegFaults or illegal instructions.
Very strange. I have a poodle with a PXA-250.
And I use swap, so there is enough RAM.

EDIT:
Got it, had to use the right opera.ini
GREAT smile.gif
*


What did you change?

It segfaults on me with OZ 3.5.4 release:

/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
QDir::readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: ../apps
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: vxmplugin.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Segmentation fault

I installed qpe-font-helvetica(x)... any help appreciated
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skliarieh
post Apr 10 2006, 04:01 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 9-November 05
Member No.: 8,502



QUOTE
What did you change?

It segfaults on me with OZ 3.5.4 release:

/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
QDir::readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: ../apps
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: vxmplugin.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Segmentation fault

I installed qpe-font-helvetica(x)...  any help appreciated
*


I use OZ 3.5.4 opie on SL-5500. It segfaulted for me as well:

# opera
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
QDir::readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: ../apps
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
Segmentation fault
#

QUOTE
libqte used in sharp-compat-libs does not work with TrueType fonts (which are default in 3.5.4) so you have to install some of QPF fonts to get any application which use sharp-compat-libs working.


ipkg install -force-overwrite qpf-helvetica-240
( Used -force-overwrite because both qpf-helvetica-240 and qte-fonts-common
provided the binary /usr/sbin/update-qtfontdir)

But still, the segfault persists.

Can anyone help me please?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Apr 10 2006, 06:54 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(skliarieh @ Apr 10 2006, 07:01 AM)
I use OZ 3.5.4 opie on SL-5500. It segfaulted for me as well:

# opera
/opt/QtPalmtop/bin/opera
QDir::readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: ../apps
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_voice.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_keyboard.ini"
-snip-

Guys,

If this is the ‘only’ opera ipk that you have tried to install... then there should only be one opera.ini on your system? If this is true then your ipkg-link has missed a symlink. To correct this, in terminal do:
CODE
ipkg-link mount /media/card/packages
or to be sure that you have a symlink do:
CODE
ln -s /media/card/packages/opt/QtPalmtop/opera/.opera /home/root/.opera
For the record this has been tested on the collie and poodle with the final release of OZ3.5.4.

Greg

I’ll attach an image of your post here:
Attached File(s)
Attached File  sc_Mon_Apr_10_10.35.20_2006.png ( 17.95K ) Number of downloads: 446
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 04:17 PM