OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 9 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Working Tomtom Nav On Angstrom, - working adequately, seeking permission from tomtom
Da_Blitz
post Jan 6 2007, 03:40 AM
Post #91





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



troust me a bind mount of dev and a remount of proc is the best way to go, learnt that one from gentoo

just dont unmount it, unbind it instead or you will kill both dev dirs which tends to lead to a partially running PDA

hmm, i dont think tomtom would reinvent the wheel for sound, way to expensive if you alread have alsa support. perhaps it checks to see if its a symlink so try the bind mount trick

if not then perhaps there is an undecumented flag/IOCTL they set. run LDD on it and check if they are using the alsa libs or libsound or the oss stuff. this could allow us to do a workaround.

if you do submit this work to them then i suggest you submit a list of ways to make it better and more portable, no 1 bieng to not do any tricky sound stuff wink.gif, and perhaps show them how to package it in an OS independent way (self contained folder with libs in /opt) not that i think they would listen to that
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ling
post Feb 25 2007, 03:54 PM
Post #92





Group: Members
Posts: 352
Joined: 3-June 04
From: Virginia, US
Member No.: 3,563



Speculatrix,

Is there any update on this since Mr (or Ms) X took over the project? I would definitely use this if possible with pdaXii13 and my Garmin Etrex Legend. Seems like it would be a great use for the Z, Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Mar 4 2007, 01:09 PM
Post #93





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



I've bought a Tomtom go 700 specifically for this. I'm also waiting for a how-to.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scoutme
post Apr 3 2007, 04:51 PM
Post #94





Group: Members
Posts: 579
Joined: 19-April 04
Member No.: 2,912



any news? I'd like to test, and I have all I need except a guide...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the2nd
post Apr 15 2007, 09:39 AM
Post #95





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 11-May 05
Member No.: 7,112



QUOTE(scoutme @ Apr 4 2007, 01:51 AM)
any news? I'd like to test, and I have all I need except a guide...
*


is there a howto to get tomtom work on z?

i own a 910 and want to try it on my c3000

regards
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
portalgod
post May 11 2007, 06:45 AM
Post #96





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 22-August 06
From: Miami, Fl USA
Member No.: 10,923



QUOTE(the2nd @ Apr 15 2007, 10:39 AM)
QUOTE(scoutme @ Apr 4 2007, 01:51 AM)
any news? I'd like to test, and I have all I need except a guide...
*


is there a howto to get tomtom work on z?

i own a 910 and want to try it on my c3000

regards
*



A friend of mine just got a TT300, I'm going to try and follow this thread (hopefully I don't croak my Z).

Anyone seen the howto?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 13 2007, 01:30 PM
Post #97





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I've got OZ 3.5.4.1 running stably on my 3100 now, and I hope to start writing a full how-to. I'm sorry for the relative silence, but I'm genuinely v busy, starting my own business, finding work etc, and sorry for letting people get this close and then not having a definitive guide.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tetrabit
post Jun 1 2007, 12:52 AM
Post #98





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 25-December 06
From: Russia, Moscow
Member No.: 13,408



Let's wait for this how-to


QUOTE(speculatrix @ May 13 2007, 01:30 PM)
I've got OZ 3.5.4.1 running stably on my 3100 now, and I hope to start writing a full how-to. I'm sorry for the relative silence, but I'm genuinely v busy, starting my own business, finding work etc, and sorry for letting people get this close and then not having a definitive guide.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 1 2007, 01:27 AM
Post #99





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



OK, a quick update. OZ 3.5.4.1 will NOT run zomtom out of the box because the standard kernel doesn't have the right patches in it to do the QVGA display and some other feature which I forget.

However, Angstrom *will* run zomtom without any patching. I am hoping that with Richard's help we can provide an ipk which builds the environment in which zomtom runs (it runs chrooted) and automagically extracts the required binaries from the standard tomtomGO sd card. Then, you will just need to enter the specific device ID from your GO, and the navigator starts up, you then enter the key for the map.

that is to say, the package will NOT contain any tomtom intellectual property or copyrighted files, so you will be using the license from your GO device.

Richard has done some incredible work here, I've merely become the alpha tester, all credit goes to him for making this achievable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Jun 2 2007, 04:32 AM
Post #100





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



wahhoooo!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 27 2007, 03:07 PM
Post #101





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



OK, the good news is that we're fairly close to being able to release something which contains NO tomtom files and therefore won't result in us having our dangly bits chopped off by TomTom!!

There are just a few things to clear up:
1/ whether we should expect the zaurus owner to also have a linux box - this affects whether we can rely on them to extract the tomtom files themselves or have to do it all on the zaurus
(see http://www.opentom.org/Ttimgextract)

2/ whether the typical zomtom user will be running a 3x00 or 1000 - to set the default behaviour


My Z isn't quite working yet, problem with map setup, but I have made a video and will present it as soon as it's rendered to something suitable.

---EDIT---EDIT2---
OK, I was pretty tired and waffled way too much, but it too so long to get here I just wanted to share it! Remove the .zip file extension, the forum wouldn't allow me to upload it as a .avi
Attached File  mvi_0270.m2.zip ( 10.47MB ) Number of downloads: 146
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
portalgod
post Jun 27 2007, 03:16 PM
Post #102





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 22-August 06
From: Miami, Fl USA
Member No.: 10,923



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jun 27 2007, 04:07 PM)
OK, the good news is that we're fairly close to being able to release something which contains NO tomtom files and therefore won't result in us having our dangly bits chopped off by TomTom!!

