OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Working Tomtom Nav On Angstrom, - working adequately, seeking permission from tomtom
e.stoiber
post Oct 15 2007, 01:33 PM
Post #106





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 2-October 07
Member No.: 20,775



any updates on the how-to yet ???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 16 2007, 02:54 PM
Post #107





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(e.stoiber @ Oct 15 2007, 10:33 PM) *
any updates on the how-to yet ???


I guess I am going to go ahead and publish the toolkit seeing as how I've had no feedback from TomTom (I hope they're not sitting in wait).. I need to make a couple of minor fixes and tests, but no promises it will be this week as I am snowed under at work
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
e.stoiber
post Oct 19 2007, 06:15 AM
Post #108





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 2-October 07
Member No.: 20,775



good to hear you,......

Since you don't circumvent any copyprotection, i don't see what they could do,....
I guess anyway they make their most income from the services they sell (Maps, Add-ons,...)
The Device should only be for convinience.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rasva
post Nov 1 2007, 11:36 PM
Post #109





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-October 07
From: Czech republic
Member No.: 20,815



Still nothing? sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post Dec 13 2007, 04:09 PM
Post #110





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



Speculatrix, you're killing me with the wait here ;D

Any idea when you might get time to work on a release?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DonYouAn
post Dec 18 2007, 12:49 PM
Post #111





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 11-December 07
From: Bavaria/Germany
Member No.: 21,060



I would be happy if there would be a possibility to get a TomTom-Nav on the Zaurus. I use the TomTom Rider with my motorcycle an I must say, that I like this little helper. So I'm courious about the ipk release. Hopefully it will come soon.

Regards
DonYouAn
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nilch
post Dec 18 2007, 02:11 PM
Post #112





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 3-December 03
From: US
Member No.: 1,034



I guess you can catch Speculatrix here.
He seems to be more interested in his new toy tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 19 2007, 04:34 AM
Post #113





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(nilch @ Dec 18 2007, 10:11 PM) *
I guess you can catch Speculatrix here.
He seems to be more interested in his new toy tongue.gif


actually, I'm hoping to play with getting tomtom working on the n800 too. problem is that between work and domestic duties I don't get free time in large blocks, and I need, probably, a whole day to make zomtom a relatively painless install. with angstrom being a rapidly moving target, no sooner do I do an ipkg update/upgrade then I find myself having to test and tweak. That said, now they're trying to go for an official release, I am aiming to set aside some time to start with a freshly clean zaurus + angstrom release and write the tomtom setup/startup scripts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
espi
post Jun 23 2008, 10:27 AM
Post #114





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 24-February 08
From: Washington, DC
Member No.: 21,423



Here's my vote to get this released even in a buggy state!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jocasmi
post Jul 5 2008, 07:13 AM
Post #115





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Barcelona, Spain
Member No.: 13,088



So do I :- )
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 23 2008, 02:58 AM
Post #116





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



good news! I have managed to contact someone at TomTom who seems positive about the idea, has heard of the Zaurus and will ask someone in authority about it!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 28 2009, 03:04 AM
Post #117





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



unfortunately my contact at TomTom has gone very quiet (not someone I knew particularly well) - hasn't responded to a couple of emails.

meanwhile, I have tried out the latest Go300 software, v 7.9 with Cortez's ZUbuntu, and I'm sad to say it doesn't want to run at all, I think it's something to do with the format of the binaries. I'll dig out an old version and see. Shame, because I'd put in a lot of effort to write an automated install/setup/starter program dry.gif which was coming together nicely, it might mean having to run angstrom. I'll let you know.

--edit--
hmm, no, an old version of "ttn" doesn't want to run either. I am not sure I actually understand what the problem is! My hunch is that Cortez's kernel is missing something that allows it to recognise the ttn binary.

/tmp# uname -a
Linux cool 2.6.26-omegamoon-spitz #1 PREEMPT Mon Dec 29 23:14:05 CET 2008 armv5tel GNU/Linux

/tmp# file ttn
ttn: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, ARM, version 1, for GNU/Linux 2.4.0, dynamically linked (uses shared libs), stripped

/tmp# ./ttn
-bash: ./ttn: No such file or directory

/tmp# file /bin/bash
/bin/bash: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, ARM, version 1 (SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.6.14, dynamically linked(uses shared libs), stripped

/tmp# strace ./ttn
execve("./ttn", ["./ttn"], [/* 15 vars */]) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
dup(2) = 3
fcntl64(3, F_GETFL) = 0x2 (flags O_RDWR)
fstat64(3, {st_mode=S_IFCHR|0600, st_rdev=makedev(136, 0), ...}) = 0
mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0x4001f000
_llseek(3, 0, 0xbea575b8, SEEK_CUR) = -1 ESPIPE (Illegal seek)
write(3, "strace: exec: No such file or di"..., 40strace: exec: No such file or directory
) = 40
close(3) = 0
munmap(0x4001f000, 4096) = 0
exit_group(1) = ?
Process 5024 detached


--edit2--
I get the same error when I try and run any of the tomtom binaries on my tablet. :-(
Is there anyone running a fresh release of angstrom who'd be willing to try something for me, I don't really want to b0rk my zaurus just as it's got stable with zubuntu. PM me please.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post Mar 3 2009, 10:06 PM
Post #118





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



Does the zubuntu kernel have OABI compatibility switched on?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 18 2009, 09:15 AM
Post #119





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



lack of OABI was suggested by someone else, so I am going to ask Cortez if he can produce a kernel for me with both EABI and OABI turned on.

still no comment from my contact at TomTom, which makes me wonder what the hell is going on.

it's annoying 'cos I spent a while writing a complex setup/config/runtime wrapper, and Rick says he has got sound working.

--edit-- sadly there doesn't seem to be anyone on the ubuntu forum who can roll an OABI kernel for me. whilst we run ubuntu on some servers at work, I'm nowhere near having a zubuntu development environment up and running.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
risc
post Apr 8 2009, 01:21 AM
Post #120





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 14-March 08
Member No.: 21,510



I'm quite close to a full running navcore at my Z.
Using Debian 5.0 with 2.6.24.4 and chroot environment.
Have my own fullfeatured busybox, strace, strings a.s.o for debugging + faked procfs and modified /dev
Everything works fine incl. FB and TS, except maps. NO MAPS FOUND!
They are at correct location and ttn finds them incl. dct

...
open("/mnt/sdcard/Western_and_Central_Europe/", O_RDONLY|O_NONBLOCK|O_LARGEFILE|O_DIRECTORY) = 10
...
stat64("/mnt/sdcard/Western_and_Central_Europe/Western_and_Central_Europe-9.meta.dct", {st_mode=S_IFREG|0755, st_size=132, ...}) = 0
...


I assume it blames on DeviceUniqueID, which is going to be calculated in some way.
Both of my ONE and my Z are different.
You mentioned changing DeviceID some posts before. I have no idea where to start.
Any trick?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 12:33 AM