There are just a few things to clear up:
1/ whether we should expect the zaurus owner to also have a linux box - this affects whether we can rely on them to extract the tomtom files themselves or have to do it all on the zaurus
(see http://www.opentom.org/Ttimgextract)

2/ whether the typical zomtom user will be running a 3x00 or 1000 - to set the default behaviour


My Z isn't quite working yet, problem with map setup, but I have made a video and will present it as soon as it's rendered to something suitable.
*


1) My suggestion is to assume Linux machine ownership. Otherwise, where would the knowledge to fiddle with Linux on the Z come from? (Mind you this comment is coming from me, a person who has no Linux boxen as of the present, but has extensively ran Linux in the past)

2) MY suggestion is to assume 1000 default behaviour. 3x00 owners can always fiddle with mountpoints and such to point to HDD vs memory cards vs internal memory. And that is not just becuase I own a 1000 smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 29 2007, 03:57 PM
Post #103





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



Well, I am in a stunned state. After more hours of playing, I got it working on my C3100. Boy, stuff really runs slowly using strace, doesn't it? My problem with the maps turned out to be that tomtom relied on the memory card being FAT16 and thus file name case insensitive, but I'd copied files to HDD; even when I made an sdcard copy to a fresh sdcard the filenames were still wrong for some reason.

So, strace + grep ENOENT and also strings on the binary... and it works. Such a thrill to see it have the map of my house on the Zaurus, and plot a route to a friends house. It seems to run at about half the speed of the tomtom 510.

OK, so, by now you're desperate, yes?

What are you going to need?
1/ any kind of GPS that the zaurus can read - serial, usb, bluetooth - so long as its NMEA, as you simply hack a link from /dev/gpsdata to /dev/rfcomm0 or whatever
2/ a copy of *YOUR* memory card from a GO300 or 500. the product code and activation key for the maps. WE WILL NOT BE SUPPLYING ANY TOMTOM FILES, CODES OR KEYS. Please don't ask. I believe that the codes for the Palm and PocketPC versions would probably work too.
3/ a Zaurus running Angstrom - I think this would even work on an old 5000/5500 series as the Zaurus drops down into 320x240 display mode.
4/ the ttimgextract program from opentom (I can provide an x86 binary if anyone needs it) to split the ttsystem file from the memory card, cpio to unpack the file system

Then, you simply unpack Rick's package, copy over the files extracted from ttsystem, edit the start script with your GO's unique ID, and run it.

I will discuss with Rick some tweaks to the start script before we can release the package.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
portalgod
post Jul 18 2007, 09:39 AM
Post #104





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 22-August 06
From: Miami, Fl USA
Member No.: 10,923



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jun 29 2007, 04:57 PM)
Well, I am in a stunned state. After more hours of playing, I got it working on my C3100. Boy, stuff really runs slowly using strace, doesn't it? My problem with the maps turned out to be that tomtom relied on the memory card being FAT16 and thus file name case insensitive, but I'd copied files to HDD; even when I made an sdcard copy to a fresh sdcard the filenames were still wrong for some reason.

So, strace + grep ENOENT and also strings on the binary... and it works. Such a thrill to see it have the map of my house on the Zaurus, and plot a route to a friends house. It seems to run at about half the speed of the tomtom 510.

OK, so, by now you're desperate, yes?

What are you going to need?
1/ any kind of GPS that the zaurus can read - serial, usb, bluetooth - so long as its NMEA, as you simply hack a link from /dev/gpsdata to /dev/rfcomm0 or whatever
2/ a copy of  *YOUR* memory card from a GO300 or 500. the product code and activation key for the maps. WE WILL NOT BE SUPPLYING ANY TOMTOM FILES, CODES OR KEYS. Please don't ask. I believe that the codes for the Palm and PocketPC versions would probably work too.
3/ a Zaurus running Angstrom - I think this would even work on an old 5000/5500 series as the Zaurus drops down into 320x240 display mode.
4/ the ttimgextract program from opentom (I can provide an x86 binary if anyone needs it) to split the ttsystem file from the memory card, cpio to unpack the file system

Then, you simply unpack Rick's package, copy over the files extracted from ttsystem, edit the start script with your GO's unique ID, and run it.

I will discuss with Rick some tweaks to the start script before we can release the package.
*


How does a TT500 run (speed wise) in comparison to a TT300. My assumption is it's th same.

Overclock your Z a bit and it'll probably run as fast as a TT.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jul 19 2007, 02:54 PM
Post #105





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(portalgod @ Jul 18 2007, 06:39 PM)
How does a TT500 run (speed wise) in comparison to a TT300.  My assumption is it's th same. 

Overclock your Z a bit and it'll probably run as fast as a TT.
*


I have both a TTG300 (which broke in a car crash, and whose license I have "ported" to the Zaurus) and a TTG500. Although I didn't have them back to back the 500 was definitely snappier, maybe 30% faster - the specs on www.opentom.org back that up.

When I first had a Go, it ran tomtom 5, but (and it's one of the advantages of getting the appliance rather than the palm or pocketpc software packs) it got a free upgrade to 6.1x using tomtom's desktop software "tomtomhome" to update it.

BTW, the "tomtom home" recognises the tomtom software on both the Go (it emulates a mass storage device when connected) an d also if you simply insert the memory card into the PC's card reader!

So far I have not had a response from my contact at TomTom, so I will try someone else. Yes, I am scared.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 9 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th August 2015 - 02:28 AM